We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven on Earth”
other travellers have booked this property
On the village square, 18th century gite and bed and breakfast
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
On the village square, 18th century gite and bed and breakfast
Room with a view - the beautiful old church on the square Summer sunrise
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
On the village square, 18th century gite and bed and breakfast
Room with a view - the beautiful old church on the square
Summer sunrise
Chambre 1 with views of the square and church
Chambre 1
Chambre 1, private bathroom with claw foot tub, rainshower & dual sinks
Twin room with views of the square & church
Adjoining rooms, perfect for families & friends
Barn room with ensuite shower room & tiny balcony overlooking the terrace
Porch leading to roof terrace, a lovely sunny spot for breakfast
Peyrepertuse, medieval Cathar chateau
Potter's Fair, medieval Mirepoix (10mins). Make sure you have room in your case
Lac Montbel, 5km, the wild swimming is a treat
Sandy beaches & turquoise blue waters of Lac Montbel
Cycle Languedoc through vineyards and fields of sunflowers
Surrounded by wildflower meadows
Camon, 5km, a Plus Beaux Villages de France
Buy wines direct from the Vigneron, we can book tours and tastings for you
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chalabre, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Swedish first
Any
English first
lorettaTw...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

What an incredible find, really and truly wonderful in so many ways. From the moment you walk into the little village square and open the door you enter another world created with love and hard work and happiness by Carolyn & Nick. A really lovely friendly couple who enjoy meeting and talking with their guests. Relaxing and comfortable with superb food cooked each evening by Nick and served on the terrace as the sun goes down. The only sound around being the sound of cow bells as the cows return each evening to their cowshed. In the morning breakfast of delicious homemade bread (made by Nick) and also his homemade apricot jam.

We did not want to leave this magical place and really hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: I have to be honest the mattress was rather uncomfortable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SammyJS
Cardiff
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A perfect retreat, with perfect hosts :)”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Chez Maison Bleue. From our arrival to check out, it was absolutely perfect. We stayed in The Barn room, which was enchanting with high oak beamed ceilings, quintessential french furniture and a small balcony window with views to the fields behind, exactly what we had hoped for. The guest house is in a small square with a gorgeous church and fountain and it was like something off a postcard. The surrounding neighbours are equally fabulous and added to our weekend. The location is perfect for exploring the many beautiful french villages, the Chateau at Camon, and beautiful lakes and rivers - which are great for swimming and outdoor pursuits.

The hosts Carolyn and Nick could not do enough to ensure our stay was exceptional and after 1 day it felt like home. We had dinner cooked by Nick on our first night, and it was delicious, a four course dinner with wine, and at the best price. All the food is organic and grown by Nick and Carolyn, and we were lucky enough to have the first figs of the season. We ate breakfast every morning in the square, and Nicks jams and fresh bread were a real treat. They were gracious hosts in every way.

We look forward to returning for a longer period and to explore the area further.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Down, N.I.
Reviewed 4 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vicki P
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Felt like we were staying with old friends or family.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Carolyn and Nick were the perfect hosts, nothing was too much of a bother. They were welcoming and gracious, helpful in suggesting places to go and see. The house was immaculate, warm and inviting. The bathroom was filled with lovely products to use along with fluffy soft towels. Breakfast was delicious with a mix of home made jam and bread, fresh croissants from the local baker, fruit and juice from local producers. We spent the first week of our holiday in France cocooned in this wonderful environment. When it came to our last morning we were tempted to stay longer. We could not recommend this venue more highly, treat yourself you will not regret a s Tay in this part of France!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
Dear Vicki, you all arrived as strangers and left as friends. We hope it will be our privilege to welcome you again to our lovely corner of France, I'll keep the kettle boiling! Warmest regards, Carolyn & Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
779adamt
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Tranquility, charm and character with the warmest of hosts”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We recently visited for a local wedding and stayed in the B&B for 3 nights. The bedroom and bathroom were charming with lots of character, as was the building itself which is set in a beautiful little square, complete with church, fountain and resident bats. Carolyn and Nick went out of their way to help us to enjoy our time there and advised us on some great places to visit in the area. Dinner was lovely, and we couldn't have had a nicer stay (including the fantastic weather!). We would definitely recommend booking here, and look forward to returning in the very near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character and hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2013
Thank you Adam, we are glad you enjoyed the lovely setting of our B&B and we look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing