We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dreadful. Avoid.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pierre & Vacances Village Club Cap Esterel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Cap Esterel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Agay
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dreadful. Avoid.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Over hyped, vastly under delivered. Resort services over capacity, insufficient loungers or even space for a towel at pools. Room was terrible. Dirty room, shower blocked, dishwasher not working, doors falling off kitchenette etc. After complaint some probs sorted after 48h. staff themselves complained that cleaning & maintenance reduced. Management told us our mistake was to book 3* not 4* apartment (so assume 3* means dirt & disfunction is normal?) . By far worst standard of accommodation & care have experienced in Europe. Clearly management aims at short term, no interest in customers after paying....

Room Tip: Avoid this resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Foxhill1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    1,020
    612
    396
    209
See reviews for
2,098
303
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Too expensive, bad standing, broken stuff in the flat, not so many receptionist, few space around the pool.
Proof here http://pvstanding.tumblr.com/

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ba7oU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Agay hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Despite many bad reviews, my family and I loved this resort, in fact so much we have been back 5 times! It is great for children of any age, and for teenagers and even adults you are able to do the flying trapeze, which is a brilliant experience! It is only a short walk to the beach, which is always packed, and the small village Agay is a lovely place to wander around in the evening and have a meal at, although there isn't much to do in Agay. There is always a lot to do at the site in the evenings, including shows most nights, music, aerobics in the pools, and much more. I reccommend this holiday for a family that want a fun, relaxing holiday with lots to do, if you feel like staying at the site, or seeing sights!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katie0014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
430 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

That's it. Down the hills. No trolleyw to take you. Terribles matresses...no information, VERY difficult to walk with your luggage. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marcelinho64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pv_customer_liaison, Guest Relations Manager at Pierre & Vacances Village Club Cap Esterel, responded to this review, 26 May 2011
We apologise for the negative comments you have posted. We are sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties arriving and unloading at the hotel. We also regret that you found your bed uncomfortable. We have logged your review and passed your feedback on to our head office and resort management team. We are committed to improving all aspects of our service and accommodation, so we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I was there in the beginning of June, the weather was perfect, 25-30 degrees, sun and breezy wind from the sea side. A characteristic bell ringing every hour from 9 am to 8 pm, maskes you feel like in church at the fusrt impression but finally you won't miss your fittness classes or you can avoid sunburn as it will wake you up should you fall asleep by the pool. But for the terrible insects biting us all the time and buzzing around our ears at night, it would be just perfect!

I had a 4* apartment with a sea view. Very modern furnishing and electric kitchen ware (Electrolux - microwave, dish washer, electric plate and a kettle). Kitchen fully equipped with wine glasses, glasses, cups, plates, pots, pan, cutlery-no tea spoons), table linens. Towels also in price, nice renewed bathroom (no toilette paper). Beds are comfortable we had bunk beds in a cabine and a folding out bed in a living room, I slept like a baby. No air condition in fact, but in June you do not need it as the nights are still chilly.

There is an underground car park, a lift takes you up to the reception. There is also very nice big main square with 9 or more restaurants (opened from 5 or 6 pm) and a stage, where concerts and morning gymnastics take place. There is a greate fittness instructor, who drives fittness by an amazing music every morning you can just open a window and enjoy it together with a marvelous view over the bay and resort.

The entire complex is kind of village with lots of tiny streets, stairs, squares. Situated on a hill with a a greate view over the mountains on one side (with red stones) and sea on the other side, sunsets are just like in a fairy tales. there are golf courses, tennis courts, swimming pools (one pool with artificial waves:) so really wide variety od animations. One main bulevard is kind of shopping street, with grocery - U marche (everything from croisants to sun filters are available), and many sport and provencal articles. There is a pub an internet cafe (wi fi at the reception if you have your own computer). Toiurist information, you can rent bikes take a mini train to Agay.

A closest beach is around 5 minutes walk from the resort entrance (I do not know of any sort cuts, I though doubt they exist - as the railway is crossing there, so no possibilty I guess,, but who knows?) . The beach is small and situated right next to a road, so I preffered to stay at the pool side. There are sun beds and umbrellas(% available for free, the rest is to be paid around 9€ per day).

The stuff is friendly and helpful, they DO speak english and are ready to arrange everything you may need. You will get a brochure about what to do in the resort in english if you ask. so no problem with comunication at all. Very friendly lifeguards and security people. A mini train driver helped us with a luggage when we were departing. It was very kind of them all. We appreciate it. ;)

I reccomend it to families and for those who need calm surroundings. For youth it might be a little bit boring there. No discos and away from Agay (10 minutes walking, but you need to take a curved way and then a road with a tiny pavement so it might seem like 2 km), besides sport activities they offer - there is nothing to do. We travelled around a little bit to: Cannes, Grasse, Nice, Eze, Monaco, St. Tropez (boat from St. Raphael), St. Maxime. There are train connectons from Agay with all this except St . Tropez (this is reachable by boat or bus from St. Raphaell, boat trip takes around an hour, by bus you need to travel around 2 hours). Note, there is no possibility to buy a ticket in Agay, so you need to catch the first controller in the train a buy a ticket there otherwise you may be punished 200€). To Agay you can go on foot (10 min) or take a mini train which stops right in the center.
Feel free to ask me more questions.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agiable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agay
4.1 km away
La Villa Mauresque
La Villa Mauresque
#1 of 41 in Saint-Raphael
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.8 km away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Hotel de l'Esterel
5.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Marina
BEST WESTERN Hotel La Marina
#2 of 41 in Saint-Raphael
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Le Domaine de l’Esterel
Le Domaine de l’Esterel
#5 of 41 in Saint-Raphael
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
27.7 km away
Pierre & Vacances Village Club Les Restanques du Golfe de Saint-Tropez
1.0 km away
Hotel le Relais d'Agay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre & Vacances Village Club Cap Esterel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances Village Club Cap Esterel

Property: Pierre & Vacances Village Club Cap Esterel
Address: rue des Thermes | Saint Raphael, 83530 Agay, Saint-Raphael, France (Formerly Pierre & Vacances Cap Esterel Holiday Village)
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Raphael > Agay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Agay
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,176 - ₹ 16,347
Hotel Class:3 star — Pierre & Vacances Village Club Cap Esterel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pierre & Vacances flagship holiday village set amidst 450 acres of protected natural landscape and stunning gardens. Choose from a wealth of activities for both children and adults, night and day! The resort also has its own village centre with bars, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Pierre & Vacances Village Club Cap Esterel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre And Vacances Resort Cap Esterel
Pierre & Vacances Resort Cap Esterel Hotel Agay
Cap Esterel France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing