We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking but uncomfortable”
Review of Chateau de Gilly

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau de Gilly
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breathtaking but uncomfortable”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This chateau and its beautiful grounds provide an exceptional, fairytale-like setting. However, our overall experience was average at best. On the plus side, our room was huge, and things were in good working order. Breakfast was provided each day. The bed was extremely comfortable. However, there was no air conditioning or room safe, and the room keys were huge, clunky manual keys. Some may find this charming; we found it inconvenient. The room itself was shabby, with stains on the carpet, worn and misshapen cushions on the couch, and in general need of updating. But the worst aspect was that the room's windows overlooked the patio area below, where people congregated to sit and talk with drinks from the bar...and smoke. Both the noise and smoke drifted in through our open windows: open because there was no air conditioning. We had to close them in order to sleep and breathe, despite the warmth. We got up much later to open the windows again, but had to reclose them when a thunderstorm came in the middle of the night. Not conducive to sleeping well. I would never go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KareninStLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Chateau de Gilly, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Madam,
First of all, I thank you for your comments. Its helps us to improve the quality of our services which is our main goal : to satisfy our guests.
After reading your imputs, we are sorry to learn about your deception regarding your stay at Château de Gilly, especially for your room.
Anyhow, we do understand your frustation and let us express you all our apologies for your disappointment.
Yours sincerelly.
Rémy BESOZZI - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    184
    81
    51
    24
See reviews for
90
327
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Grande do Sul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

If you need a break from stress, this is the place!
Rent a car and go down the Cote d'Or strolling through medieval villages and tasting divine wines. Use a bicycle of the Chateau when tired of driving and go to Vougeot, Nuits St Georges and Vosne Romanee ... And drink a gran crus from Flagey-Echezeaux, next to Gilly-les-Citeaux. Divine!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBohlke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Directeur général at Chateau de Gilly, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Madam, dear Sir,
I would like to thank you for your comment. It is a pleasure and a satisfaction for us to read you !
Thank you so much, I transmit your message to the staff who works every day for the well being of our guests.
We hope you will come back to our region and we will be happy to welcome you again at Chateau de Gilly.
Yours faithfully,
Rémy BESOZZI - General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
358 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We had a wonderful lunchtime experience at the Chateau in May of 2012 -- dinner there would have been beyond our means, but at mid-day there are reasonably priced menus. The setting was downstairs in an impressive old (XV century?), stone-vaulted storeroom, pleasantly cool on one of the first hot days of the season. We instantly hit it off with our host and his staff, who seemed to enjoy their work and were glad we were there (after we finished, the host took us on a brief tour of the old Chateau kitchens, upstairs). The wine was a superb Bandol rose, one of the best we've *ever* had, and while it was on the high side in terms of price it was not over-priced at all, considering its quality. Lamb was the order of the day, and it was superb; my tarte au pomme for dessert was also terrific. Overall we were delighted with the welcome, the cuisine, and the setting -- not the sort of place where we could afford to become regulars, but *well* worth a splurge, particularly at lunch!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We had booked to stay at the Chateau way back in January...thinking this would be a wonderful place to begin our tour of Burgundy. How wrong we were! There was a big wedding booked to take place the day after we arrived and we were "upgraded" to a room in an attic part of the Chateau, that I can only describe as dreadful! The room was just awful. We refused to stay in the room allocated and were shown 2 others of similar quality, but as we had just arrived in France, had nowhere else to stay, we opted to stay in what can only be described as a second rate room. Shower door had been removed and holes in the tiles filled...so no shower usable.
The reception staff did their best.....the final person we spoke to was nothing short of rude and arrogant!
We would never return and it very nearly spoilt our holiday in France. We left the next day with no where else to stay and it was a holiday weekend in France.
It was obvious the wedding had taken over the "best" parts of the hotel, much of which we were denied access to.
As well seasoned travellers this has to go down as one of our worst experiences!

Room Tip: Not sure what any other rooms were like but if offered a room to the right of the hotel...do not tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JPRKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Perhaps this wasn't a typical day, but shortly after we checked in, a road rally of 20 Maseratis pulled in. As we sipped champagne on the terrace, a party landed on the front lawn in a helicopter. It's that kind of place. Our room was comfortable and overlooked the beautiful grounds. The breakfast is great - the smoked salmon alone is worth staying for. My only complaint is the cost of the restaurant. $23 for a cup of soup? Really? That same salmon you get for breakfast will set you back 30 Euros as a starter for supper. The food is good, but with a simple meal for two costing more than the room, we'll keep our meals there just to breakfast. Handy location - we were able to walk to a Grand Cru property and to nearby towns. The area is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lv2TrvlWelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilly-les-Citeaux
2.6 km away
Le Richebourg
Le Richebourg
#1 of 1 in Vosne-Romanee
368 reviews
6.2 km away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
186 reviews
8.5 km away
Chateau de Saulon
Chateau de Saulon
#1 of 1 in Saulon la Rue
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel L'Oree des Vignes
Hotel L'Oree des Vignes
#2 of 2 in Gilly-les-Citeaux
131 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel de Vougeot
Hotel de Vougeot
#1 of 1 in Vougeot
166 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
#6 of 10 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Gilly? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Gilly

Property: Chateau de Gilly
Address: 2 Place du Chateau, 21640 Gilly-les-Citeaux, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Gilly-les-Citeaux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gilly-les-Citeaux
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,576 - ₹ 19,554
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de Gilly 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Gilly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Gilly Hotel Gilly-Les-Citeaux
Chateau De Gilly Vougeot
Chateau De Gilly Hotel Vougeot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing