We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute and quirky with an excellent restaurant.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Logis Grand Hotel Montespan Talleyrand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Logis Grand Hotel Montespan Talleyrand
Certificate of Excellence
surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cute and quirky with an excellent restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Lovely hotel that is well placed in the town. The public rooms in the hotel are much better decorated than the bedrooms. However, our room was at the front and had delightful shutters.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyCholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    51
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
93
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

This was our second time here and again, the hotel didn't disappoint.

The rooms once again were functional: the whole place has a rather charming of faded elegance. It's a lovely place for a stop after a day on the autoroute.

The staff are really kind but for me the reason to come here is the food. Huge portions, great variety and well cooked. Good value too. The service was a little - haphazard - but that is all part of the charm.

You really feel that they are happy for you to be staying there. If we head to the south of France next year, we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScruttonStreet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
380 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Having discovered this gem on our last trip 2 years ago, then subsequently outdone by our daughter in the room stakes this was a "must try again" on our Tour De France. It is a bit off the beaten path but is connected to a spa so there is always the potential for justifying the trip on the needs of ones health. We were greeted at reception and despite turning up early our room was made available immediately. It was on the second floor but there is a lift to get you onto that level...it just wasn't big enough for us, our suitcase and the receptionist so she used the stairs. No fuss!

The room was simply huge with an immense bed with a small canopy over. The furniture was all appropriate to the room (see photo), and great big ceiling beams. There was a large cupboard for hanging our cloths, a chest of drawers, a separate writing table, a circular table in the centre of the room for all your bits and pieces. Two french windows with Juliet balconies overlook the square at the front of the hotel. The loo was at one end of the room and the shower room at the opposite end with a sink and bidet. Toiletries were of a good standard, towels a little skimpy. There was however a large towel drying affair on the wall rather like an industrial hairdryer, but very practical for those being drenched in the spa nextdoor (spraying you with hoses seems the local sport.) Wifi is good but you need to get the access code from reception.

On the same (2nd Floor) level is a small gym; just looking at the exercise machines seemed like enough effort to us. Also on this level is the sun terrace where there is also a "heated" pool. Really a plunge pool and "heated" may be true in the strictly scientific sense in so far as they seem to have extracted the heat. Bracing I think might descibe it best but very refreshing.

The terrace is set above a beautiful courtyard garden (see photo) that makes some suggestions that it may once have been part of a religious community with a shrine for those seeking devine intervention to assist their problems with fertility. The Tilla Mint tree is said to date from 1529.

Dinner is served in a lovely room. The carefully crafted fabric covers disguise some plastic (and surprisingly comfortable) garden chairs maintaining the overall style. There are just the two staff both of whom we have met on our previous visit and both of significant seniority. They are both excellent and could show up many half their age and provide (as we experienced previously) prompt and excellent service. I do hope they are training up some younger folk to be at least half as good as them for the sake of the continued good service this place provides or maybe I am unestimating the positive benefits of the health spa nextdoor.

Kirs are accompanied by nice smoked salmon toasties. The amuse bouche is a salmon mousse with parley and chives. Mrs L enjoys a hot seafood mousse with langoustine sauce for starters while I tuck into a mussel soup with celery, leek, carrot, onion, croutons and gruyere cheese; delicious.The coq-au-vin my good lady has is hearty and though very tasty, very dense and impossible to finish. I try a piece and agree. Half the amount would have been prefect but generosity is not bad quality. I have the beef in a wine and mushroom sauce. These are accompanied with beans and tempura potatoes, which are light and lovely. The cheese board selection is good and we sample a Countess of Bourgogne (soft and creamy), a chevre (light and delicate) a campagnia (robust and flavoursome) and a St Nectaire (just what you'd expect). For dessert Mrs L has a Red Fruit with a Fromage Frait while I enjoy a iced soulfe with Gran Marnier and Kumquots (I think). Delicious. This was all washed down by a St Pourcain Secret de Jaligny 2009 (a local wine).

A great night's sleep was followed by a good breakfast. The breakfast room is a pleasant little affair overlooking the courtyard garden. The croissants were large and fairly fresh (good for a Monday). Coffee came from a machine that was easy to operate. Orange juice came from another dispenser. The preserves were all in large pots from which you could help yourself. Fresh fruit was also available.

Overall a very satisfactory and pleasant stay but our daughter still crows about her even larger room overlooking the courtyard. We will have to try again and defeat her.

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest option unless your budget is tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

We stayed here for sadly just one night on our way from Zeebrugger to Millau and then on to the midi Pyrenees in April 2011.
The hotel was to us absolutely lovely with its old fashioned rooms sporting beautiful decoration and exquisite drapes over the bed and at the windows. No loss of luxury in the huge king size bed and the luxurious bathroom - again with the rather strange toilet in a broom cupboard accross the other side of the room! [Different room though]
We dined in the restaurant and drank the best bottle of red wine that I have ever tasted [sadly wrote it down and then mislaid the piece of paper so can't repeat]
Breakfast for me was a little strange and by comparison the the evening meal was not worth it, but that aside we really did enjoy the place and would have made use of the indoor pool and spa had we had more time. Would love to come and stay for 3 or 4 nights to explore the area and will keep this place on my 'worth coming back to' list

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leskir1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestCountryTwo
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

98 euro for the room. Excellent value.
3 star Logis. Lovely room with period antique furniture. Excellent bed and pillows. Pool. Free wi-fi.
Also a good restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourbon-l'Archambault
7.1 km away
Le Chateau d'Ygrande
Le Chateau d'Ygrande
#1 of 1 in Ygrande
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
19.5 km away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1 of 1 in Tronget
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
21.0 km away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#1 of 8 in Moulins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Hotel Le Chalet Montegut
Hotel Le Chalet Montegut
#1 of 1 in Coulandon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
16.0 km away
Chateau de Villars
Chateau de Villars
#1 of 2 in Villeneuve-sur-Allier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
33.7 km away
Au Coeur de Meaulne
Au Coeur de Meaulne
#1 of 1 in Meaulne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Grand Hotel Montespan Talleyrand? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Grand Hotel Montespan Talleyrand

Property: Logis Grand Hotel Montespan Talleyrand
Address: Place des Thermes, 03160 Bourbon-l'Archambault, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Allier > Bourbon-l'Archambault
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bourbon-l'Archambault
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,737 - ₹ 9,257
Hotel Class:3 star — Logis Grand Hotel Montespan Talleyrand 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The name "Grand Hotel Montespan Talleyrand" tells an important part of the history of the 16th and 17th centuries. Today however, the building offers contemporary comfort, allowing you to take a breath of fresh air in the French-style interior garden. Some pleasant rooms offer a view over the garden and you can relax at the swimming pool with view on the Dukes of Bourbon chateau. Enjoy the art of living: a blend of gastronomic regional pleasures with fitness and vitality activities, a discovery of the benefits of thermal treatments (hotel directly connected to the Spa) or a visit of the surrounding vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Logis Grand Hotel Montespan Talleyrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing