We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just as perfect the second time!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mont Joie

Medieval meets modern comfort at Mont Joie
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Medieval meets modern comfort at Mont Joie
View from dining room, Fayrac Castle and the montgolfiers The main floor salon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Medieval meets modern comfort at Mont Joie
View from dining room, Fayrac Castle and the montgolfiers
The main floor salon
Master Bedroom with private bath and panoramic terrace
Relax on the private terrace off the master suite
Lower en suite Bedroom with King bed
Village of Beynac
Mont Joie from the path to the Beynac Chateau
The fully equipped kitchen makes eating in easy and stress-free
Panoramic views from the terrace off the master suite
Beynac Castle-themed Bunk room on the main level for kids only
Comfortable sitting room
Private parking for Mont Joie, compact cars recommended
Master bathroom
Spectacular garden views under wisteria shade on the upper garden terrace
Enjoy full sun and 180 degree views on the lower garden terrace
Hot air balloons soaring over the valley are a common sight out the main window
Shop like a local at the Sunday Market in Saint Cyprien
View of Chateau Beynac from Hot Air Balloon
Twilight over Beynac, roof top of Mont Joie on left
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
The_Grays...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just as perfect the second time!”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We enjoyed staying at Mont Joie so much in 2014 that we planned our 2017 trip around a return to Beynac (which is the loveliest village in the Dordogne - quite a feat!)

Mont Joie itself is even nicer and more charming than it appears in the photos and of course fits perfectly with the rest of the village. As other reviewers have said, this is perhaps the best one or two family holiday rental that we have ever stayed in.

Communication with the owner Vincent and the greeter was excellent and we were thrilled to find that Mont Joie remained absolutely perfect. It is clear that this is a home as much as a holiday rental and is beautifully and authentically furnished with obvious care and taste.

We were greeted again by a welcome basket with some local essentials, and a quick trip to the mini-store with its small but excellent wine, terrine and foie gras collections ensured a relaxing first night. It was so nice to open the big windows overlooking the Dordogne River and watch the hot air balloons float by as we enjoyed dinner at the big table.

The bedrooms are large with excellent beds, linen and storage. Our party included 2 small children this time (3 and 5 years) and they very much enjoyed their cosy bunk room next to the master bedroom.

The bathrooms remain excellent and the separate laundry with washer and dryer was most welcome after staying in hotels earlier in our trip.

Vincent provides a very comprehensive orientation booklet and list of suggested activities which we highly recommend following. Being our second visit, we enjoyed some favourites such as a self-guided tour of Beynac Chateau (more authentic and far less crowded than Castelnaud), a visit to the Marquessac Gardens, the Sunday market in St Cyprien and the unmissable Wednesday night market at Belves. We also discovered Gourdon which is a wonderful hill town in the Lot department 30 minutes away.

We will most definitely return again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorks2013
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mont Joie is even better that it looks!”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I were lucky enough to spend six nights at Mont Joie in early December and cannot speak highly enough of this beautiful home in what is a truly exceptional part of France.

As Chateau Beynac and the village first came into view the effect was simply stupendous and we could hardly believe that the next week was to be spent in such a glorious village.

Martine met us in the car park and very ably assisted the transfer of the luggage and our introduction to the joys of Mont Joie. She is a wonderful asset to the owners and as helpful and friendly as can be. She also kindly booked dinner for us at a local restaurant.

As you step into the house the feeling of stepping back in time is inescapable however the furniture and fit out are so comfortable and welcoming that you feel completely at home (not that our home is in any sense comparable!).

I won't describe the house in detail as that has been done many times before. Suffice to say that absolutely everything you have read in the reviews Mont Joie is accurate. As we were there in early winter we did not get to spend much time in the two terraced gardens or on the terrace off the main bedroom however they would clearly be wonderful and peaceful areas in warmer weather.

The weather for early December was wonderful for touring however with crisp nights clearing to sunny skies and no rain or winds at all so we counted ourselves very lucky.

Mont Joie and Beynac are a fantastic base from which to tour the Dordogne and we certainly did a lot of that. The options are almost endless and are such as to cater to all interests. What was equally wonderful however was to come home at the end of a long days touring to the comforts of our temporary home in Mont Joie. Often the highlight of the day was to sit in the comfortable couches with a glass of local wine and review the wonders we had seen, with the beauty of the setting sun turning the evening sky a glorious pink superbly reflected off the surface of the river just below the house! Oh to be an artist and try to capture the beauty of those evenings. Even so the memories remain strongly and the photos will have to do.

We feel very lucky to have been able to stay at Mont Joie and to have experienced all that the home, village and area can provide, even for such a short period of time. Our hosts were very kind to promptly arrange the return of several items of clothing that I had left during the final pack up.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
41Ceemac
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding in Every Respect”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We could not imagine a more satisfying vacation than our 2 weeks at Mont Joie in picture perfect Beynac. Having spent 3-4 weeks annually in most European countries from Norway to Hungary, Turkey and Sicily over the past 30 years, this year we wanted something special for our family's return to the Dordogne and indeed we found it in Mont Joie. Everything about it was superb including the spectacular setting, the architecture, the tastefulness of its furnishings, the privacy and tranquility, the high level of comfort, the proximity to excellent resources and nearby attractions, the owner's extraordinary attention to detail and responsiveness. We must also mention the exceptionally warm, friendly and helpful Martine who greeted us and was repeatedly helpful to us during our stay and, if you are interested in wildlife, you'll be very pleased with the swans, herons, egrets, ducks and the constant aerial display of the swallows in full view from the great room, the balcony and terraces. Mont Joie is a great value and we are most grateful to the owner for this truly exceptional, most rewarding and memorable experience.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenR-C4...
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very special”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Mont Joie for 5 days and had the most wonderful holiday. Beynac is one of our favourite places in France, so we were delighted to find Mont Joie was as good as we had hoped. The room proportions were bigger than expected and it is an exceptionally well renovated and equipped property. Beds really comfortable, v good kitchen. The balcony and terraces are so relaxing. We spent a lot if time on the balcony off the top master bedroom, as it was the nearest to the kitchen, caught a lot of sun, had a BBQ, and had great views in different directions. The evening temperatures meant we could stay out enjoying the evening until very late. The bonus of this property is that it would be equally good in rainy weather as inside and outside areas both great.

We has a 7 year old and 11 year old with us, and they loved Mont Joie too. They chose to shared the small bunk room, and didn't seem to mind in the slightest that it is small and without a window.... In fact they loved it for that (and there is a small window in the door of the adjoining hallway). Thoughtful touches such as a nightlight in here made you realise this is a home.

The position of this property is fabulous. Short walk down the hill to the shops and river, and upwards to the chateau. We loved all the tourists passing the door and the sense of life it gives, whilst being able to tuck ourselves away in the peace of the villa.

We parked in the parking grotto on the first day to unload luggage, and later received a round of applause from passers-by for getting the car out again, but after that we decided to buy a week-long car park ticket for the nearby car parks.

We enjoyed the many levels of the house and the steepness of the access pathways/road, but anyone with very bad knees, other mobility problems or heart failure would find the location challenging.

The owner, agent and housekeeper were all a delight to deal with. Very friendly, efficient and helpful. The locals were similarly so. The information pack is very useful too.

I am certain we will be back, and definitely recommend Mont Joie.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripleboc...
Fairfax County, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best vacation rental we've stayed at”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in September 2014

The Perigord region, and particularly the Valley of the Chateaux, is just a beautiful area of France. Beynac is a great little medieval castle village and makes a great home base for exploring the area.

Mont Joie is a spectacular vacation rental. Everything has been modernized so nicely but without losing the historic character. We often had fellow tourists who were walking through the streets of town peer into the kitchen window to check out the place.

The views from the living room and balcony are extraordinary. There are several other historic castles and chateaux visible from Mont Joie, as well as the town below and the Dordogne River, complete with its waterfowl, anglers, and paddlers. Hot air balloon tours pass by every afternoon.

In the morning, walk down the medieval road featured in the movie "Chocolat" to get fresh croissants for breakfast as the mist rises up off the river.

Beynac castle is really cool. We enjoyed our tour of it, as well as the trebuchet demonstrations at nearby Castelnaud. We also enjoyed the anthropological park in Beynac.

The streets of Beynac are steep, narrow, and cobbled. The house does come with a "parking grotto", which I was brave enough to put our rental minivan in a grand total of once (the hard part was the turning around). Mont Joie does have lots of stairs, so those with mobility issues or toddlers should be aware of that.

As a rental property, the house came with a nicer quality of linens and kitchen implements than most. Those were the sharpest kitchen knives I've ever used in a rental property! Everything was clean and well maintained. There were lots of books, board games, CDs, and DVDs for entertainment at the house, as well as a wide variety of cable stations and an added bonus of a telephone line that allows for free calls to the US, which we were having too much fun to make use of!

The welcome notebook was the best I've ever seen. I am a technical writer myself, so I appreciate the excellent instructions on the use of the dishwasher, washing machine, entertainment system, etc. Lots of helpful tour information in there as well.

There's a cool little room with bunks for kids. My kid wouldn't sleep in there at night, though, so I can attest that the beds are pretty comfortable, having slept in there myself.

We cannot wait to go back to Mont Joie. There is a lot more we'd like to see in that area, and Beynac and Mont Joie in particular were so relaxing and interesting. It's not the cheapest rental place, but to be so comfortable and enjoy such stunning views was well worth it!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing