We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 April 2012 via mobile

My wife and I took a weekend away from the kids Easter weekend in April, for our first visit. We booked a great 199 euro beatthetimer rate on spg. Given this is a category 7 hotel, using 30k points doesn't really seem like a realistic option. And typical room rates seem to be 500 euro plus.  So as a Starwood Platinum I wasn't really expecting much in the way of upgrades. Given the promo rate we booked.  But boy was I wrong.

We arrived early morning, like 10am. Well before check-in. Our rate included breakfast so didn't get to see what the Platinum option is, but given that checkin isn't until the afternoon I just assumed no breakfast for an early checkin. But they apologized for not having our room ready early and invited us down to breakfast -- an incredibly generous gesture many hotels would not offer. Now I travel a lot and have seen many a buffet breakfast, but this has to be one of the best in the Starwood chain. It has everything you can imagine presented in a luxurious fashion. There is also a patio to eat seaside. Just an amazing breakfast.

Our room was ready after breakfast and we were led by our personal butler to an enormous corner suite overlooking the ocean. Again, had many a Starwood upgrade but this was palatial. The entryway hall was the size of 2 typical hotel rooms. There was a huge living room that could seat like 10 people. A kitchen. A bedroom. 2 bathrooms. And a giant walk-in closet. Has to be one of the best Platinum upgrades ever. Truly makes you value the program.  And an enormous balcony with couches and blankets. Below us was a pool suite with private pool -- so not even the best room at the property.

The St Regis is all about their famed Butler service. I'm sure they are willing to do anything you need short of covering up a crime-- but they werent very proactive. I saw something saying they provide unpacking and packing services, shirt pressing and free in room afternoon drinks among other things. But I never asked for anything and they didn't mention it. Again, I'm sure if we needed anything they would have been there for us.

The hotel itself is stunning. Built like a Spanish mansion. The grounds are impeccable. Every detail is taken care of. Beautiful outdoor pool and a great indoor spa and pool (free to use, unlike some other Starwood properties). There is also an incredible kids pool with fountains and a kids club. Next time we will definitely bring the kids. It looked great. There is no beach here, but there is a shuttle and it is close by.

The service is top notch. What one would expect of a St Regis. Staff is happy to help in any way they can. But it goes beyond that. There is no request too difficult.

Upon Platinum late checkout (again, spg resorts not required to grant this), the manager came out to greet me and think us for the business. It was I that should have been thanking him. I was there on a cheap rate. And I did thank him and assured him we will be back.

Finally, note, they have valet parking but if you are like us and rent a horribly embarrassing car to pull up to the St Regis then be aware there is free self parking in back.

This is top of the line in the SPG portfolio and deserves its category 7 level.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mpolatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_vandenDungen, Assistant to the Hotel Manager at The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dearest guests,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We highly appreciate it that you took the time to write and post your detailled review. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at The Mardavall. St. Regis is all about "beyond expectations"!

Although it is a long way from San Francisco, we truly hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon again!

Sunny regards from Mallorca,
Christian Hollweck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    65
    27
    18
    5
See reviews for
109
199
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Wow! We hold high expectations for the St. Regis brand and the Mardavall met them. We stayed 8 nights. Our room was a recently refurbished room with a marble bathroom and sea view. Susan and Sabine at the Concierge desk made all of our restaurant reservations as this was our first time in Mallorca and we were not disappointed. The Hotel is a ways from the traffic and bustle of Palma and is pristinely silent with the waves crashing in the distance. Javier and Roberto were excellent servers at breakfast each morning, outdoors overlooking the sea and pool. The Spa was outstanding as well as the pool. Amy and Sarah were very helpful at the Front Desk and Shirley did an excellent job with housekeeping. Aqua was great for a jet lag dinner as we came direct from the States. Es Fum was fun for dinner but the service was slow- 4 hours. The parking is valet in an underground garage and the free parking on the grounds has limited space. The walk to Puerto Portals is 15 minutes and both Andratx and Port Andriato is about 10 minutes drive in one direction and Palma is 10 minutes the other direction. The hotel is immaculate and all of the furnishings and structures are in excellent condition. There is a fun area for children with an on staff child care person and the gift shop is excellent. We plan on returning to one of the best hotels we have stayed in and we have been guests at many hotels and resorts all over the world.

Room Tip: I believe we had Room 420. Please ask for a newly refurbished room with a sea view. Our Gold SPG sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_vandenDungen, Assistant to the Hotel Manager at The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Buenos día to Indianapolis,
Thank you so much for staying at The St. Regis Mardavall, for sending us your fantastic mail and for posting this marvellous review! Of course I passed your comments to our staff, which is a great motivation for them.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, but do regret that your experience with the service in our Gourmet Restaurant Es Fum was not what you expected of it.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again!
Meanwhile we wish you all the best, kindest regards from me and the entire team of The St. Regis Mardavall!!!!
Christian Hollweck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The St. Regis is considered the best hotel on Mallorca. It definitely has a lot to offer, but will have to step up if it wants to keep that status going forward. Overall we spent a good one week holiday, but found that cost - benefit wasn't great.

Room: We booked a double room and asked for sea view and upper floor. We got that and were made aware that we were awarded an upgrade. We probably had the smallest balcony of the whole hotel and no sun the whole day on the balcony. Otherwise the room was ok and everything functioned. No fruit is delivered, it seems that costs have been streamlined. Considering a room rate of around $ 900 a night more attention to details could be given.

Newspaper: We asked for a specific paper and got a different one each day. After calling twice we gave up.

Restaurants: We ate twice at the Aqua restaurant. Both times we waited 15 minutes until we were able to place the order and 45 minutes until the first course arrived. It seems understaffed, especially also during breakfast. We ate lunch at the pool restaurant, the quality of the food is very good. However it is brought from the main building without a cover, so it arrives lukewarm, actually a shame for the good food.

Management: No welcome letter from any manager, noone ever contacted us to ask how we liked it, no welcome drink or any contacct whatsoever. It seems that management is relaxing on status and not trying very hard. Our impression could be wrong, but that is how we felt.

No tours, excursion suggestion, jogging slopes or anything is made available in the room or anywhere, possibly we looked at the wrong place.

In summary a very nice hotel that is not trying very hard. Again, possibly the big success of the hotel has slowed things done.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_vandenDungen, Assistant to the Hotel Manager at The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Peter,
First of all, I would like to thank you for staying at the St. Regis Mardavall Resort and for taking the time to post your comments here.

We highly appreciate your opinion on our hotel and services. Constructive criticism, positive and negative alike, is always welcome at the St. Regis Mardavall, aiding us in improving, where improvement is needed, repairing, where repairs are in order, and being proud of, what is worth being recognized.

Thank you for bringing to our attention that your overall experience during your stay with us was not up to your expectation. Please accept my sincerest apologies, I can assure you that I have already discussed the issues with my management team to take corrective measures.

Should you plan to return to our beautiful island please do not hesitate to inform me of your next reservation giving me the opportunity to make your stay more pleasurable.

With kindest regards from Mallorca!

Christian Hollweck
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here two nights before moving on to La Residencia at Deia. This is a resort hotel that will cater to everything you need (spa, dining, bar, pools, etc.) -- if you want to see the sites of Palma, stay in town.

We stayed there in the shoulder season, so the main restaurant was not open and the hotel was near empty. At check-in, we were greeted by the valet who took our bags. We were offered a "welcome drink" on the verandah looking out over the ocean. We were upgraded to a junior suite.

The spa was very nice (especially the salt water pool and bathouse). It was chilly for swimming outdoors. The breakfast buffet was very good (lots of selections).

The room was very comfortable. The air conditioning in our room did not work. We called twice about this, and it was never fixed, but it was cool enough to sleep with the windows open and be comfortable so it wasn't a terrible problem.

We ate one night in the bar and had room service one night. It was typical western hotel fare; and expensive. There is a nice walking path that you can take into a small commercial area where there is some shopping and restaurants. It's kind of isolated--almost suburbia--away from the center of town. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reston10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_vandenDungen, Assistant to the Hotel Manager at The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Hello to Seattle,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write and post your review!
We are very pleased to hear that your overall experience of your stay at the St. Regis Mardavall was positive, we regret however that you had the problem with the air conditioning in your room and wish to appologize that it did not get fixed during your stay!

We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again at Mallorca!

Christian Hollweck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Nice grounds, nice room... am not impressed by it, Helpful staff YES, people working in the kitchen for breakfast seemed to be not in a good mood. Really, I have not much to say about this hotel, expensive yes but not impressed by it. I guess I was expecting a bit more from a St Regis.
I guess it also depends on which building you stay. Good luck, I wont recommend it and I will certainly dont stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank amtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_vandenDungen, Assistant to the Hotel Manager at The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Hello to Denver!
Thank youfor staying with us and for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to hear that your overall experience during your stay with us was not up to your expectation. Please accept my sincerest apologies regarding the service during breakfast. I can assure you that I have already discussed the issue with my management team to take corrective measures.

Should you plan to return to our beautiful island please do not hesitate to inform me of your next reservation giving me the opportunity to make your stay more pleasurable.

With kind regards from Mallorca,

Christian Hollweck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa d'en Blanes
4.3 km away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
954 reviews
33.0 km away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
813 reviews
0.3 km away
H10 Punta Negra Boutique Hotel
H10 Punta Negra Boutique Hotel
#2 of 2 in Costa d'en Blanes
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.0 km away
Belmond La Residencia
77.8 km away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 16 in Canyamel
331 reviews
1.7 km away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort

Property: The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort
Address: Carretera Andratx 19, 07181 Costa d'en Blanes, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Costa d'en Blanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Costa d'en Blanes
Price range (per night): ₹ 39,726 - ₹ 98,376
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort is one of the most prestigious resorts of the Mediterranean. Located near the exclusive area of Puerto Portals between the Tramuntana Mountains and the sea this hotel offers to its guest a unique experience of luxury and tradition. The tailored and personalized St. Regis butler service, along with the captivating views from the rooms and the exceptional restaurants will create an extraordinary experience impossible to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Hotel Costa d`En Blanes
St Regis Mardavall Mallorca Hotel
Mardavall Hotel
St Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing