We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Easter Break 2012” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Easter Break 2012”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The St. Regis is considered the best hotel on Mallorca. It definitely has a lot to offer, but will have to step up if it wants to keep that status going forward. Overall we spent a good one week holiday, but found that cost - benefit wasn't great.

Room: We booked a double room and asked for sea view and upper floor. We got that and were made aware that we were awarded an upgrade. We probably had the smallest balcony of the whole hotel and no sun the whole day on the balcony. Otherwise the room was ok and everything functioned. No fruit is delivered, it seems that costs have been streamlined. Considering a room rate of around $ 900 a night more attention to details could be given.

Newspaper: We asked for a specific paper and got a different one each day. After calling twice we gave up.

Restaurants: We ate twice at the Aqua restaurant. Both times we waited 15 minutes until we were able to place the order and 45 minutes until the first course arrived. It seems understaffed, especially also during breakfast. We ate lunch at the pool restaurant, the quality of the food is very good. However it is brought from the main building without a cover, so it arrives lukewarm, actually a shame for the good food.

Management: No welcome letter from any manager, noone ever contacted us to ask how we liked it, no welcome drink or any contacct whatsoever. It seems that management is relaxing on status and not trying very hard. Our impression could be wrong, but that is how we felt.

No tours, excursion suggestion, jogging slopes or anything is made available in the room or anywhere, possibly we looked at the wrong place.

In summary a very nice hotel that is not trying very hard. Again, possibly the big success of the hotel has slowed things done.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_vandenDungen, Assistant to the Hotel Manager at The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Peter,
First of all, I would like to thank you for staying at the St. Regis Mardavall Resort and for taking the time to post your comments here.

We highly appreciate your opinion on our hotel and services. Constructive criticism, positive and negative alike, is always welcome at the St. Regis Mardavall, aiding us in improving, where improvement is needed, repairing, where repairs are in order, and being proud of, what is worth being recognized.

Thank you for bringing to our attention that your overall experience during your stay with us was not up to your expectation. Please accept my sincerest apologies, I can assure you that I have already discussed the issues with my management team to take corrective measures.

Should you plan to return to our beautiful island please do not hesitate to inform me of your next reservation giving me the opportunity to make your stay more pleasurable.

With kindest regards from Mallorca!

Christian Hollweck
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    62
    24
    18
    5
See reviews for
102
184
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here two nights before moving on to La Residencia at Deia. This is a resort hotel that will cater to everything you need (spa, dining, bar, pools, etc.) -- if you want to see the sites of Palma, stay in town.

We stayed there in the shoulder season, so the main restaurant was not open and the hotel was near empty. At check-in, we were greeted by the valet who took our bags. We were offered a "welcome drink" on the verandah looking out over the ocean. We were upgraded to a junior suite.

The spa was very nice (especially the salt water pool and bathouse). It was chilly for swimming outdoors. The breakfast buffet was very good (lots of selections).

The room was very comfortable. The air conditioning in our room did not work. We called twice about this, and it was never fixed, but it was cool enough to sleep with the windows open and be comfortable so it wasn't a terrible problem.

We ate one night in the bar and had room service one night. It was typical western hotel fare; and expensive. There is a nice walking path that you can take into a small commercial area where there is some shopping and restaurants. It's kind of isolated--almost suburbia--away from the center of town. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reston10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_vandenDungen, Assistant to the Hotel Manager at The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Hello to Seattle,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write and post your review!
We are very pleased to hear that your overall experience of your stay at the St. Regis Mardavall was positive, we regret however that you had the problem with the air conditioning in your room and wish to appologize that it did not get fixed during your stay!

We wish you all the best and hope to see you soon again at Mallorca!

Christian Hollweck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Nice grounds, nice room... am not impressed by it, Helpful staff YES, people working in the kitchen for breakfast seemed to be not in a good mood. Really, I have not much to say about this hotel, expensive yes but not impressed by it. I guess I was expecting a bit more from a St Regis.
I guess it also depends on which building you stay. Good luck, I wont recommend it and I will certainly dont stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank amtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_vandenDungen, Assistant to the Hotel Manager at The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Hello to Denver!
Thank youfor staying with us and for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to hear that your overall experience during your stay with us was not up to your expectation. Please accept my sincerest apologies regarding the service during breakfast. I can assure you that I have already discussed the issue with my management team to take corrective measures.

Should you plan to return to our beautiful island please do not hesitate to inform me of your next reservation giving me the opportunity to make your stay more pleasurable.

With kind regards from Mallorca,

Christian Hollweck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed here for the city break in May.
Nice spacy room. Fabulous pool area.
In-room dinning (in terrace!) better option than main restaurant.
Palma is lovely city, unfortunately the sorrounding area (south coast of island) is an Fukushima of architecture.
For the real taste of Maiorca, try the northen part of island (La Residencia as luxury option!)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed at the St. Regis, Mardavall from 4th to 15th September and our first impressions were very favourable, very relaxed and peaceful setting and a lovely room (we had a junior suite), However I was soon overtaken by
extreme stress because of the the high prices of all drinks. The only water offered free was a small bottle at the bedside otherwise we had to pay exhorbitant prices for bottled. We were consistently charged 20 euros for a gin and tonics and beers were 7.50 euros and a small glass of wine .1 litre was 7.50 euros for the cheapest wine . The plates were cold at breakfast - not at all condusive to fried eggs and the selection was very limited for me (I am a coeliac) despite letting the hotel know in advance. Over the last year I have stayed in several hotels, including the One and Only Royal Mirage in Dubai, Hotel San Clemente in Venice, these two in particular had a table full of gluten free products at breakfast, which is now normal in five star hotels throughout Europe.
Reading through the reviews made before and since my visit I cannot believe that these are genuine reviews. Most of the couples were talked were equally unhappy with the experience.
The last straw was when the restaurant (downstairs) tried to charge us 59 euros for 4 coffees on our last evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_vandenDungen, Assistant to the Hotel Manager at The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are very sorry that the St. Regis Mardavall experience disappointed you and we regret that you obviously were not informed that we do have gluten free food at the breakfast, please accept our sincerest appologies.

Best regards from Mallorca,

Christian Hollweck
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa d'en Blanes
5.1 km away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 72 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
11.5 km away
H10 Punta Negra Boutique Hotel
H10 Punta Negra Boutique Hotel
#2 of 2 in Costa d'en Blanes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
22.5 km away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Hotel Nixe Palace
Hotel Nixe Palace
#1 of 5 in Cala Major
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
10.0 km away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 181 in Calvia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
15.4 km away
Belmond La Residencia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort

Property: The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort
Address: Carretera Andratx 19, 07181 Costa d'en Blanes, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Costa d'en Blanes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Costa d'en Blanes
Price range (per night): ₹ 18,984 - ₹ 74,032
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort is one of the most prestigious resorts of the Mediterranean. Located near the exclusive area of Puerto Portals between the Tramuntana Mountains and the sea this hotel offers to its guest a unique experience of luxury and tradition. The tailored and personalized St. Regis butler service, along with the captivating views from the rooms and the exceptional restaurants will create an extraordinary experience impossible to forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Starwood EMEA so you can book your The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Mardavall Mallorca Hotel Costa d`En Blanes
St Regis Mardavall Mallorca Hotel
Mardavall Hotel
St Regis Mardavall Mallorca Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing