We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This apartment is a little gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of BENALMADENA

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with 2 seat sofa+ Double Sofa Bed. Air Con.Ceiling Fan.TV.SKY.DVD.RADIO. Another view of lounge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Lounge with 2 seat sofa+ Double Sofa Bed. Air Con.Ceiling Fan.TV.SKY.DVD.RADIO.
Another view of lounge.
Fully modernised Bathroom with bath & over bath shower and vanity unit with Wc
Fully fitted Kitchen with fridge, hob, microwave, kettle etc
Very Comfy Double Bed. Bedside tables and Lamps.
View of bedroom with bed Mirrored Wardrobes, Dressing Table ,Ceiling Fan, Safe.
Side Sea View from Balcony
View from balcony of people laying in the gardens & the sea
Well maintained pool in gardens
Local Restaurants and Bars
promenade walk
Paloma Park
Mosquita Square
The Marina
Promenade
Childrens play area in Paloma Park
Walk along the sea front
The Promenade
The wonderful marina
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Arroyo de la Miel, Benalmadena, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
K6010WTto...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This apartment is a little gem”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We've just got back from a short break at this apartment and I've got to say I find it hard to find fault.. The apartment was great and had everything you need. The bedroom was clean light and modern the shower was really powerful and plenty of hot water the lounge was great and the kitchen had every thing we needed. We made good use of the internal balcony as it was raining a lot during our stay. The apartment is located in a great spot close to all the bars shops etc bus stop just outside the apartment and the train station 15 minute walk. We would definitely stay here again if available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The internal balcony
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2016
Thankyou so much. We look forward to having you back :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillyear
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
5
people found this review helpful

If you check my previous reviews you will see I have been a member of Tripadvisor since 2008 and have made numerous contributions, I really do not like to write a bad review unless I feel it is just worthy and on this occasion I feel it is.

We booked the Agata apartment 217 for 9 nights from 18th March 2016, mainly due to the price and the good reviews on Tripadvisor. The booking process with the owner went very well.

We arrived late afternoon, first impressions were not that good the apartment is in a 1970,s building similar to a tenement block. The receptionist provided us with keys and directed us towards the lifts which led to a dark gloomy internal court yard. The apartment was located on the second floor at the end of a not so nice corridor, on entry the apartment looked okay, small, dated with lots of personal belongings, as stated the apartment had all the necessary items.

The balcony was very disappointing (see pictures) it is small, enclosed and overlooks an identical block, which is not very appealing. The owner states there is a side sea view, which you can just about get a glimpse of if you stand up and lean towards the window (as you will be able to see the trees have grown since the photos were added by the owner). Apart from the balcony, there are three other windows which overlook the carpark/road.

Whilst staying at the apartment we found it extremely difficult to sleep, the bed was very uncomfortable, the mattress was thin and did not have a mattress protector, the sheets were worn and had lots of bobbles on them. The main problem was the noise approx. 5am every morning a baby above woke up crying loudly, this would continue to about 6am, then we would hear a scrapping of chairs, it actually felt like the baby was in the room with us. The apartment is on the 2nd floor and every night we could hear lots of road noise motor bikes and cars racing up and down the road. Saturday night there was a party across the road there was lots of shouting and screaming, this went on to at least 3 am, every night we struggled to sleep. There really does not appear to be any sound proofing or insulation to the walls, ceiling or windows, even throughout the day we could hear the neighbours just talking.

We also found the apartment to be very cold (weather outside was a bit rainy/sunny 15°C) and we were really upset because our clothes became damp. We used the gas fire from the bedroom, this was not sufficient, we were not sure if we could use the air con. as it had a padlock on and we could not find any instructions.

After the 3rd night we could no longer put up with the noise, we were stressed and tired, we made the decision to book a hotel for the night. We came back the apartment the following day, it was cold and depressing so we emailed the owner to explain the situation and tell him that we were going to vacate he responded straight away but was not very helpful and ending ‘We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday’.

Staying at the Agata ruined the first few days of our holiday, we would definitely, not recommend and really do not understand how the apartment has got an excellent rating on Tripadvisor. The reasons why we would strongly not recommend are due to the noise issues, the outlook from the balcony/windows and the gloominess condition of the overall block, it really is tired and certainly does not have a holiday feel, more of a residential block. The advertisement is very misleading and we think the owner should rewrite and update the photographs to avoid other guests feeling as disappointed as we did.

On return we emailed a complaint to the owner and did not receive a response until we emailed him a week later to follow up, the owner cannot seem to take any criticism and rather than address the issues he becomes very defensive and childlike, with quotes like ‘I understand that there had been a massive thunderstorm on the Monday ...weather always puts a dampener on things doesn't it’

The final correspondence from the owner was (we did not respond as we felt like we were banging our heads against a brickwall):
‘There was a very nasty storm the agent informed me and we have numerous friends who live over there who said the same! We cannot guarantee the weather (we never complained about the weather, this really was not an issue). There is nothing wrong with the apartment There are instructions in the apartment for the use of all the facilities including the heater from the air con (we used the gas fire. There was a padlock on the air con. with no instructions) There are contact numbers in the apartment if you have any issues. You failed to contact the agents with any issues.! (we emailed the owner directly before we decided to vacate, told him our reasons for leaving 6 days early, he responded to our email within minutes and did not offer any help) Outdoor Pools do not open during winter months.! (This needs to be stated in the advertisement, we contacted the owner a few days before our holiday and his response was ‘In regard to the pool it usually opens Easter week but it opened late last year.So cannot be certain’.)
We have never had any complaints like the ones you have raised. The advert states side sea view...which is exactly what you get.(we are very surprised that there has never been any complaints, the advert needs updating as you can see from the photographs we took, there is a very small side glimpse of the sea) I could have let the apartment out many times during the period you booked. We honoured our agreement you chose to move out So I am not able to address your issues after the fact !!’ (we are not after a refund for the 6 days that we did not stay, we would have just liked you to address our complaint in adult fashion and not keep going on about the weather).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
This review so far from the truth that it deserves No response.
Very Spiteful and untrue!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angie c
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best apartment we've stayed in”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in September 2014

this was a great apartment as it had everything we needed & more. very clean & comfortable. everything at hand that you need.
really looking forward to going back this year

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ronsan201...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Agata apartment”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Very well appointed apartment fully equipped with all that is needed for a pleasant holiday.
Clean and comfortably furnished. Very close to all amenities supermarket across the road.
Only negative points are;
Situated on the corner opposite another apartment block with restricted views, no english television,and at the time of writing the swimming pools are closed until further notice, due to an unresolved dispute.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochey
Yorkshire England
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Agata 217”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Excellent location close to all amenities, bars and restaurants The apartment was well presented with all necessary items.
Ceiling fans and air conditioning a bonus for very hot weather conditions.
A very enjoyable 10 day break, will definitely stay at this apartment/resort in the future .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing