We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but not amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bloo Lagoon Village
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Padangbai
Certificate of Excellence
grass valley, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice but not amazing”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed at Bloo Lagoon with my husband and my mother for two nights. The view was amazing from the deck, the rooms were not at all private (open air), the kitchen was not clean (all dishes were dirty and moldy), and the kitchen ware was seriously in need of being replaced. The beds were firm and small. The pool was chlorinated which for an "eco resort" was disappointing as there are many salt eco pools in Bali. The breakfast was very good as you can order whatever you want off the menu and is included in the price. Bring shampoo and conditioner as they do not provide any. The actual Blue Lagoon beach was seriously not nice!!! There was a lot of trash and coral , not at all a good swimming beach. For Padangdbai it is decent place to stay but not amazing . the best part was the morning view of Ajung from the deck.

Room Tip: A view towards Agung and Candidasa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simone s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyGwilliam, Owner at Bloo Lagoon Village, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Being ecological designers we try to use natural breezes instead of air conditioning. The rooms are designed to be open and use the natural breeze, but all bedrooms and bathrooms have doors that can be closed. We have firm beds as most guests prefer them. The beds are standard European queen size (1.60mx2m)
Although we have used salt pools in other projects, these also use chlorine salts. We prefer ionization at Bloo Lagoon pool to use the minimal possible chlorine, just enough to operate the silver anode and ionization cleaning process. You realize that there is very little chlorine in the pool when you see birds drinking from it and frogs swimming in it at night.

The Blue Lagoon beach is a beautiful coral filled excellent snorkeling beach not your pristine sand swimming beach. It is true that throughout Bali trash gets swept down from the rivers in the rainy season and we have to do continual clean up. Many of us on the island are trying to do our bit to improve waste collection and trash awareness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    108
    49
    26
    12
See reviews for
163
184
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Travelling with my 74yr old mum we "did" Bali in short hops. On day 2 we arrived in Padangbai, sleeping over in one of the villas at Bloo Lagoon (no 23?). The two bedrooms were separate "pavilions" with big sliding doors on 3 sides. Both en suite bathrooms were outdoors and all of this sat on a large deck under a central roofed area. The deck came out over about a 10m drop and had a HUGE day bed on which you could spend hours looking across the Blue Lagoon Bay to Mt Agung. We also had a mezzanine area, a dining area, a "loo with a view" and a kitchen which we did not have time to use. Other highlights include exotic organic soaps (also for sale in the Blootique), big fans everywhere, unlimited free drinking water, access to on-premises massages and treatments (greatly appreciated by mum), beautiful gardens and a huge tropical pool. The only criticism would be that the food, although it was beautiful to look at, tended to be blanded down, probably for European taste buds? If you stay for longer than one night this would be no issue as you would have your own kitchen or alternatively could use the shuttle to get into Padangbai for some chili sensations. This place is definitely on the itinerary for our next trip....

Room Tip: We thought that the whole village is perfect, although vistas would change according to the "si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balifoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northam, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I was at Bloo lagoon resort yesterday, brilliant place $120 per double per night, great villas, pool restaurant, clean new, private outdoor bath shower area, views over a very pretty area. I was offered $100' it's off season.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Having decided to holiday in the Gili Islands from Singapore, decided that the best option was to stay a night or two in Padangbai. We decided to give Bloo Lagoon a try, even though we are not big on eco-tourism as it, we thought, implies austerity and responsibility, two things furthest from our minds when holidaying!
So we booked two nights and we cannot think of anywhere we have stayed that we enjoyed more. The open-plan villas meant that you were in touch with your surroundings rather than locked away in air-conditioned isolation, but there was still the feeling that you were in luxury surroundings, not as some reviewer stated "if eco-tourism means dirty rooms, etc.". Nothing could be further from the experience we had.
The staff were also very pleasant and always trying to please. We used the transport regularly - phoning them to pick us up from the town so we didn't have to do the hill climb and they kept the room and the resort spotless. Breakfasts were great as was the food from the al la carte on the few occasions we chose to stay and dine there.
We would also find it difficult to beat the location and views. Our villa gave us an unniterupted view of Agung and the sunrise. On the other side of the hill you could watch incredible sunsets and the hobit-town like twinkling lights of Padnagbai. A seven minute walk takes you to the Bloo Lagoon beach with its ideal snorkelling, swimming and beach facilities, including two very reasonably priced warungs. There are also two dive sites just outside the bay.
East Bali is old Bali: still relatively untouched and full of charm, history and incredibly friendly people. Bloo lagoon is an ideal base from which to explore the area and Pandangbai is a small, traditional town with surprisingly good and varied food and drinking options.
So if you want to see the real Bali and stay at one with the feel of nature without all the hassles, Bloo Lagoon is for you. It certainly is for us and we will be back asap

Room Tip: depends if you want sunrise and Agung or sunset and twinkling lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tomsmith93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed in villa number 24 which was absolutely massive! It had 3 queen sized beds and a day bed. Much too big for 2 people.The villa was set on a hill overlooking the water. The view was spectacular and I really enjoyed the bird-watching from the balcony.
As the accommodation was open to the elements, we got a few little visitors such as frogs, lizards... I loved it though! The main bedroom had air conditioning which I didn't have to use. The outdoor bathroom was gorgeous and I never had any issues with hot water.
As the villa had a fridge, I'd recommend stocking up on nibblies and drink so you can relax on your balcony without going anywhere.
As it was the wet season when I travelled, it rained pretty much all the time and I found the walk from the car to our villa annoyingly long. The tiled walkway down to the villa got extremely slippery as well..
I wouldn't eat at the resort's restaurant. I found the food very bland. Much better options in town. I also found the staff a bit rude.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padangbai
5.2 km away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
770 reviews
7.4 km away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
563 reviews
5.5 km away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
OK Divers Resort & Spa
OK Divers Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Padangbai
265 reviews
0.3 km away
Padang Bai Beach Resort
Padang Bai Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Padangbai
334 reviews
4.2 km away
Alila Manggis
Alila Manggis
#1 of 8 in Manggis
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloo Lagoon Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloo Lagoon Village

Property: Bloo Lagoon Village
Address: Jl. Silayukti, Padangbai 80872, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Padangbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Padangbai
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,782 - ₹ 11,820
Hotel Class:3 star — Bloo Lagoon Village 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An international village, a combination of home, studio, and shared resort. Each of the 25 imaginative, distinctive and elegantly designed villas which make up this hill top resort enjoy panoramic views over Blue Lagoon Bay and Mount Agung and have been personalized by their individual owners so that time spent here is like staying in someone else's home. All are within easy reach of the free form swimming pool. Each home has been designed to help guest rediscover nature with open spaces flowing from outdoors to indoors. The village has been created and is operated with environmental sustainability dominant. The underlying aim of Bloo Lagoon Village is to improve the lives of all participating individuals, the guests, local villagers and life on our planet through an intuitive understanding of nature and a cooperative environment of mutual exchange from which all parties benefit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bloo Lagoon Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloo Lagoon Village Hotel Padangbai
Bloo Lagoon Village Padangbai, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing