We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Club Punta Playa(Pedro Gonzales)
US$ 202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge La Arcadia(Pedro Gonzales)(Great Value!)
US$ 25
US$ 18
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,848)
Filter reviews
1,848 results
Traveller rating
607
570
377
172
122
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
570
377
172
122
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain poolexchange ratevenezuelamargaritafeb
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,848 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We visited via tour and was met with welcome drinks. Check-in was hassle-free as everything was handled by the agency. We were shuttled to our rooms which were located on the premium section. It was quiet and serene. We had a pool and jacuzzi nearby, security and transport were always on hand, the rooms were cleaned and towels and sheets replaced daily. I do plan to return probably for the Easter weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunes_Beach, Gerente at Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017
Google Translation

Querida Sra.

para eso nos esforzamos, para que clientes como usted se sientan bien atendidas en esta su casa, esperamos nuevamente verla de vuelta por la isla de margarita en especial por el Hotel Dunes.

Atentamente

Gerencia de atención al Cliente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

I stayed at Dunes from Feb 25th - 28th 2017. I went on a package offered by a local travel agent. Overall, I had a decent stay, however I will give details below as I wasn't future travellers to be fully informed:

Check In: Check in was very swift. We arrived several hours later than expected and arrived at the hotel at about 5am. We were given something to eat and drink before being led to reception which was really nice. The lobby area is small, with a few shops around the area. We stayed in the premium section, which is far from the lobby, so a shuttle was made available to drive us to our rooms after check in.

Rooms: We stayed in a two bedroom junior suite so each bedroom had it's own bathroom area and could be self contained if it had to be. The room was clean, although very average. Do not expect a lot. The bed was comfortable and sheets were clean. The bathroom fixtures were rusted and didn't work well. There were also quite a bit of mosquitoes in the rooms, so walk with repellent. The balcony area was laden with trash, so I didn't bother to go outside. Also, there was no iron and ironing board, the safe didn't work and unless you speak fluent don't bother to watch TV.

Grounds: The hotel grounds are well maintained. There are about two main pools and a few smaller ones. There are open air bars, a game area, gym (the equipment is in POOR shape. DO NOT even bother), shops etc. Overall, the grounds are quite large.

Restaurant: If you're a foodie like me, you will not enjoy the food. I hardly ate, and when I did it wasn't enjoyable. The selections became monotonous by the second day. I am not going to use the excuse that Trinidadian food is more seasoned than Latin american food, because my experience travelling has proven otherwise. The food is simply not that great. I did enjoy the grilled hot dogs though. In addition, the handling of food left something to be desired. The attention to detail and cleanliness factor left much to be desired. There are about three restaurants on the compound.

Customer Service: customer service was excellent. Although much of the staff barely spoke english, it was easy to communicate.

Miscellaneous:
1) the beach was nice
2) Shuttles were constant
3) Drinks were amazing!
4) The massages were basic and cheap. About 3USD. If your muscles are dense or you workout a lot, don't expect to enjoy the massages.
5) There were shuttles to take you to the popular malls and shopping areas. Please carry a knapsack with you for money. Trust me, a purse will NOT work. The average exchange rate is 1USD:3000Bs. The tour guides can change the money for you. You get less money in the hotel.
6) The hotel is far from the city (about 45 mins).

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruslene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunes_Beach, Gerente at Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017
Google Translation



Apreciada Sra.

hemos leído sus comentarios y tomaremos muy en serio sus sugerencias.

lamentamos que no haya disfrutado de sus vacaciones plenamente, nos esforzaremos mas para que clientes como usted se vayan 100% satisfechos de nuestras instalaciones.

le damos gracias por sus comentarios.

Atentamente

Gerencia de atención al cliente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived at dunes hotel 26 Feb & we spent 9 days, I was mesmerized by the amount of activities & how big that hotel is! The Jr. suite we had was spacious & comfortable. I will recommend dunes to all

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank laura d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunes_Beach, Gerente at Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017
Google Translation

Estimada Sra,

le agradecemos enormemente que nos recomiende.

esa es nuestra meta hacer de las vacaciones de nuestros clientes algo inolvidable como la fue para usted.

esperamos verla pronto por esta su casa.

Atentamente

Gerencia de atención al cliente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016 via mobile

My husband an I arrived on Sunday 3 hrs later than we were supposed to, yet our room was still not ready. We were then invited to have dinner or a drink at the bar whilst we wait. Dinner was buffet style and the nights are themed. The food was not my style but it was ok. Drinks was good. Upon entering our room we realized we didn't get the premium room which we paid for but my husband insisted we just let it be. House keeping kept our room very neat and clean, everyday she would place Flowers and make some design with the towels on our bed. She basically set the mood. The bell hop, Caesar was extremely helpful. Spoke little English but we were able to understand. Francine and the male masseuse were excellent. All 3 days my partner an I did massages as it was very inexpensive. The gift shops at Dunes prices are cheaper than at Sambil and other hotels. Carlos was our taxi driver and he was always on time and even on his day off he took us around. There is a waiter at dinner time who spoke very good English he was extremely helpful and very quick to serve. Overall the staff here is pleasant and eager to serve or assist their guest. I almost cried when was time to go as I felt as though I was leaving family behind. The pool caters for both kids and adults, plus there is an active game area. The bartenders are really great. I loved the people most over here. Definitely endorsing this hotel.

Regards,
The Baksh

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
7  Thank hibabyannahere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunes_Beach, Gerente at Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2017
Google Translation

Apreciada Sra.

Reciba un cordial saludo de la familia Dunes and Beach Resort, para nosotros fue un placer haberle atendido, nos complace saber que personas como usted le halla gustado nuestros servicios.

Esperamos vuelva pronto Le damos las gracias por sus comentarios

Gerencia De Atención Al Cliente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

I spent one week as a family of three on the 16 -23 November we were on thier all incl plan we enjoy our stay it was not as perfect as we wanted it to be but we made the time we had very enjoyable due to the economical problems on the island we stayed in room 19-12 the food was not that grand and most of the meat was dry and uncooked had to suck on it to get a taste ,scarcely had any soft drinks to after at times had to ask for it due to the recession there but they tried thier best must compliment them for that but we did get other things to eat especially thier spaghetti they do made that delicious I just ate that every day , they did not have my favorite drink pina colado if you by the beach you can also get some burgers or something to eat you can not go hungry , the workers are all very nice. And goes out thier way to offer assistance if needed my room was cleaned daily with no problem every thing was okay it is a very beautiful that will be back on its feet again ' this is my second visit to that hotel and not my last ,thank you dunes for a wonderful week well spent .

Room Tip: Room with a balcony .
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank empress152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunes_Beach, Gerente at Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016
Google Translation

Estimado Señor.

Lamentamos profundamente conocer que su expectativa con nosotros no fue satisfecha Gracias por sus críticas constructivas, vamos a verificar cada uno de los servicios que no le agrado durante su estada , sin duda nos ayuda para ofrecer una mejor experiencia a nuestros huéspedes.

Gerencia Atención Al Cliente

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews