We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're American read this review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pedro Gonzales
Reviewed 16 July 2012

It's very difficult to find people other than afew staff that speak english. First off there are no direct flights to the island, u must fly into carracas first. Make sure you get there in daylight and take only official taxis. Don't change american money at the airport do it on the low at your hotel. Usually the guys at the resort tours desk will give you about eight hundred bolivar per hundred. Don't accept less than seven fifty. Carracas is an impoverished hell hole if you have to stay there before you get a connect flight to Margarita STAY IN YOUR ROOM TILL DAYLIGHT! Once you get to Margarita you can relax it's beautiful. The dunes is decent clean and well kept. The food is awful, request a room with a kitchen and take a taxi to the large super market across town. The evening shows are pretty spectacular, the staff is super friendly and so are the mosquitoes if you stand too near the bushes. Take the tours they're fun. Get beautiful pearl sets made by guys on the beach, take your time choosing they are there every Day. Pay no mind to the pesky peasant kids on the beache they are coached and beaten by their parents who they hustle for. Be prepared to see some awful plastic surgery walking around. Buy a swimmers life jacket, the water is beautiful but can be dangerous, see beautiful playa el agua and all the others they all have their personality. Shop the flea market. Eat the local food. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank thelastdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 128 of 1,813 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

Puerto Cruz, Dunes own beach is the most beautiful beach in Venezuela. Pool, staff and rooms are incredible!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank John_Sempere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

It wasn't easy to find some hotel on Isla Margarita, which review didn't contain bad service, terrible meal, theft of money or other unpleasant experience. But finally we found Dunes beach and it was really great holiday in very nice resort. Right after our arrival we wanted to change the room because of noisy air-conditioning under the window and receptionist did it in a few minutes without any question. The next room in new area of the resort was farther from the main building, but not so far and it was quiet and nice. Beach was clean and quite quiet, with big waves so there was red flag all the time (but it was possible to swim a little). Water in the swimming pools was clean and warm. Restaurants and bars were full of good food, drinks and likeable staff. Resort offers also spa and sports activity like tennis etc., but we didn't utilize. Program with animation group was funny during the day (aquagym, salsa lessons,...) and also during the evening (traditional dances performance, miss voting, karaoke,...). There were also good parties with local people in Cubos club. I like this place and if I travel again to Isla Margarita, I will stay in this resort. You can't expect luxury there, but it belongs to South America style. I think this resort is one of the best in Venezuela and much better than most of the five-stars resorts in Cuba.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in new area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pavlína S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My DH and I visited Dunes several years ago and absolutely loved it. We had never stayed at an all inclusive resort before, and we were not expecting much in the food area. We were pleasantly surprised. DH loved all the fresh fruit at each meal and the buffets were generally well stocked. They also have specialty restaurants that you can visit with reservations. The room was small, but wonderfully maintained. Each day, housekeeping either had flowers on the bed or some ingenious animal made out of the towel. We got a great tip on Tripadvisor about a beach shack just down from the resort where the shrimp were unbelievable. Of course, we went there and could not believe it. The shrimp were prepared anyway you wanted and I swear they were 8 inches long. We met lots of Europeans and made friends that we still communicate with. This is a great value, and we would love to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank compassquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have travelled to a few countries in this area and I have to say that this was the worst we have seen. Our premium room was missing night stands and tables. The premium rooms are approximately two years old and they look to be about 10. Things falling apart, holes in walls and leaking water. Speaking of which the hot water in our rooms ran brown all the time. The only good thing was the shower it was awesome.

Our friends had about $100 stolen from their room. Where was the security when you needed them or did they have the key that let the person in....who knows!

The food was not very good. Found that there was the same stuff most of the time. Breakfast was our stable meal. Can't go wrong with eggs. We all four of ended up really sick and I mean sick. Couldn't get out of bed for two days. I have been home for 6 weeks now and I still am not back to par.

The grounds of the Dunes are beautiful. They really do take care in this. The flowers and the fountains are well taken care of. We found some of the people friendly but for the most part the employees were too busy talking or texting on their phones to take the time to help you out. Didn't see much of the entertainment crew around the pool. Not much activity as far as we were concerned and we spend quite a bit of time around the pool. Read three books that is how quite it was around there.

Would I return or recommend this resort to anyone....not in this lifetime,

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cam4bam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pedro Gonzales
1.5 km away
Hesperia Isla Margarita
Hesperia Isla Margarita
#5 of 89 in Margarita Island
1,513 reviews
7.2 km away
Agua Dorada Beach Hotel by LIDOTEL
10.0 km away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#14 of 89 in Margarita Island
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 km away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#1 of 12 in El Yaque
220 reviews
19.1 km away
Unik Hotel Margarita
Unik Hotel Margarita
#2 of 8 in Pampatar
159 reviews
13.7 km away
Maloka Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Calle Campo Elias | Sector El Pueblito, Pedro Gonzales, Margarita Island 2000, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Pedro Gonzales
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pedro Gonzales
Price Range: ₹ 3,884 - ₹ 9,645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 578
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Hotel And Beach Resort
Dunes Hotel Margarita
Dunes Resort All Inclusive Beach
Dunes Beach Resort
Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort Margarita Island, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing