We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly Good, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tyrrelstown
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed for one night, first room had broken heating, staff immediately upgraded us to a bigger room. Had a steak in the restaurant, which was cooked medium rare and perfect. A great deal and very presentable for a suburban hotel. Good security in the car park, super housekeeping manager, staff on the desk were good also. Breakfast normal standard for 4* hotel. Food in restaurant better than expected, restaurant staff OK but could be a little more 4*. Overall a big surprise and better than the Hilton in Dublin for sure. I recommend it as a value hotel in Dublin.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanCurtis_GM, Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Dave D,

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback in relation to your recent stay with us here at The Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to the Hotel and I thank you for your feedback in relation to all aspects of your stay with us. I do hope you have occasion to visit us again soon in the near future, I would be delighted to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely

Declan Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    265
    112
    57
    23
See reviews for
201
222
24
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Hi, Havin just spent a wonderful and relaxing weekend at this hotel all I can say is well worth the money and do give it a try. Well that is if its a peaceful break that you want. Outside the hotel are the 238 and 40d bus. The 40d takes you to and from the city centre and the 238 takes you to blanchardstown shopping centre. The buses are fairly regular and cost 1.40euro each way. The staff at the hotel were nothing short of extremely pleasant and very helpful. They will give you time tables if required for the buses. The hotel was in excellent condition that said it gets its well deserved 4 stars. As it is located on it own you will be guaranteed a good nights sleep. The food and drink in hotel were excellent , main courses were from 10euro upwards and deserts just under 4euro. The presentation of the food was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happygalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback in relation to your recent stay with us here at The Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to the Hotel and I thank you for your feedback in relation to all aspects of your stay with us. I do hope you have occasion to visit us again soon in the near future, I would be delighted to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Declan Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

let’s skip the part where I should explain why I find myself in this remote part of insular europe. i am in a sort of european silicon valley, an artificial suburb of headquarters, tech companies, clusters of houses, small villages, everything modern, neat, roads, cycle lanes, curbs, green, ordered, safe, secure.

let’s talk instead of the Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown formerly known as Park Plaza. This hotel, situated in Tyrrelstown, one of the appendixes of Blanchardstown, is a true outpost of civilisation. It’s at the “finis terrae” of Blanchardstown, the last building before the green void.

The building stands tall on top of a small hill and you can spot it from 2 or perhaps even 3 roundabouts away.

The hotel is good hotel with a good price/quality ratio and in my experience the best prices are those found directly on their website, once you apply the special discounts for longer stays (2, 3 or 4 nights).

The room are of good size and so are the bathrooms, that normally feature a tub and a large shower.

Tea/coffe facility in the room, free wifi, a mini-gymn, a bar and a restaurant.

The building and the furniture is not the newest but very decent and beds are clean and comfortable.

The staff is very professional, very friendly and helpful, always smiling and always available. In the room you get 3 types of power outlet: the british type, but also 1 european and american.

Flat tv, armchairs and a desk complete the room, you also get an ironing table and iron.

The food in the restaurant is ok, but there are no salads in the menu.

The hotel is in a remote location with some shops and restaurant nearby, but here you are not in Dublin per se, but outside, although there is a bus stop outside the hotel with a bus, the 40D that takes you directly to the centre of Dublin proper (although I think it takes a long time). THere is also a bus 238 which takes you to the Blanchardstown shopping mall.

Beware of the bus timetable.

From the airport a taxi will cost anything between 25 and 35 euros depending on traffic and driver. There is a bus from the airport stopping nearby but the service is sporadic and it doesn’t on weekends.

In conclusion, this is a nice hotel but it’s not an hotel for those who want to be in Dublin and live the city. It’s a good hotel for those who have a car or are ok with a long bus trip to the city centre in exchange for being in a quiet and remote area.

The hotel can get very busy with a lot of people and events, I met the Italian Female Rugby National team amongst the other.

You can read other reviews (not only hotels) on my website bennythejudge dot com

Room Tip: I was always on the 1st floor, perhaps because I went for the cheaper rooms anyway they were quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank logube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanCurtis_GM, Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback in relation to your recent stay with us here at The Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to the Hotel and I thank you for your feedback in relation to all aspects of your stay with us. I do hope you have occasion to visit us again soon in the near future, I would be delighted to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely
Declan Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a 2 night break in February 2012, the hotel was very clean and the staff were all very welcoming and pleasant. It is very convenient to shopping centres and a bus stops outside the hotel on a very regular basis. The breakfast was lovely with a great variety, all in all this is a very good hotel, hope to return to it again.

Room Tip: We were in a standard double room which was more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanCurtis_GM, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this review, 3 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to relay your feedback about our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay ay with us here at the Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown. I thank you for your kind comments and I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Yours Sincerely,
Declan Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

i went to the hotel for a seminar on 24th, 25th & 26th Feb - i have to say the hotel and staff were very good, bedrooms were excellent. on the evening of the 24th a group of 6 of us went to have a meal and started with the bar menu - which we found was limited so i went to the resteraunt for a menu at 18.30. I noticed they had a board outside giving special offers for certain meals and there was a T.Bone steak for about €16.00 and i informed the group, in which we all agreed to go to the resteraunt. 5 of us ordered the T.Bone and 1 ordered lamb. The waitress returned 3-4 minutes later saying that they had only 3 T.Bone steaks left which we found very disapointing as it was so early in the evening and felt it was very bad catering management. We agreed and sorted it out who was getting the steaks and the others ordered Rib eye steak. The morning of the 26th i went for breakfast and to my horror i noticed there was no orange juice and was informed that they were out of it.

Room Tip: i got a room facing the front which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mossy087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeclanCurtis_GM, Manager at Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to deliver your feedback about your stay. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your weekend with us here at the Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown. The T- Bones that were on special sold out quickly as they were such great value. With some our specials we can only avail of a limited stock & we had sold quiet a number earlier that same evening. I can also reassure you that there was indeed orange juice on the buffet, there may have been a moment while the stock was being replenished that it was in short supply but this was rectified immediately. Thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Yours Sincerely,
Declan Curtis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tyrrelstown
2.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
7.3 km away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
6.0 km away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
12.1 km away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
6.5 km away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown

Property: Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown
Address: Church Road, Tyrrelstown D15, Ireland (Formerly Park Plaza Tyrrelstown)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Tyrrelstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tyrrelstown
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,214 - ₹ 12,992
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown is located in the heart of Dublin 15, within short distance of the Blanchardstown, Ballycoolin and Damastown corporate parks and in close proximity to the National Aquatic Centre, Blanchardstown Shopping Centre and Fairyhouse Racecourse. Locatred only 10 mins from Dublin Airport and Under 20 Mins from Dublin City Centre, Also close to the M50 for all major routes running to the north, south and west of the country as well as the entire east coast of Ireland, the Carlton Blanchardstown is easily accessible. Furthermore, its close proximity to the capital opens up vibrant opportunities for theatre trips, museums, concerts and the buzzing nightlife for which Dublin is famous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Dublin
Park Plaza Dublin
Dublin Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing