We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be more relaxing”
Review of Vale Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vale Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hensol
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't be more relaxing”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I took my mum to the Vale with my sister this weekend for a spa day as a belated Mother's day present and had the most wonderful day. We arrived promptly at 9.30am to be greeted by very relaxed and helpful staff who seated us in the fab cafe area while we confirmed all our treatments for the day (manicure and facial with complimentary hand and arm massage for myself, while my sister went for the neck and shoulder massage). Enjoyed the morning using their wet facilities from the pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room then after our facials, we relaxed for a few hours in their relaxation suites before savouring every mouthful of our delicious afternoon tea. The only thing missing was a few finger sandwiches which wouldn't have gone a miss - but even so, could not fault the selection of cakes and delights. Really enjoyed our day out and we are already planning our next trip and with all the fabulous offers they currently run, it's great value for money - if only I could afford to go every week!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TawnyOwl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    382
    200
    98
    51
See reviews for
248
467
28
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

In a stunning location with top quality, clean rooms, mostly overlooking the golf course, you can't but like The Vale Hotel. Having stayed at The Vale consistantly over the past seven years, I always return when visiting the Cardiff area. If you want relaxing, the spa complex is a dream. With two golf courses to enjoy, a spa resort with squash/tennis courts, there is always something to do. It's just a taxi ride from historic Cardiff. I love it.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the hotel overlook the golf courses. Consider an upgrade to a deluxe room, its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Having just returned from what must my fifth visit to this excellent venue overall it just gets better. April for many golf courses is a nightmare as they prepare the greens for the coming peak season and if there was a downside to this most recent visit then the greens are guilty.Both courses are challenging ,but with the sun shining what better way is there to spend a couple of days than in some friendly competition.
The rooms are well appointed with oceans of hotwater to ease away the aches and pains.The only down side here were the pillows I had which were poor and a dissapointment given the standard of everything else.
The staff in all areas seem only too eager to please and as small a point as it may seem it is a joy to have a breakfast buffet where the chef is there happy and willing to prepare some fresh fired eggs that are not soaking in greeze.
The value The Vale offers is wonderful ,even in this day and age of bargain golf breaks.Give it a try.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimhutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Myself and 2 colleagues stayed here for 1 night as part of a business trip. Unfortunately, we didn't arrive until about 9:30 p.m. and checked out early the next morning, so we didn't get to see much of the hotel! But what we did see, we were impressed with!

Check in was easy and the staff were friendly. We had a few drinks in the bar, which was very nice and the bar man was friendly & polite.

The room was lovely - very comfortable with everything you would need, quiet, clean, tidy & plenty of space! The bathroom was very nice - big, clean and had a seperate bath and shower, which was a nice touch.

Breakfast was good - the waiter did well as it was very busy!

The hotel is quite a distance from Cardiff, but I can imagine it would be very good for a relaxing golf/spa break.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PookieBear2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
203 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

First of all the hotel is a good bit our from Cardiff and it costs £35 in a cab from the train station! We were there for a wedding. Quick check in, rooms spotless and well organised, nice view of golf course. Fab shower and bed very comfy. Only thing missing is a little fridge!
Hotel public areas well maintained. got room and breakfast for £70 whic we felt was a good deal. Seemed very child and family friendly too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hensol
2.4 km away
Miskin Manor Hotel and Health Club
15.1 km away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,655 reviews
5.5 km away
Premier Inn Llantrisant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
12.9 km away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
6.2 km away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cowbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vale Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vale Resort

Property: Vale Resort
Address: Hensol Park, Hensol CF72 8JY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Vale of Glamorgan > Hensol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hensol
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,297 - ₹ 13,307
Hotel Class:4 star — Vale Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vale Resort is one of Wales' favourite four-star Resorts. Set in over 650 acres of beautiful countryside, the Resort is home to a luxuriously appointed 143 bedroom hotel, Wales' largest spa, two championship golf courses and an award-winning AA rosette restaurant. Leisure facilities are world-class and provide guests with the opportunity to work-out, relax with a swim or join in one of our many fitness classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Vale Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vale Hotel Hensol
Vale Resort Hensol
Vale Of Glamorgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing