We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, stayed an extra night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Horsley Estate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good location, stayed an extra night!”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We'd booked the hotel with their £19 a night offer to visit some family in the area, and obviously for that money, it was a fantastic deal! The location is really nice, not walkable to much, but the country manor setting is picturesque and quiet. The room was fairly basic but clean and tidy and we had no issue with it at all! The toiletries provided we're very nice also...due to the great deal we decided to extend our stay another night so my partner made use of the pool, which she tells me was very good. All in all a great couple of nights, but I've only given it 4 stars because I'm judging it by the price we paid, rather than their full rack rate!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Chris M - many thanks for your great review, much appreciated.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    314
    254
    127
    91
See reviews for
124
466
20
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My partner and I could not fault our stay at Horsley Park. The room was Fantastic the staff wonderfully helpful and the food was amazing.
Every detail of our stay was catered for from the moment we checked in to when we left.
I highly recommend this hotel and I am already looking forward to staying here again in the near future.
Anna Moore (the regional reservations manager) deserves a special mention for her outstanding work. She is a credit to De Vere Venues.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Stefanie J - may thanks for your amazing review; I shall make sure Anna seens this review. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

As above - initially although we informed the hotel that my wife was heavily pregnant they put us in the towers section which doesnt have a lift and has two very steep flights of stairs to get to the room. Also, all the facilities in this totally separate part of the hotel was closed - felt like a ghost town.
Complained to reception who said they couldnt do anything and to try again tomorrow (it was a two night stay).
I then complained to the manager (duty) who did manage to sort it.

Then 9.00pm in bed (have a 5 year old).
Slat missing in the bed which was not comfortable for our little one and the air conditioning kept dripping.
Phoned reception at 9.05pm who said they would send someone - quickly - as I did tell them we had a little one and wanted to get her (and us!) to sleep.
9.38pm phoned back and told them not to bother as the drip had all but stopped and noone had turned up and we were really tired...
9.50pm dripped started again (hard wood floor so you can imagine it was like water torture!)
9.51pm Phoned reception again... Told someone would be right down.
10.10pm Phoned reception to tell them not to bother as noone had arrived and we were really tired ....
10.50pm Dripping recommenced.

Even with towels on the floor it was noisy and offputting and led to a poor nights sleep.

Breakfast in the morning:
Lady seeing guests in was busy on her iphone - We had to wonder around and then asked for tea and coffee (other guests had to do this too - most other hotels they visit your table and ask..)
Food was of a good quality and the pool is very good. As my wife is pregnant she needed an egg well cooked and this took almost 20 minutes as they couldn't find the chef for a little bit.

I am going to see the manager of the hotel today if he/she is in and show them this. I shall update this after our second night.

Thanks
Steve

Room Tip: Avoid the towers if you have children or have a heavily pregnant wife as there are two very steep fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear Steve B
Thank you for your recent review. I apologise and am equally unhappy with the service you have received at Horsley Park. Please contact me at the hotel as I would be keen to discuss this with you.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Horsley hotels

Kent
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Before setting off for the hotel for a Sunday night stay we thought we'd check the check out times and couldn't find any info on our booking or on the website. We called the hotel who confirmed it was 9am on weekdays, which wasn't ideal for our plans for a leisure stay! However, the lady we spoke to (Lorraine) was accommodating and it was agreed we could stay till 10am without the extra charge. On arrival, we were greeted by another helpful member of staff (Holly) who was the perfect professional; friendly and attentive. We mentioned that we had seen feedback about some rooms being more modern than others and asked if there was a possibility of a modern room she kindly moved us. We were really impressed with her and all the staff's attitude and willingness to serve.

The room was nice; modern though a little rough around the edges. It was all clean enough though the bathroom could do with a more thorough clean (tiles, grouting), to make it that bit better IMO.

The swimming pool is lovely though the changing rooms are tiny! I felt claustrophobic when there was one more person in there, at one point there was six people and it wasn't ideal. I had an early morning swim the next day which meant it was quieter.

We were really impressed with the complimentary hot drinks / biscuits / apples and even porridge in the morning - its a nice touch. The grounds are beautiful too.

We paid 39 pounds for our room and for that price give it 5/5: great value. A few niggles as I mentioned, but all in all a great place to stay, made even better by the customer service - it is really nice to be treated as a valued customer.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentcouple66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 7 August 2012
Dear kentcouple66
many thanks for a great review; delighted you enjoyed your time with us.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Having stayed at other hotels in southern England within this group, I decided to give the Horsley Park a try.

Stayed for two nights. First night, first room: On first floor, and obviously accommodation for the extensive conference and function facilities. Room was very small, bed was small. Perhaps ok for a single traveller for a single night, but for a couple staying more than a single night it would be very claustrophobic. Bathroom was shower only and grouting at lower level high discoloured making it look dirty. Main window did not open, and no air-conditioning, which in July was like sleeping in a sauna. Despite going out at 09:00 and not returning until 13:00 the following day, room had not been serviced. Overall, very unimpressed.

Asked at Reception following return at 13:00 if there was any alternative rooms available and was moved to the other side of the hotel into an air conditioned room. This was effectively like being in a different hotel. Nicer public spaces, a much larger room, although bed still small, bigger bathroom with bath, and grouting not discoloured. Air-conditioning was provided, but didn’t work, just made a buzzing noise that grew louder and louder.

Changed room again around midnight to a similar room with functioning and non-buzzing air-conditioning!

Due to rural location, some mobile telephone networks not available and hotel's internet connection, despite being free, was non-existent or not working.

Extensive bars and restaurant facilities but did not use any so cannot provide objective comment.

A busy facility, but with heavy doors and thin walls, so every "coming and going" of the adjacent room occupants could be heard. Felt like a cheap southern Italian hotel from that perspective!

I so wanted to like this hotel, but would not stay here again, The rooms in a Premier Inn offer the same level of accommodation but without the pretence of being something that it clearly is not. Yes, the public spaces at Horsley Park are nicely done, but you don't sleep in them, and that is what most people come to a hotel for. Accomodation here seems to in second place to the conferencing facilities. Leisure facilities are average.
Have rated this as "average," but could easily have said "poor," but it has the potential to be so much better and on a good day it might well be so. Only up-side, the staff were all very helpful, but why did I have to complain before getting any kind of service, as don't like or want to do this.

Room Tip: As for a room that has a number of 700 or more, as these are the slightly better, larger, air-condit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEM67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M, General Manager at De Vere Horsley Estate, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear PEM67
Thank you for your recent review and constructive comments. Albeit that we are inherently a conference venue we do recognise the differences in standards between our rooms; and offer upgrades accordingly. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our Management Centre bedrooms which will bring the decor and amenities to the same level as the Court area.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Horsley
6.4 km away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
138 reviews
0.5 km away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
557 reviews
7.6 km away
Hilton Cobham
Hilton Cobham
#3 of 4 in Cobham
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
10.2 km away
Guildford Harbour Hotel
Guildford Harbour Hotel
#5 of 11 in Guildford
1,911 reviews
10.2 km away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Horsley Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Horsley Estate

Property: De Vere Horsley Estate
Address: Ockham Road South, East Horsley KT24 6DT, England (Formerly De Vere Horsley Park)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > East Horsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Horsley
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,680 - ₹ 11,172
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Horsley Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At De Vere Horsley Estate, you're spoilt for choice. Luxuriate in the grandeur of this 1828 Victorian mansion, set in 70 acres of stunning parkland. Find everything you need for business, training and conferences at Horsley Management Centre. Marvel at the magnificent views over the surrounding countryside. It's a perfect base to enjoy a walk in the pure country air or venture further afield to one of the many historic or sporting attractions in the vicinity. Be sure to get your stay off to a good start: make the most of our tranquil indoor pool and mini-gym or, if you're feeling more adventurous, play 5-a-side football, croquet or volley ball. Finish your evenings with a relaxing drink in the bar and delicious meal in our award-winning, Steam Bake & Grill restaurant. Located in Surrey, it is easily accessible from the M25 and equidistant from Heathrow and Gatwick airports ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Horsley Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horsley Park Hotel East Horsley
Horsley Park Surrey
Horsley Park Hotel Surrey
De Vere Horsley Estate East Horsley, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing