We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly”
Review of The Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Thorpeness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Spent a couple of nights here recently for a wedding happening nearby. Staff were welcoming and friendly, the Inn itself is clean and well appointed, the rooms were lovely, light and airy and the food was excellent. Overall a very very pleasant stay in a lovely little Inn.

Room Tip: Only three rooms, all facing the same way with pretty much the same pretty view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for The Dolphin Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 217 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

We'd been to The Dolphin four years ago and my husband wanted to go back for his birthday. It was just as good as we remembered. We stayed for four nights. Staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble. Food superb so we overate at dinner, but was able to order a simple croissant in the morning instead of full English breakfast. I would also recommend the locally distilled gin. It was raining when we left and this made it easier to go. Would recommend and would also return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed B&B at the Dolphin Inn over the Easter holiday and could not fault it. The landlord, David was welcoming and the room was very pleasant - warm, clean, a good size and had all the expected facilities. It is well located to access the Meare, the Golf Club and the beach. The cooked breakfasts were of excellent quality and quantity. There was not the option of a continental type breakfast, but this is not surprising given that there are only a small number of bedrooms. All the staff were friendly and sociable and nothing was too much trouble.Overall we were made to feel really welcome. We will be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Islander020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My husband and I decided to eat out for a change - upon arriving we were warmly greeted and shown to our table.
The menu was ample and we were recommended to have the pate, which I was certainly not disappointed
Having the skate as my main course was certainly a good choice and is was no trouble for the waitress to change my accompaniments to fine beans rather than sprouting broccoli. I was talked into their version of lemon meringue pie which was different but I have to say thoroughly enjoyable whilst my husband had the apple crumble which he described ' as good as my mum would have made'
I will be recommending this place to all my friends

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hardasnails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

From start to finish we enjoyed our time at the Dolphin Inn, excellent service, accommodation and food. Will be sure to return.

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linsi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpeness
0.6 km away
Thorpeness Golf Club & Hotel
3.0 km away
Wentworth Hotel
Wentworth Hotel
#1 of 4 in Aldeburgh
670 reviews
3.1 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#3 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
1,036 reviews
10.7 km away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
727 reviews
11.3 km away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Inn

Address: Old Homes Road, Thorpeness IP16 4FE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Thorpeness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Thorpeness
Price Range: ₹ 7,805 - ₹ 11,482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dolphin Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the unique seaside village of Thorpeness, the Dolphin Inn, a free house, has placed itself in the heart of the community. A short stroll takes you to miles of unspoilt Suffolk heritage coastline and we are a short distance from Minsmeare, a birding paradise hosting some of our rarest wildlife. The Dolphin has three well appointed four star bedrooms, a fantastic restaurant with an enthusiastic chef, a bar that dispensers a large variety of whiskeys, ales, has a superb wine list and boasts a large beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Hotel Thorpeness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing