We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely House and owners”
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Pool table from bar area Downstairs lounge with wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Pool table from bar area
Downstairs lounge with wood burner
Upstairs open plan living
Upstairs lounge with balcony
sunset from balcony
Twin single room
spacious balcony
Private secluded garden to enjoy
beautiful field views over farm land
private enclosed garden
south facing private gardens
watch the sun drop from the private balcony
dining to seat 10
covered out door hot tub
large bedrooms with en suites
tastefully decorated
sit under the shade of the walnut tree and relax
beautiful sunsets from balcony
open all year round
large bright rooms
large wide corridors
tastefully decorated
large spacious bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oulton Broad, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
travelasl...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Lovely House and owners”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in September 2013

We are a group of women who like to have a weekend away at least once a year. We have stayed at Walnut House twice and only wish we could have booked again this year but as one of our party got married we had a hen weekend in Brighton instead.
The house is very well equiped and ideal either for friends or families. We enjoy the use of the pool and hot tub and have used the field for golf practice.
There is a nice pub/restaurant down the road within walking distance, the only drawback is that it's a busy road and there is no footpath.
Mr and Mrs French live next door to Walnut House so are on hand should you need them, they also kindly provide fresh eggs from their hens. I would stay here again and I know that the rest of the 'girls' feel the same

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: no footpath to the pub
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerard R
Upwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best house we've stayed at in UK”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Despite fairly poor weather this was still an enjoyable holiday simply because the house had everything we could possibly want for a family group including grandparents to grandchildren. What made it even better was it was all so well laid out with a first floor lounge diner overlooking open fields with a sun deck to use as well. A great pool and hot tub plus a games room meant we had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the layout and elevated sundeck
Liked least: wi fi could have been better
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa C
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“House was amazing!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Stayed here with my immediate family (mixed group of ages and had 2 infants in the party).

We all had a wonderful time, the house was perfect for us and we made full use of everything available to us.

Chris and Wendy were there to welcome us and gave us a talk/walk through the house - which was great.

Only bad point I would say if that the cleaners arrived quite early on our last day and made us feel a bit flustered and rushed.

But other than that - there was nothing bad!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the hot tub, the size of the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purple35
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just returned from our first stay at walnut house and we had such a lovely time we didn't want to leave! Chris and Wendy were so welcoming and friendly throughout and left a lovely welcome pack on the first day (thank you). The house is absolutely perfect and has plenty of things to keep you busy including a swimming pool (which was lovely and warm thank you!), hot tub, pool table, trampoline, table tennis, darts and a big field to play games in. Not only was there plenty to do but the house was also lovely and clean and with nice decor. We were lucky enough to have sunny weather so we made the most of the lovely garden, balcony and also the BBQ! It is in a great location near to a nice beach and pub, a big tesco and plenty of other day trips nearby. We would definitely recommend walnut house to others and are hoping to book up a week for next year soon :) we look forward to returning, thanks again Wendy and Chris!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandrah_1...
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous place for children and families”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Positives
• The house was very clean and modern
• It was well equipped and had great facilities with the pool and games room etc.... great for kids and adults alike. There is also a field to play games on which the kids loved (and a trampoline).
• The owners were very welcoming and gave Elaine the bottle of champagne for her birthday – fresh eggs from chickens were great
• The configuration of the rooms was perfect for a family stay with children

Not as positive
• Very close proximity to the owners (who are very nice) means that there is not enough separation between their domestic arrangements and the holiday rental. You don’t feel like you are left to autonomously get on with your holiday
• BBQ would have been better upstairs and the garden furniture was not clean enough to sit on, so no-one sat outside for the BBQ
• Unusual for a house to have so many potential hazards in the form of breakages and to have fragile ornaments about for example a very expensive amethyst stone on a coffee table, when the house is very suitable for children staying with the facilities they have.
• On the last day of your holiday the departure time is 10:00 am - the cleaners were in the house at 9:15 which made us all feel uncomfortable - some guests were still getting dressed upstairs - we had family/friends staying over in the hotel opposite the house who came back over at 9 am for a cup of tea and to say their goodbyes to us. This didn't happen as we felt we had to get out of the house quickly

Overall
• Very good facilities and the whole family loved it. Could have done with a bit more separation between the owners and the rented accommodation. It has more of a bed and & breakfast feel than a standalone rental property

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the facilities games room, pool table - table tennis table - spa - ease of use - and very fresh chickens eggs
Liked least: wifi access was pretty useless
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing