We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome”
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Pool table from bar area Downstairs lounge with wood burner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Private Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Pool table from bar area
Downstairs lounge with wood burner
Upstairs open plan living
Upstairs lounge with balcony
sunset from balcony
Twin single room
spacious balcony
Private secluded garden to enjoy
beautiful field views over farm land
private enclosed garden
south facing private gardens
watch the sun drop from the private balcony
dining to seat 10
covered out door hot tub
large bedrooms with en suites
tastefully decorated
sit under the shade of the walnut tree and relax
beautiful sunsets from balcony
open all year round
large bright rooms
large wide corridors
tastefully decorated
large spacious bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Oulton Broad, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A H
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed at Walnut House after a particularly hard year - it was just what the Doctor ordered!
Everything was perfect. We'd picked it, because we needed somewhere that was big enough to stay in for a week, without getting bored!
Wendy and Chris were fantastic hosts and nothing was too much trouble.
We went with two children, one of whom was a powered chair user, my wife and I and my mother in law. There was plenty of space and fantastic facilities.
And attention to detail was amazing - everything was thought of - from a nice bottle of fizz on arrival, to a plentiful wood store for the roaring log fire - from fresh free range eggs to a massive jacuzzi.
Walnut House is perfect and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tina2312
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Looking to go back! Still talking about our stay one year on!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 for a stay in March 2013

I stayed with my friends for my 40th birthday. Wendy and Chris the hosts could not have done more for us, always on hand. The cleanliness of the house was second to none and there was even welcome pack of food when we arrived! Really can't fault our stay. Highly recommended .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R0bbie78
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended 5 Bedroom House”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

So many positive reviews for Chris and Wendy and their fabulous Walnut House and I endorse them all!

They are a lovely couple who welcome you so warmly to the house and show you round, pointing out the many features with obvious pride. Their Gold Award confirms the outstanding effort they put in to presenting this property.You will find it hard to find something better!

Our use of the house involved my immediate family, 9 adults and 2 new grandchildren for our annual post Christmas get together. For this weekend we are only concerned with spending time together, cooking, eating,drinking, playing and relaxing and for this Walnut House was perfect.

To make use of the fabulous facilities I devised several competitions involving Pool, The Swimming pool, Quizzes etc all to be completed during the course of the weekend with individual trophies and an overall Winners Trophy .Walnut House was perfect for this.

We made full use of the 2 immaculately presented and equipped kitchens, cooking lasagna and salad Friday night, a BBQ Saturday night and a lovely Sunday lunch of roast lamb with all the trimmings. To have the space for all the family to eat together in such comfortable surroundings is a real pleasure.

And so to bed, to the individually styled, 4 en- suite bedrooms and 1 next to the family bathroom. Once again, large comfortable, warm and oozing style. Views from the bedrooms and outside Balcony are stunning.

Chris & Wendy French have put so much effort into this house, so that we can enjoy a taste of luxury......and it works! Thank you both very much.
Highly Recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Size and luxury of Walnut House
Liked least: there is nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma J
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable weekend”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have just returned from an excellent stay at Walnut House. The facilities are excellent and the hosts very welcoming and friendly. We were a family group including grandparents and teenagers and all enjoyed their stay as there was plenty of room to not be on top of one another yet at meal times we could all sit together comfortably. The layout of the property worked well for us with the younger members of the group favouring the pool, hot tub and pool table area.

We would definitely return - it's just finding an available slot that may be the problem!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Heated pool
Liked least: Limited internet access.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiketheTr...
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a perfect place to spend a week with friends!”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Our party of eight 60+ year-olds has just returned from a week at this lovely property situated in a rural part of Oulton, near to Lowestoft, Suffolk. Our original contact with the owners Chris and Wendy FRench was very positive after our original bookong throuh Hoseasons was cancelled. Good contact was maintained throughout the booking process and all our questions regarding the house facilities etc answered and we were texted on the day of our arrival to advise that early access was available. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted (in poor weather conditions) and given a tour of this substantial property before we unloaded our vehicles (the disabled lift was a great help with getting our luggage up to the first-floor bedrooms).

The property has secure parking behind electronically-operated gates whilst the ground floor consists of a kitchen, large 10-metre swimming pool (it's 4 feet deep) with changing rooms attached and a huge lounge containing the pool table, large television (with Sky and DVD), comfortable sofas and a small bar area. This is where we spent most of our time in the house. Upstairs, there are five bedrooms (four with en-suites), plus a separate bathroom (with bath), being a mixture of doubles and twins. Also upstairs is another lounge (with television) combined with the main kitchen area with seating for ten around a substantial table. Outside on the first floor was a south and west-facing decking area (we didn't use this in January, but it would be great for 'Sundowners' in the summer months), whilst on the ground floor was the hot-tub, table tennis table and fenced lawn / garden area. A barbeque is also available to use.

Away fro the property, there is a nice local pub called the Blue Boar that is situated approximately half a mile away and where we tucked into some quality pub fayre one evening during our stay. The distance is not a problem, but the road outside the house is de-restrcted (60 mph) and no pavement exists for the majority of the way to the pub, so two of our party drove there and back, playing catch-up with the others once we were back at the bar in the house!

As a group we like to walk and explore the local area during the day. Although situated right next to the southern Broads, because of the extreme wet weather prior to our trip, we chose to stay away from the riverbanks. Instead we did some coastal walking around Dunwich Heath, around the delighful town of Southwold (a 25-minute drive), a long walk along Lowestoft promenade and a circular walk around the ancient town of Bungay. Another time we took our portable BBQ down to the excellent beach at Gorleston where we enjoyed sausages and a glass or two of fizz. The only disappointing trip was our visit to Great Yarmouth which we found quite a dreary, depressing place (not helped by the poor weather that day) which caused us to abandon our proposed trip up to Horsey to check out the baby seals which usually inhabit the sand dunes at this time of year.

Walnut House has a thoroughly-deserved Gold Award from Visit Britain and any criticismwould be churlish on our part as it is certainly the best-appointed property we have ever had the pleasure to stay in during our many years of going away as a group over the New Year / early January period and we will definitely be going back at some point as the facilities were just spot-on for our requirements. We did make suggestions regarding the chandelier over the dining table, hanging hooks in the bedrooms and a possible boot / wet coat area, but these small niggles were more than offset by some of the nice touches like the owners giving us the eggs from the chickens, use of the (nearly full) optics by the bar and a magnum of champagne when the hot-tub broke down. We did think the maids were in a bit sharpish at 9.20am when we didn't have to leave until ten!

To sum up - thank you Chris and Wendy French for making our week in Suffolk so enjoyable!! We have already recommended this property to friends and work colleagues.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The downstairs lounge with its bar, pool table, Sky television and comfortable seating AND the pool
Liked least: Nothing of note!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing