We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
67
22
16
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
22
16
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding breakfast wedding venue daughters wedding evening guests overnight accommodation perfect venue guest rooms four poster bed stately home bedroom disco
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016

06.08.16 - Our daughters wedding day
There really is nothing not to like about this amazing wedding venue. Phillipa and all the Somerford staff are 'SIMPLY THE BEST'.
From the pre-wedding visits nothing was too much trouble and everything asked was accommodated for. Phillipa was in total control of the day (in a very good way) which is perfect for the happy couple.
The wedding breakfast food was lovely and because of our fabulous weather the evening BBQ on the patio was 1st class.
We were given a 'wedding bible' after booking Somerford which does literally give you chapter and verse on how to plan your wedding and also a list of people who are 'friends' of Somerford. We are so glad that we booked 'Ben Fones' the photographer he made the wedding party, family and friends feel totally relaxed from beginning to end. He has in Somerford the best location and surroundings for photographs which we cannot wait to see.
From the Somerford wedding fayre we met Nick Whiley who we booked and who was a star all day playing in the background and taking requests of which I don't think there is anything he cannot play...superb.
We also picked 'RG Promotions' (DJ) which he was on the ball asking for a pre-choice of songs and then was more than happy to play requested music on the evening.
We have had numerous texts from family and friends saying how fabulous the wedding day and night was and what an amazing venue.
All in all it was the best day so THANK YOU SOMERFORD HALL, PHILLIPA and STAFF from the very proud parents of the new Mr & Mrs Ratcliffe

Room Tip: Probably not great if you have difficulty climbing stairs
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank alisonbrookes2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We attended a family wedding here last weekend. The mansion house and grounds are lovely. The staff here were amazing, and assisted with everything that was requested of them. The food was excellent and the whole experience was amazing. It was a truly wonderful wedding which went off perfectly. We left at 1:00am to return to the hotel we were staying at locally.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Kozwotsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Somerford Hall is a delightful Georgian mansion house, situated in a beautiful setting surrounded by landscaped gardens and countryside. It is situated near Brewood, off Four Ashes Road, in beautiful South Staffordshire countryside.
As wedding guests, we stayed in the Coach House which was comfortable, roomy and very clean and quiet. The ceremony room was lovely, as were some of the beautiful rooms we used. We had a three course sit-down meal which was very good served by polite and professional staff. The breakfast the following morning was also very good with plentiful supplies of everything from fruit, yogurt, cereal to the full English breakfast. Staff were very warm and friendly. You can also book a pre-wedding day "pamper" to include nails etc. There is also a hairdresser available.
We had a delightful stay and would certainly recommend the venue.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Coach House are separate from the main building and upstairs, so not suitable for those with limited mobility.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

We booked our wedding in January 2015 and from the first day the staff have been incredible! Phillipa and Amy have done a fantastic job in the lead up to the big day (28/03/16) and pulled out all of the stops on the day itself to make it 100% perfect! Along with their equally amazing colleague Jenny everything was exactly as I had wanted and everything ran very smoothly. The venue itself is a stunning mansion with beautiful interiors, perfect for my pastel themed wedding! Myself, my husband and family had tons of compliments on the venue and the staff and all of the guests enjoyed themselves! We stayed in the bridal cottage the night before, which was perfect and very handy to get ready in the on site salon on the actual day. The rooms are very spacious and clean, the bridal suite was amazing and to finish it all off nicely the buffet breakfast the next morning was just what everyone needed! I am very sad my day is now over but it will not stop me returning to this beautiful hidden gem again soon! Wishing all of the staff well and again a massive thank you for all of their hard work x

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
5  Thank vx26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

Had my wedding here on Easter Monday 2016 and had an absolutely amazing time. I cannot speak highly enough of all the staff at this venue. They have helped in every way possible and made our special day extra special. Extra special mention to Phillipa for her tireless work and organizing. One amazing person! (With a very loud voice)
The venue is absolutely stunning with gorgeous classic features and well kept rooms. The bridal suit was excellent and the food delicious. A big 10/10 to everyone here. I cannot thankyou enough.
Jacob and Victoria Prowse.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Jacob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews