We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price!”
Review of Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Brewood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We stayed on a Sunday and only paid £30. I had noticed that these rooms regularly go for £90 and there is no way they are worth that. We struggled to find parking when we arrived and ended up in a car park down the road. The room was nice with beams in the ceiling. We had planned to have a drink and watch Netflix in the room, but this wasn’t possible due to the poor Wi-fi. We asked at reception about this and was told ‘it’s a bit hit and miss’, which didn’t help us. The toilet seat was twisted to one side, so you could sit down and close the door. The door was also see through? So we had a lovely site of each other pushed up against a door. There was also only 1 towel in the room and we had both showered before we noticed, so we had to share.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight as part of our wedding anniversary celebrations, coupled with a meal in the restaurant (separate review) although the Lion building dates back many years, and the corridors and stairway reflect this, the room are recently redecorated to a high standard, and have all the facilities offered by high end establishments. Staff excellent. Well recommended

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PKH624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Booked this last minute was expecting a pub setting with pub grub and somewhere to lay our heads for one night.
Wow where we surprised when we got there. The place is spotless, looks like it had only just been refurbished, but that happened approx 14 months ago, still looks new.
The room we had was at the top of the hotel and had wooden beams which was very nice. The bathroom was lovely and looked brand new.
But the greatest thing about this place is the food! We went down for dinner and this was far from pub grub, this was a tantalising tastebud extravaganza. Everything freshly made, no heated up frozen monstrousity here. I had a beetroot, goats cheese and small bits of blood orange jelly as a starter, it was exquisite. My husband had the Steak for main course and said it was the most tender, tasty steak he had ever eaten. Breakfast the next morning was lovely too. We will definitely be back, what a fabulous find!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J9040263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We had a lovely weekend staying at the Lion Hote. Staff were all extremely friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. The food was fabulous. Couldn't fault our stay. We would highly recommend this hotel. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Room was lovely, the ataff were even better!

Booked last minute as a birthday treat for my fella and were not disappointed, hotel was fab, breakfast was ace, and the barmaid Jen was lovely and even gave us a bag of ice to take to the room with us!...top bird. Nothing was too much trouble for Di the night manager too and we look forward to our next stay☺

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion Hotel

Address: Market Place, Brewood ST19 9BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Brewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brewood
Price Range: ₹ 4,420 - ₹ 8,480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lion Hotel, built in the 18th century, was originally two establishments, namely The Giffard Arms and The Red Lion. They continued to have two different proprietors until 1850, when The Giffard Arms and The Red Lion was under a single proprietor and was presumably combined into one establishment. The name seems to have been shortened to The Lion by 1867.It was in The Red Lion that the Hon. John Byng was "put into a white-washed room, and got a miserable, neither hot - nor cold dinner" in 1792.The Giffard Arms was used as a magistrates court and the Magistrates and prisoners would enter by the now blocked off door on the far right of the building.In 1870 and for many years there were many different licensees for The Lion, including E. Bagnall and A. Bourne, and in 1937 the licensee was a Mrs Anne Ball. The combined premises subsequently had a spell as a "posh" Three Star Hotel (AA & RAC).A magnificent staircase was removed from the interior of The Giffard Arms in 1970.At present, The Lion Hotel is a Grade 11 listed building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing