We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
96
49
31
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
49
31
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel is conveniently situatedbusy restaurantexposed beamspub settinggrade iibeautiful villageexcellent hoteltop floornext morningfull englishstayed here for one nightmodern hotelcouple of nightslovely roomnight's sleepcooked breakfastbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight as part of our wedding anniversary celebrations, coupled with a meal in the restaurant (separate review) although the Lion building dates back many years, and the corridors and stairway reflect this, the room are recently redecorated to a high standard, and have all the facilities offered by high end establishments. Staff excellent. Well recommended

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank PKH624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Booked this last minute was expecting a pub setting with pub grub and somewhere to lay our heads for one night.
Wow where we surprised when we got there. The place is spotless, looks like it had only just been refurbished, but that happened approx 14 months ago, still looks new.
The room we had was at the top of the hotel and had wooden beams which was very nice. The bathroom was lovely and looked brand new.
But the greatest thing about this place is the food! We went down for dinner and this was far from pub grub, this was a tantalising tastebud extravaganza. Everything freshly made, no heated up frozen monstrousity here. I had a beetroot, goats cheese and small bits of blood orange jelly as a starter, it was exquisite. My husband had the Steak for main course and said it was the most tender, tasty steak he had ever eaten. Breakfast the next morning was lovely too. We will definitely be back, what a fabulous find!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J9040263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We had a lovely weekend staying at the Lion Hote. Staff were all extremely friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was clean and comfortable. The food was fabulous. Couldn't fault our stay. We would highly recommend this hotel. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Room was lovely, the ataff were even better!

Booked last minute as a birthday treat for my fella and were not disappointed, hotel was fab, breakfast was ace, and the barmaid Jen was lovely and even gave us a bag of ice to take to the room with us!...top bird. Nothing was too much trouble for Di the night manager too and we look forward to our next stay☺

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Voyage557772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We're just back from an overnight stay at the Lion while we attended the V Festival. Hotel was spotless. set in an 18th century (I think?!) building the rooms had some period features but were all modern, classy & clean. The food was just gorgeous. The rhubarb gin was amaaaaaazing! The staff without exception were all fantastic particularly Mary the manager. We'll definitely be going back and would highly recommend it to anyone else. Just brilliant.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews