We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
102
50
31
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
50
31
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews booked last minute next morning excellent hotel stayed here for one night full english comfy bed staffordshire pubs
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

This is a well renovated village hotel with modern well appointed rooms and a contemporary grill and restaurant. What should have been a pleasant business stay was spoiled by a few small but significant issues. My room was at the top of the hotel up some very narrow and steep stairs. These were not an issue to me but for anybody less mobile or with a big suitcase they could be a problem. In the room the toilet seat was broken and the shower tray did not drain. The bigger issue was the very poor wifi signal. I had to go to another pub in the evening just to catch up with e mails! My final issue was the breakfast. It consisted of orange juice, no choice. Coco pops rice crispies or cornflakes and four cooked options. If you want fruit,croissants, bread or muesli for breakfast you will be disappointed. They ask that if you have issues you should speak to the staff. I did but there wasn't very much interest. All in all I think there is better value to be had for the £80 that they charged for a single room

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

The Lion in Brewood is a recently renovated, spotless very old hotel with a staff that strives to be as friendly and helpful as they can. It is located in the very heart of this very charming village. Our room at the very top had exposed rough wooden beams tied together with a wooden peg. A considerable amount of storage space was provided. The bathroom was quite modern. The queen-sized bed was comfortable enough to get a good night's sleep. The towels were enormous. Breakfast, included, was good. But the devil was in the details. To get to the room necessitated navigating several flights of a tight spiral staircase. This necessitated my dragging our 50 lb. suitcase up those steps. The only person available to help with baggage was a slight though plucky young woman. And what if we were handicapped. There was no warning when making reservations. The shower stall drain was very slow, resulting in a near flood while showering. The toilet seat not only was very loose, IT DID NOT FIT THE BOWL, resulting in at least one unfortunate circumstance. The little glass convenience shelf was loosely anchored to the wall resulting in a tilt downward so that things tended to slide off. The maid did not replenish our little bottle of shower gel. The dramatic wooden beam was a dust collector. No USB ports, though numerous electric outlets. Wi-Fi was defective but we were able to fix it from our end. You don't go to a place like the Lion exoecting a Holiday Inn experience. But they could do much better with a little more attention to details.

Room tip: Lower floor
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel
Very friendly staff
Excellent management
Nice atmosphere
Comfortable rooms
Definitely recommended
Beautiful friendly village worth a walk around
Quaint pathways lead to numerous little shops and pubs
Take a trip to canal and have a drink outside whilst basking in the peace and tranquillity of the area

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This was our second stay at the Lion and we have already booked a third! The hotel is conveniently situated for a mid way stop for us between Anglesey and the south of England. Everything at the hotel is good. The bar, restaurant and beer garden are appealing and the staff are extremely pleasant and friendly each and every one of them. We happened to be celebrating our anniversary on our second visit, and when the restaurant staff found out,we were given a card, balloon and a glass of bubbly on the house. What a lovely gesture. We both chose fillet steak to eat and it was absolutely amazing although we did prefer the options on the menu in winter. A few daily specials would be nice too. The rooms are perfectly adequate for a couple of nights stay.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

A really nice Hotel and restrauant , all the rooms look totally refurbished to a high standard.The staff were all very polite and helpful.I had dinner and was served an excellent meal and the next morning a superb breakfast. A good value Hotel producing first class service

Room tip: Anyone that has difficulty with stairs the 1st floor would be best
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews