We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
97
49
31
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
49
31
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel is conveniently situated busy restaurant exposed beams pub setting grade ii beautiful village excellent hotel top floor next morning full english stayed here for one night modern hotel couple of nights lovely room night's sleep cooked breakfast breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel
Very friendly staff
Excellent management
Nice atmosphere
Comfortable rooms
Definitely recommended
Beautiful friendly village worth a walk around
Quaint pathways lead to numerous little shops and pubs
Take a trip to canal and have a drink outside whilst basking in the peace and tranquillity of the area

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This was our second stay at the Lion and we have already booked a third! The hotel is conveniently situated for a mid way stop for us between Anglesey and the south of England. Everything at the hotel is good. The bar, restaurant and beer garden are appealing and the staff are extremely pleasant and friendly each and every one of them. We happened to be celebrating our anniversary on our second visit, and when the restaurant staff found out,we were given a card, balloon and a glass of bubbly on the house. What a lovely gesture. We both chose fillet steak to eat and it was absolutely amazing although we did prefer the options on the menu in winter. A few daily specials would be nice too. The rooms are perfectly adequate for a couple of nights stay.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elfyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

A really nice Hotel and restrauant , all the rooms look totally refurbished to a high standard.The staff were all very polite and helpful.I had dinner and was served an excellent meal and the next morning a superb breakfast. A good value Hotel producing first class service

Room Tip: Anyone that has difficulty with stairs the 1st floor would be best
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Just a one-night stop for us; picked and booked through one of the many hotel websites. Brewood is a bit of a strange place; it is a crossroads of probably Georgian buildings with some modern development around. You would expect it to be on a traditional coaching route, but it is a mile or so away from the nearest main road. The Lion Hotel has about 10 rooms. Our room was small, but comfortable with some exposed beams. It is a very old building, so the stairs are narrow, steep and uneven.
The staff are very friendly - we were greeted on arrival, formalities completed quickly and taken to our room.
We wanted to book a table for dinner - the only choice was at 5:30, whihc they stretched to 6:00pm for us, provided we could clear the table for a 7:30pm booking. It is a very popular restaurant.
There were a couple of issues: First, there is no parking, so if you are lucky, you might be able to grab one of the 2 or 3 spaces outside, otherwise there is a small public car park around 100 yards away, quite roughly surfaced, a little overgrown and litter strewn. Doesn;t fill with confidence if you have an expensive car...
Our bathroom was very small, the door, made of opaque glass was set at an angle, so it was very tight to use the loo with the door closed. We found in the morning that the shower was broken, but just about usable (reported to staff, so hopefully this will be sorted). However, it was so obviously broken (loose connections in the pipework and defective temperature control) that I was surprised it hadn't been noticed and sorted. The ceiling paintwork over the shower was also peeling and unattractive.
Dinner was good, but a little expensive for what it was; breakfast is the usual "full English". Good sausage, rubbery bacon and black pud, limited selection of anything else.
Overall, it was an OK stay, but have stayed in better "bijou" hotels. Probably wouldn't go back

Room Tip: Back rooms overlook a courtyard used as a bar; front rooms overlook a road, but probably not that busy
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Stayed in a superior room on the top floor; evidently an old building (Grade II I believe) tastefully modernised and furnished. Bathroom evidently newish with everything working and very clean. Room (ceiling opened up to the eaves) - and comfortable bed - both well-proportioned.

Dinner very good as was breakfast. Service efficient and friendly throughout despite Saturday night clearly being very popular - and for good reason.

It's evident that someone has put considerable thought and expenditure into the look and feel of the hotel and restaurant, and it really shows (complacent hoteliers in Ludlow take note of how it should be done).

All in all, it made for a relaxing, albeit brief, stay in the centre of Brewood - a far more pleasant rural village alternative to staying in Lichfield (our destination) on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anr12017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews