We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveller rating
97
49
31
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
49
31
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel is conveniently situated busy restaurant exposed beams pub setting grade ii beautiful village excellent hotel top floor next morning full english stayed here for one night modern hotel couple of nights lovely room night's sleep cooked breakfast breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 198 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Just a one-night stop for us; picked and booked through one of the many hotel websites. Brewood is a bit of a strange place; it is a crossroads of probably Georgian buildings with some modern development around. You would expect it to be on a traditional coaching route, but it is a mile or so away from the nearest main road. The Lion Hotel has about 10 rooms. Our room was small, but comfortable with some exposed beams. It is a very old building, so the stairs are narrow, steep and uneven.
The staff are very friendly - we were greeted on arrival, formalities completed quickly and taken to our room.
We wanted to book a table for dinner - the only choice was at 5:30, whihc they stretched to 6:00pm for us, provided we could clear the table for a 7:30pm booking. It is a very popular restaurant.
There were a couple of issues: First, there is no parking, so if you are lucky, you might be able to grab one of the 2 or 3 spaces outside, otherwise there is a small public car park around 100 yards away, quite roughly surfaced, a little overgrown and litter strewn. Doesn;t fill with confidence if you have an expensive car...
Our bathroom was very small, the door, made of opaque glass was set at an angle, so it was very tight to use the loo with the door closed. We found in the morning that the shower was broken, but just about usable (reported to staff, so hopefully this will be sorted). However, it was so obviously broken (loose connections in the pipework and defective temperature control) that I was surprised it hadn't been noticed and sorted. The ceiling paintwork over the shower was also peeling and unattractive.
Dinner was good, but a little expensive for what it was; breakfast is the usual "full English". Good sausage, rubbery bacon and black pud, limited selection of anything else.
Overall, it was an OK stay, but have stayed in better "bijou" hotels. Probably wouldn't go back

Room Tip: Back rooms overlook a courtyard used as a bar; front rooms overlook a road, but probably not that busy
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Stayed in a superior room on the top floor; evidently an old building (Grade II I believe) tastefully modernised and furnished. Bathroom evidently newish with everything working and very clean. Room (ceiling opened up to the eaves) - and comfortable bed - both well-proportioned.

Dinner very good as was breakfast. Service efficient and friendly throughout despite Saturday night clearly being very popular - and for good reason.

It's evident that someone has put considerable thought and expenditure into the look and feel of the hotel and restaurant, and it really shows (complacent hoteliers in Ludlow take note of how it should be done).

All in all, it made for a relaxing, albeit brief, stay in the centre of Brewood - a far more pleasant rural village alternative to staying in Lichfield (our destination) on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anr12017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Popped in for drinks on Saturday 18th March. No where to sit in bar area so went into the side room. Unfortunately we were asked to go back to bar as tables reserved for eating only. Stood at bar but was then in the way of glass collection ! Shame the staff are only interested in customers wanting to eat as was planning to spend substantial amount on cocktails that evening. In future will support the other village pubs that are much welcoming to those wanting to drink, drink, drink !

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lolabear1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

First like to say about the hotel
On arrival the staff were so welcomming.
Went straight to the bar which had a lovely well kept old peculiar. it was clean and tidy.
Went up to the room, no lifts at this hotel so you have to negotiate the narrow stairs.
The lady who checked us in took us to the room on the top floor.
Lovely spacious room which was very clean and you could tell the cleaner took pride in what they did. Lovely oak beams which were the original beams i think, it gace the room character.
A little later we went down for the evening meal at the staffordshire grill.
My partner and myself had the steak which was cooked to perfection.
The cost of the meal was good as we had a 3 course and wine.
Went back to the room.
Next morning we had a full english included in the price again well presented and loads of it.

This hotel and restaurant is s great gem.

The only downside i found is if you are disabled you will probably have difficulty in climbing the stairs.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AllanP-1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

I'm a regular traveller across the M5 & M6 and found this hotel by chance. The rooms are excellent, and make you feel like you're having a 5 star experience. The food is in a class all of its own....first class gastro pub. The service is brilliant. I didn't have a reservation, but they managed to find me a seat and made it feel like a pleasure even through they were busy. The place was packed for a Tuesday, and on eating here I can see why.

Room Tip: The Penkridge suite was lovely
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ruth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews