We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed 2 extra nights as it was so beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We booked this hotel on a friends recommendation. We needed to be there for an international orienteering event. Our first impressions after a hellish journey, was how very beautiful it was. Yes v old fashioned, but that suited the environs. The staff are so lovely, and very helpful. My mother inlaw had such a beautiful view over the loch, I was initially disappointed that we did not have the same view, but the room was lovely, with bunk beds for the kids, and lots of space. The restaurant for breakfast was really very good, gorgeous presentation of our porridge, which really set us up for running around a mountain all day. The dinner was of a v good quality, but pricey. We ate in the bar the last night, and service by Jose, excellent, but was of a lesser quality than the restaurant. The pool/ gym were very welcome, and although not the most modern of facilities, it was very good. We had a fire alarm evacuation on one of the nights, and when we woke up the next morning there was a letter under our door apologising for the inconvienence.

Room Tip: Ask for the front, but in the extension, to get a quiet room, with a view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 933Jeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,013 - 1,017 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here in the second week of April. lovely location but the hotel is suffering from a feeling of being dated and tired. There is a majority of foreign staff who do their best but service was often poor and tended to ccater more for the time share residents than the hotel residents. Don't bother with the pool. It's also in need of a makeover. Food was mediocre at best and repetitive. Overall nothing was up to this chains usual standards. Won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank1254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We chose this hotel because it stated that pets are welcome and we like to take our dog with us on breaks away! On arrival we were met with a sign on the front door stating - no pets allowed within hotel??? Confusing or what! On checking in we were informed that our dog was only allowed in the bedroom and nowhere else in the hotel. Strange considering the hotel apparently welcomes pets!! Other hotels we have stayed at with our dog at least allows the dogs to sit in the bar where no food is served!

If you are looking for a hotel to stay at with your dog - don't choose this one unless you are happy to leave your dog in the bedroom for the whole time!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Smurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I booked a 2nt DBB break with Loch view. Room was very comfortable - a few things that could be better but it's quite an old building so not unreasonable.
Value for money was good but the rack rates and price of breakfast etc looked expensive but being on DBB that wasn't a problem. What was good was that the included dinner was taken from the a la carte menu with only a few restrictions.
The service was generally good but particular mention is due for the young man who seemed to be the head waiter, at least for the nights we were there. He was the only waiter on the first evening (15th March) and, in my opinion, he got everything right - prompt service, friendly and humorous without being obsequious. On our second night, when my wife was too ill to come to dinner, he was particularly concerned and helpful. (I think his name was Sandor.) An asset to the hotel.
We didn't use the spa but the pool looked OK for a small hotel pool.
General location was good for Loch Rannoch and local walking but is somewhat off the beaten track if you're not there for the walks.

Room Tip: Get a Loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyTraveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We used the bar at this hotel for a meal on 27 March and were disgusted at the standard of service we received. Of the 6 starters on offer, only 3 were available. We were also advised that there were no buns to serve the burgers in. We were a group of 6 and the first people in the bar to place an order, however, 2 other groups of people arrived after us and were served before us. We ended up waiting over an hour for our meal to be served. The drinks order that was taken was also incorrect when delivered. We asked to speak to the Manager but were advised he was on holiday until the following week. The Duty Manager was too busy in the main restaurant to discuss the situation with us and the receptionist suggested we come back the next day to speak to someone, they obviously just wanted to avoid a confrontation and having to deal with the situation at the time.. This is one hotel we will definitely avoid at all cost in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank ChirpyChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinloch Rannoch
0.9 km away
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
Dunalastair Hotel Suites
#1 of 2 in Kinloch Rannoch
211 reviews
29.5 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,877 reviews
39.3 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 km away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
910 reviews
28.7 km away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,634 reviews
28.1 km away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel

Address: Kinloch Rannoch, Kinloch Rannoch PH16 5PS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinloch Rannoch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kinloch Rannoch
Price Range: ₹ 5,342 - ₹ 11,467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the Highlands, the hotel is situated on the north shore above Loch Rannoch and the picturesque village of Kinloch Rannoch with majestic views of the loch and hills that are simply breathtaking. The magnificent setting is the ideal location to enjoy a break away from busy lives or a romantic retreat. Steeped in tradition and rich in heritage, the hotel invites one to step back to a quieter time, while still enjoying the comfort of a superb hotel. Looking for somewhere to enjoy quality Scottish food? There is a fine selection of meals to be enjoyed in The Ptarmigan Restaurant or the Schiehallion Bar. Here at our Loch Rannoch Perthshire hotel we use only the freshest of ingredients to provide fantastic food, expertly prepared, in beautiful surroundings with superb service. And when you need to unwind, our Leisure Club is the ideal way to relax after a long day. Heated swimming pool, steam room, sauna and gym are on offer to relieve stress and leave you feeling refreshed. For the more energetic, Schiehallion - our local Munro - beckons. There are numerous woodland walks nearby too, which are suitable for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel Kinloch Rannoch, Scotland
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Kinloch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing