We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (650)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveller rating
307
178
82
47
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
307
178
82
47
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location travel lodge car park bars and restaurants lots of places to eat sea view pizza express crazy golf sea front family room bus service hungry horse floral pavilion train station first floor short break double room
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 650 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We stayed at our 'home from home' again last night and I was delighted to see the lovely, friendly Barb' on reception. We stay at the Travelodge when visiting an elderly relative and the Travelodge is a very nice base while we are in New Brighton. Barb' should be the 'face of Travelodge' - so welcoming and helpful. We had a great view out to sea this time, a spacious room and everything was spotless.

We usually eat at the Pizza Express but they were busy so we went to Prezzo this time - delicious meal and friendly staff. For breakfast today we went to The Marino Lounge - very cosy on a rainy morning.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Had 3 room moves within the first 24 hours. Limescale covered kettle, iron leaked scalding water, worms/larvae coming up through the shower plug hole and all they did was clean with bathroom cleaner we had to go and buy bleach ourselves and deal with the problem! Fresh wet stain all through mattress. Beds are hard and uncomfortable! Cleaner didn't clean rooms or change bedding even upon request! Manager was extremely rude.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank natalieroberts95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Charley from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Wallasey New Brighton Travelodge.

We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion.

We have passed on your feedback to the hotel. As your experience was not up to our usual high standards, may we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Service team with your review via our website help form to look into this more thoroughly.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

We stayed at this Travelodge, New Brighton, for only one night.

Reading previous reviews, we were aware that a few rooms in this three-storey property fronted Liverpool Bay and we asked for one during check in. Unfortunately, none were available but our room on the 1st floor, did have a partial view of the Bay.

Many reviewers have also referred to how hot rooms can become during the summer. This will inevitably be the case for accommodation facing south and anyone who might find this a problem should ask for a room on the north-facing side. Inevitably this is a problem, not least because of the flat roof. Needless to say there is no air conditioning, however a fan was provided, obviously since the high heat of the summer of 2018. The temperature during our stay was not high, but the room was too hot, exacerbated by the tiny opening of the window to gain fresh air.

It is now several years since we had stayed in a Travelodge. The room was very well laid out, including the wet room (shower, no bath) but it is certainly not generous in terms of space. For an overnight stay the hanging space and dressing table/desk was satisfactory but would be more of a problem for a longer stay.

A feature of all Travelodge hotels is that only one hand towel is provided, despite the room being occupied by two people. However at this location I was informed that the one “hand towel” was in fact a floor mat for use on leaving the shower!

I understand that every company needs to watch costs, but certainly a new feature in this hotel, appears to be to turn off the TV – by switching off the plug situated behind the TV, which is on the wall, to save the TV being left on standby, and thereby saving electricity. When mentioning this on our departure, I was informed that it must have been a previous occupant! Really?

Travelodge only offer 30 minutes free Internet, which is not acceptable in this day and age, and all hotels should not charge for this service.

This Travelodge does provide a kettle and tea and coffee, but no other food apart from a breakfast bag which has to be ordered in advance, and also a coin operated drinks machine in the reception area. However, there is a large Morrisons next door which also has a café which is open for breakfast. There are also numerous cafes/restaurants within the vicinity.

The hotel in general, and our room in particular, was in very good condition and clean and the Reception staff were helpful and friendly.

We would stay here again, but only for a short duration due to the room size, and also dependent on the rate offered.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank masterecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

No frills, good value for money but stay away from the overpriced breakfast box. The hotel does not have a restaurant so the breakfast is box of cornflakes, a muffin, a juice box and a bit of milk. There are plenty of places within a very short walk where you can get a proper breakfast and if you want cornflakes and a muffin you can get them at a fraction of the price in the Morrison's behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Dunia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Disappointing stay on a Saturday night in August. Stayed with a mate, booked a family room but were then given a room with a double bed. Long walk back to reception and sorting out the room seemed to tax the intellect of the receptionist.

Rooms are characterless, with a view out over the complex that reminded me of a Spanish co-operative. Everything very spartan.

There is a car park, but this is used by the staff who work in the neighbouring supermarket and the various eateries nearby. Beware.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank LondonDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Charley from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our Wallasey New Brighton Hotel.

We apologise that you were first assigned a different room type, and we apologise for the service that you received regarding this.

We would also like to apologise for the other issues that you faced during your stay.

Thank you again for submitting this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews