We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just shy of 5 stars”

Hickory's Smokehouse West Kirby
Ranked #9 of 68 Restaurants in West Kirby
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fanatical about flames; silly about smokers and utterly obsessed with the smells, tastes and traditions of the Deep South. Our smokin' hot menu is available all day every day, from smokehouse classics including ribs, Texas style beef brisket, to steak and burgers. Serving breakfast Friday - Sunday and lunch throughout the week and a specially designed kids menu that includes ‘grown-up’ tastes and some fun healthy options, the entire family can experience the flavours of the deep South. Hickory’s comes complete with cinema room for kids (just the little ones!) and a secret garden with a slushy & milkshake bar, Hickory's West Kirby sits in a perfect location, just minutes walk from the fabulous West Kirby beach and Hilbre Island nature reserve.
Reviewed 7 November 2018

If one ignores the slghtly disorganised staff, mainly because they are young (cheap) then the place is rather good, the food is as expected from an american style diner, tasty, hot and well priced in my view, I can't fault them for that however, the overall experience of having to catch servig staff attention for the basics such as knives, forks, drinks, next course, the check etc tainted the overall experience where I hasten to add theu were at less than 50% capacity o a Tuesday evening. But I'll happily and gladly return, it's a smashing place.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iloveabersoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2018

It has been a good few months since we last ate here; mainly because we find the drinks ridiculously expensive for what they are. However, on a sunny Friday lunchtime we decided to give it another try.

After arriving at 2:30pm, it took maybe 10 mins to get someone's attention to bring some menus over. It then took a further 15 mins to flag a waitress down to take our order. This continued throughout. Drinks were forgotten off the order. We had to ask for the table to be wiped down before we ordered. We had to again chase someone down to clear our plates and bring our bill. For a simple lunch, without starters or desserts, we were there about 1.5 hours. Frustratingly slow. One thing you used to be able to bank on at Hickory's was great service - but standards are slipping.

The food, when it came, was very good. Full of flavour and generous portions as always so no complaints there.

The drinks remain prohibitively expensive though - £27.50 for a bottle of prosecco?! I have paid less in central London. £7.50 four a double gin and tonic? £5.00 for a CAN of beer?

Anyone who has been to Hickory's will know that they do very well and are very busy, so prices like this just scream "greedy" to me. There is simply no justification for it in this area.

It's a shame, as the food remains good and the venue and atmosphere are great. But, we won't be returning again for a while.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 327sunnyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Considering we had 20 people they done a good job. Still quite slow and apart from a couple of bad mannered waitresses we had a nice time. Food was very nice too

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank L7008NKphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

Our first visit to this family friendly restaurant and bar. We'd booked a table for Sunday evening, which was a must because it's very popular. The service was friendly, with staff keen to offer recommendations. I tried the Frickles (battered pickles - delicious) for my starter. Others in our party had a Pretzel and Louisiana Chicken Wings and they were very happy with their choices. For my main I had Buttermilk Chicken Waffle. Three mains arrived but there was a long wait for two burgers. Eventually they arrived but the rest of us were nearly finished. However we all enjoyed our food and were happy with what we'd chosen. Three of us ordered desert, and again there were delays because two arrived and the third didn't. Eventually we asked what the hold up was and a manager turned up to tell us that they'd miss-read the order. We pointed out that as everyone had finished we would cancel the order but apparently it was being cooked so they gave them to us for free. We perhaps should have complained about the slow arrival of our main courses too but overall we were happy with the food so didn't make a fuss, and the staff were friendly so it didn't spoil our visit. I would certainly visit again for the food, but would anticipate little hiccups.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Plocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Went here for an 8th birthday with the grandchildren
The lack of mocktails on the menu was no issue as the waiter got one sorted at the bar
Good food with great size portions
Service started to get a little slow after the starters but it was really busy
Superb staff who go above and beyond
The only down side there isn’t enough parking

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Sircharliesmum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hickory's Smokehouse West Kirby also viewed

 
West Kirby, Wirral
 

Been to Hickory's Smokehouse West Kirby? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing