We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, Clean and Good Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minster View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Howden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Minster View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Howden
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable, Clean and Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Comfortable, clean, good value accomodation with a great breakfast and a home cooked 2 course evening meal for just an additional £6. A friendly welcome from hosts, regular guests and locals made my stay a pleasant one. Would have no hesitaion in staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    2
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
2
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

I stayed here whilst doing some work experience at the Press Association (about 2 minutes walk) and had no major problems at all. Ian & Eve are really nice and welcoming and the room gave a beautiful view of the Minster - literally 20 yards walk from the hotel. I had a full English breakfast each morning which was very nice, but they also offered cereals and toast. As nice as the Minster is, the bell ringing soon gets very annoying but that isn't Ian & Eve's fault. If I do more work experience, I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcJobling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

After we checked all the good results for this hotel, we were quite dissappointed with our experience. We stayed in a very large room- I think it is their family room as a couple, but were not too impressed. It was in dire need for renovation and the ensuite was partly unuseable and not inviting at all. Breakfast did not include any fruit or yoghurt. Sorry not good enough for £ 30 per head

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randg12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed at Minster View last night,a very warm welcome from the owners,the room was lovely,spotlessly clean and looked freshly decorated.breakfast was full english and very nice too.will definatly stay here again,a pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vale46WestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed here last summer, and it was the best! As a matter of fact, it was so good, I came back again for even longer! The rooms were freshly redone and had a tea tray all ready for you to enjoy. The free wifi is perfect to keep in touch with family and friends. The pub was everything you could possibly want in a REAL ENGLISH pub... and the food is to die for! Ian and Eve run the hotel and pub, and are the best people you would ever want to stay with. They take you in as family, and can't do enough for you. Ian is the best cook (he won't let you call him a chef... but he IS!) in all of the UK. I visited most of the UK and Ireland and never had a meal equal to his. And Eve is a real sweetheart. She can't do enough for her guests. They really know how to make someone feel welcome. The rooms are spotlessly clean, as is the entire establishment. The bus stop just down the road was great for daytrips, and the train station is a pleasant walk a couple of miles away. Although Ian and Eve probably will not let you walk, unless you insist! The "village" of Howden is what you daydream about spending time in, and the locals are great. And.. of course there is the perfect view of the Minster right across the road! I will absolutely be back as soon as possible!!

Room Tip: Any room you get, you will love!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happy_az_traveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howden
5.6 km away
Premier Inn Goole Hotel
4.9 km away
The Lowther Hotel
The Lowther Hotel
#2 of 3 in Goole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
4.7 km away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#3 of 3 in Goole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Apple Tree Cottages
Apple Tree Cottages
#1 of 1 in Howden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
4.1 km away
The Briarcroft
The Briarcroft
#2 of 10 in Goole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
5.1 km away
Field View B&B
Field View B&B
#1 of 1 in Eastrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minster View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minster View Hotel

Property: Minster View Hotel
Address: 2-3 Corn Market Hill, Howden DN14 7BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Howden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Howden
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing