We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Penny Red

Enjoy the view from The Penny Red
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the view from The Penny Red
Views of the beach and the stunning Cardigan Bay from your own private balcony. Patio doors on to the balcony.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Enjoy the view from The Penny Red
Views of the beach and the stunning Cardigan Bay from your own private balcony.
Patio doors on to the balcony.
Luxurious open plan living space
Luxurious open plan living space.
Luxurious open plan living space.
Luxurious open plan living space.
Spacious sitting and dining area
Well equipped and modern kitchen.
Well equipped and modern kitchen.
Well equipped and modern kitchen.
View across the bay at Aberporth
Master bedroom with luxurious en suite.
Option of twin beds or king size bed
En suite with overhead rain shower.
2nd bedrrom that can setup as king size or two single beds.
Main bathroom with bath and shower.
Views of the beach and Cardigan Bay.
Glass lined balcony with outdoor eating area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Aberporth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lancsgeni...
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a great 6 nights stay in the Penny Red and have felt depressed ever since. Beautiful apartment, best we have stayed in, everything is spotlessly clean with luxury fittings. Lovely views from all the windows and an amazing view from the balcony, great just having a cup of tea dolphin watching ( we even managed to spot one ). The coastal path is just yards away and it is a lovely 20 mins walk to Tresaith Bay. We will definitely visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the balcony
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We're so pleased you had a good stay. I look forward to welcoming you on your return. Sam :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JNS111
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well appointed apartment, Aberporth”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I visited with two friends. The apartment was very well appointed with two bedrooms, and two bath/shower rooms. All mod cons, flat screen TVs and excellent kitchen and sitting area. But the veranda and views over the bay were really outstanding. We were lucky with excellent weather, but it was a joy to watch the sea, and we even caught sight of dolphins in the bay! There are two other similar apartments in the building. The only slight disadvantage with Penny Red is the two flights of stairs needed for access. But provided you are of good mobility this is not a problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bay view
Liked least: Access
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColinLivi...
Wokingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent Location For A Short Stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My wife and I along with two friends spent four nights at The Penny Red in Aberporth. This was our first visit to this part of Wales. The apartment was excellent. Very clean with all that we required and the view of the Bay from our balcony was an outstanding feature. All of the facilities were as described and we have been holidaying together for 10 years and this was one of the very best stays. It is a lovely location with great walks and places to visit and the people are so nice. Can I also mention that if you need a taxi then use, A2 Taxis owned by Gary, a lovely man who could not have been more helpful. Also based in Aberporth - 07795 802082. Would highly recommend.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location of the property
Liked least: The steep stairs to and from the property.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy4819
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Just a few words.

Lovely apartment. Anyone who wants a really nice place to stay can choose any of the 3 apartments available.
Unfortunatly, due to illness, we had to cut short our New Years break. But, for the few days we did manage to
stay, I can only say that it was lovely. Excellent views, lovely clean and comfortable apartment. Everything
you need is at hand. Complimentory bottle of wine and Welsh cakes was a nice touch. Sam greeted us on
arrival and gave us a quick once over, then left us too it. She is on hand for anything you need.

Anyone staying here will NOT be disappointed. Highly recommmended to anyone. But, be aware, for older
persons, the top floor is accessed via metals staircase. It would be wise to use one of the lower
apartments in that case, and if Penny Red is anything to go by, then the other two apartments will be just
as nice ...

Would we book this again... YES ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
Thank you for your review and we hope you are now recovering from your illness. It's lovely to hear you'd recommend our apartments. We hope you'll come back and stay longer when you are fit and well. Best Wishes. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary G
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My husband and daughter have just spent five nights at the penny red, the apartment was fabulous, clean & bright in the most amazing spot. The weather was perfect, wall to wall sunshine each day, none of the coats we took were required! Managed breakfast on the balcony each day,
Within easy reach of the most fabulous beaches, we did Aberystwyth, Newquay - saw lots of dolphins here, Tenby & Mwnt.
The only downside was no 02 reception but not necessarily a bad thing, free wifi in the apartment made up for it.
Sampled two pubs, the chinese and the chip shop, all close by, would thoroughly recommend a stay at the old post office

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: no phone signal
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing