We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good well priced food in pleasant atmosphere”

The John Barleycorn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Duxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The John Barleycorn remains a very traditional English pub, serving some of the best kept ales in the country. It also enjoys an excellent reputation for serving the very best in genuine home prepared and cooked meals. We also provide accommodation for those you would like to rest after a meal.
Hopton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good well priced food in pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Friendly service in a busy pub which was sensibly priced. Tables are set far apart so you can enjoy your own conversation. Would have been excellent other than the fact that the Gents was a bit on the smelly side

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crofts52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    66
    16
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Left hungry and irritated!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were making a journey from Hampshire to Norfolk and this was a convenient stopping point which required a slight detour off the main route, but looked like a nicer idea than a service station. Their website advertises "Food seved: from 12 noon to 9.30pm every day" ... we arrived at 2.35pm to be told that they stop serving at 2.30pm! When we queried this we were told their website says that this is on Sundays only...it definitely doesn't say that and I have checked their website again today and it still says EVERY DAY.
A number of other people turned up while we were there and appeared to have the same problem.
We left very irritated having wasted our time and drove to McDonalds round the corner...not quite what we had planned, but at least we could rely on them being open!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HMRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Popped in for a sandwich, excellent choice, great service. Lovely old pub, nice ambience inside and pleasant outdoor eating area

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Brijan34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good beer, good food”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This is a small but well laid out pub selling good pub food (although the veggie selection is small).

It also has a good selection of ales which change frequently.

This would explain why it is always busy, even early in the week.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank IT_Contractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay and eat!”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at the Pub on a Saturday night and also ate there. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Our meal was quite expensive (£100 for 3 courses and a bottle of wine) but it was really nice. Breakfast was also perfectly cooked and very tasty. Staff all very friendly and polite. We would recommend this pub/restaurant and would stay again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janelizHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The John Barleycorn also viewed

Duxford, Cambridgeshire
Thriplow, Cambridgeshire
 
Whittlesford, Cambridgeshire
Great Chesterford, Saffron Walden
 
Pampisford, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The John Barleycorn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing