We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Keep quiet..this is a gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sandend Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Portsoy, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Graeme R
Dunblane
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep quiet..this is a gem”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Great well equipped cottage, a stones throw from the beach. Has great well equipped outdoor space. Full wifi and comfortable living room to settle down at night and watch tv after a full day outdoors.

If taking pets, has very large utility room with direct access outside great benefit when you bring back wet dogs from the beach...also has hose to wash them down.

Great welcome pack which was appreciated.

Sandend is a great place to holiday and this is a great base to work from...almost too good to tell people about

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Closeness to beach and harbour
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias2...
Windeck, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time in Sandend.There was a nice warm welcome after a long journey. We stayed in this cottage for the second time. One day we saw dolphines in the bay. The cottage is established very well with all you need. Wendy (the owner) is very friendly and helpful, she told us that the northern lights will be there in the night so we can go to the habour and look at them. It was gorgeous. A big thank you for this information. The weather in this week was so good that we used the bench in the lovely garden (with an amazing view) to have a tea. Kind regards from Germany

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Hi Matthias and Birgit, so glad you got to see the Northern Lights! That's made my day! Hope you had a good trip home and hopefully till next time!
Regards
Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elinor B
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Can't recommend this cottage or location highly enough!!”
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Right from the word go we knew this was going to be a memorable destination. As we drove down the narrow road into Sandend the first thing that met our eyes was the beautiful beach with the sun glinting on the sea. When we unlocked the front door and entered the cosy cottage it felt lovely and warm and welcoming due to the very convenient gas heating and then as we surveyed the interior we just felt more and more at home. Comfortable furnishings, homely touches, well equipped kitchen, excellent bathroom with bath and powerful shower. After a comfortable night's sleep we had coffee on the terrace looking out to sea. A brisk walk on the beach with our springer spaniel gave us an appetite for the bacon and eggs kindly supplied by the owners (as well as a bottle of Cava and fresh flowers which were enjoyed as the week progressed). We were very lucky with the weather as it was unseasonally settled, warm and calm with sunshine from morning till night every day. Though to be honest there is so much to see and do in the area that even if the weather had been inclement we would have enjoyed it just as much.
As the week draws to a close now and we must hit the trail for home tomorrow we do so feeling truly refreshed and relaxed with a very happy dog and will definitely visit this cottage and Sandend again.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about this property met our expectations.
Liked least: Nothing negative to say about his property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage by the sea”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a lovely holiday in this comfortable and well equipped cottage. It is situated by the beach. It has beautiful views of the sea. At night you can hear the roar of the waves. The children enjoyed rockpooling paddling and trying their hand at a bit of surfing. We could sit on the garden bench and watch all the activity on the beach.
The bedrooms were comfortable and spacious. It is perfect for dogs, with its utility room and proximity to the beach. There are lots of coastal walks and beaches nearby. Spotlessly clean but a real home from home.

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louiser18...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing as always”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in June 2014

Great, spacious, everything you need is right there for you. This is the second time we have stayed and will be back again sometime soon. Love the views from the kitchen and the roof top garden.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
India
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.