We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
25
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an adventure special reserve delicious food attentive staff natural surroundings beautiful scenery every direction special stay coastal forest beach sea bay drive experience maputo luxury meals
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2016

A wonderful stretch of southern mozambique coastlin. Beautifully incorporated rustic, luxury accommodation seamlessly built into the ecosystem. The balance of simple living in comfort and in touch with the pulse of the Indian Ocean.
A special visit to one of the gems of Southern African coastline.

Stayed: October 2015
Thank quentben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anvil_Bay, General Manager at Anvil Bay Chemucane, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Dear Quentben,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted that you had such a special visit to Anvil Bay Chemucane.

Hope to see you again soon.

The Anvil Bay Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016

We went to Anvil Bay with a large group of friends and had a fantastic time; a great way to disappear off the radar and enjoy proper downtime. The beach is like a postcard - untouched white sand, and it stretches for miles if long beach walks are your thing. There's also beach bikes for the more adventurous, fishing and snorkelling or you can just laze with a book. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The food is amazing and the rooms are luxury tents nestled just off the beach to blend in with the natural environment. A truly memorable getaway!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anvilbaychemucane, General Manager at Anvil Bay Chemucane, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2016

Dear GReadman,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are glad you had a great stay at Anvil Bay, Chemucane.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards, the Anvil Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We've just enjoyed another fantastic weekend at this most spectacular location, a true gem! Rooms are luxurious, Beach is prestine, management and staff are fantastic, delicious food, tranquil, minimal footprint, breathtaking views and by far the most incredible luxury wilderness experience, and eco resort. Their website accurately portrays Anvil Bay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morag F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anvilbaychemucane, General Manager at Anvil Bay Chemucane, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Dear Morag,

Thank you for this wonderful review, as always it was an absolute pleasure to host you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Well wishes from the Anvil Bay Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

We were lucky enough to be able to stay with our children at this outstanding and distinctive development over the Easter break which gave us all a truly memorable experience that will stay with us forever.

The journey to Anvil Bay felt like part of the destination as we were taken on an epic off-road drive manoeuvring the Mozambique sand track roads, routed through an elephant reserve and via a swamp taking in the stunning landscapes until we arrived at what can only be described as a breath taking coastal wonder.

Both secluded and exclusive without grand pomp and ceremony, the natural beauty of the Mozambique beach and habitat has been harnessed to create a fantastic and unique place to stay. The accommodation and facilities have been beautifully and thoughtfully designed and crafted locally to offer practical luxury and are enhanced with finishing touches of indulgent toiletries and sundries that would allow you to rock up in nothing other than swimwear, shorts and sandals to take you through your stay. Careful consideration has clearly been given to every last detail to provide nurturing comfort without compromising conservation of the local environment.

The actual creation of this small development is fascinating in that it is a Community Project and it was pretty inspirational to see how well the management have incorporated the community and developed a local workforce for both the build and ongoing service with lovely and attentive staff.

The food was freshly prepared daily with offerings of home baked breads, fresh caught fish, sushi, meats and salad and fruit aplenty.The kids enjoyed fresh coconut juice which was in turn transformed for us with Jamiesons whisky into what seemed to be a signature drink. We were also well catered for with a great selection of wines, bubbles, and beers.

The kids loved the feeling of freedom and made fresh footprints daily on the beach, line-fished from sunrise and body boarded, paddle boarded, snorkelled and canoed. There were daily fishing expeditions out on the boat and the catch of 4 barracuda on day one is still the talk of the house now that we are home. To be able to see the fish cleaned on the beach and then transformed straight into delicious sushi offerings then later enjoyed grilled was brilliant.

Sundowners on the sand dunes taking in the incredible views and evenings spent enjoying great food and chatting around a fire on the beach stargazing at clear constellations as the moon came up in the absence of any light pollution were just simply amazing.

We really cannot say enough about our trip and recommend this exceptional, embracing and exquisitely head-emptying place to visit highly and fully intend to make a repeat trip ourselves.

Thank-you to Paul, Ricky, Drew, Carleen and all the fantastic team for making our stay such a memorable and incredible experience. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

John, Rachel, Isaac and Farrah

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RachelECorcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anvilbaychemucane, General Manager at Anvil Bay Chemucane, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2016

Dear Rachel,

Thank you for this wonderful review and sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are very happy that you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you and your family back for yet another adventure at Anvil Bay, Chemucane.

All the best, the Anvil Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2016

Everything about Anvil Bay was just amazing. Absolutely unique place and experience. Lovely staff, amazing food and minimal footprint on the beautiful pristine beach and environment. We drove through the Maputo Special Reserve, coming from Maputo via Boane, which took us appr 5 h.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anvilbaychemucane, General Manager at Anvil Bay Chemucane, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2016

Dear Anna Z,

Thank you for the lovely review.

We look forward to seeing you and the family again soon.

Kind Regards
Anvil Bay Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews