We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveller rating
527
167
25
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
167
25
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles gas heaters trout the river costa rica cloud forest early morning canopy tour zip lining beautiful place horseback riding lunch and dinner hiking trails humming birds common areas steep road the entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 728 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We had a great time at the Trogon Lodge. It's absolutely beautiful with flowers and hummingbirds all over. The staff was super friendly and the food is delicious. They turn on your heater in the evening around dinner so the room is nice and cozy when you're ready for bed. We did the zipline and were lucky to see the quetzal on the hike behind the lodge. It's incredible. We arrived late, after dark because our plane was delayed. The road to the lodge is not best to try at night, but totally doable.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JessFresch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaJurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Dear JessFresch,
Thank you for your visit. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed it, including seeing the Quetzal, the food and the service of our staff.
Driving in Costa Rica can be a great experience, and I agree with you that driving at night, in our country roads, is to consider. Throughout the year in Costa Rica, as a tropical country, it gets dark around 5:30-6:00 pm, and it is best to avoid driving on these roads in the evening. Our best recommendation is to always drive on daytime.
Thank you again for your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

The setting is truly lovely, tucked away in a secluded valley. The rooms have lovely views and the grounds have wonderful flowers at every turn. Be prepared, it can be quit chilly this high up in the mountains.

The staff were very attentive to this and had the fireplaces lit and brought hot water bottles for the beds each night.

The trails are well maintained and you have the ability to see many types of birds. It seems best suited for those who truly love birds and want to see them.

The highlight, of course, is the chance to see the resplendent quetzal. The guides are quite knowledgeable about where you might see them and are excellent at finding them. We were fortunate to see both the female and the male quetzal and even got to witness the male doing a display to mark his territory.

As others note, you will not be alone at the quetzal viewing sights, but seeing these magnificent creatures makes up for the small crowds you may have to endure.

The food is good, though not overly varied, and served buffet style. If I could make one recommendation, it would be to upscale the food just a bit and this would make a great destination even better.

Room Tip: Cabin 23 has the best views on the site and a jacuzzi tub
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of an eco tour, and are so glad we came.
A bit weirdly for us as Brits, the valley’s river, oaks, weather, trout, and birds (with sparrow and blackbird lookalikes galore) make it feel more like Wales than somewhere tropical. That, and the UK hits from the 70s on the jukebox in the bar.
But it was the one place where we were able to do some real hiking and, once we got up into the cloudy heights of the forest with its mossy, epiphyte-laden trees, we knew we were somewhere wild and exotic.
And the lodge is lovely: I agree with all the positive comments others have made here. Two tips - bring a torch (handy if you’re staying in one of the higher cabins) and something warm to wear at night: our gas heater was smelly the first night and we’d have been better without it.
It’s definitely worth getting up early to spot quetzals: they’re truly magical. But beware; it’s not a serene experience. Conveniently, the birds tend to hang out at 6am right by the road above Trogon Lodge, where they gulp down the wild avocados and then sit still while they wait to regurgitate the stones. This draws 50 or more bird watchers and their guides, with telescopes, tripods, 4x4s and - alas, on the two mornings we went, quite a bit of elbowing and shoving. And, when one favoured spot failed to yield quetzals and someone radioed to say they’d found one a little further up the road, the crowd didn’t just walk there, they revved up their 4x4s and edged along in a traffic jam. The whole thing felt like a media circus, and I kept expecting someone to shout ‘there’s Princess Di’. Thankfully, though, the quetzals are above it all (literally).

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank UKmeded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We very much enjoyed our stay at Trogon Lodge and would recommend it highly. We were well looked after, with cheerful and helpful staff, good food, and all to be found in a pretty and comfortable setting. We enjoyed an excellent bird tour and managed to see quetzals in the early morning excursion.

Room Tip: The low numbered rooms near the centre are especially convenient.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaJurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Brian M,
Thank you for your visit to Trogon Lodge! It is wonderful news to hear how much you enjoyed it.
A true pleasure to have had the opportunity of hosting you.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Spent two nights in Jan, 2018. There is a reason why Trogon Lodge is so highly rated! It is a stunning property set back the upper San Gerardo de Dota Valley. I was given a cabin in the very back of the property, next to a running stream that lulled me to sleep. The bed was very comfortable and they brought a hot water bottle every morning. The grounds are well kept with many types of flowers, trout pools, some small (1-2 miles) hiking trails in the cloud forest and even a waterfall. Breakfast (included) and dinner as well as the bar are wonderful, much of the food grown/raised on the property. I also enjoyed the Quetzal morning watch. But not guaranteed to see the birds.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClintWorldWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews