We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Setting with Great Bird Watching”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The setting is truly lovely, tucked away in a secluded valley. The rooms have lovely views and the grounds have wonderful flowers at every turn. Be prepared, it can be quit chilly this high up in the mountains.

The staff were very attentive to this and had the fireplaces lit and brought hot water bottles for the beds each night.

The trails are well maintained and you have the ability to see many types of birds. It seems best suited for those who truly love birds and want to see them.

The highlight, of course, is the chance to see the resplendent quetzal. The guides are quite knowledgeable about where you might see them and are excellent at finding them. We were fortunate to see both the female and the male quetzal and even got to witness the male doing a display to mark his territory.

As others note, you will not be alone at the quetzal viewing sights, but seeing these magnificent creatures makes up for the small crowds you may have to endure.

The food is good, though not overly varied, and served buffet style. If I could make one recommendation, it would be to upscale the food just a bit and this would make a great destination even better.

Room Tip: Cabin 23 has the best views on the site and a jacuzzi tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of an eco tour, and are so glad we came.
A bit weirdly for us as Brits, the valley’s river, oaks, weather, trout, and birds (with sparrow and blackbird lookalikes galore) make it feel more like Wales than somewhere tropical. That, and the UK hits from the 70s on the jukebox in the bar.
But it was the one place where we were able to do some real hiking and, once we got up into the cloudy heights of the forest with its mossy, epiphyte-laden trees, we knew we were somewhere wild and exotic.
And the lodge is lovely: I agree with all the positive comments others have made here. Two tips - bring a torch (handy if you’re staying in one of the higher cabins) and something warm to wear at night: our gas heater was smelly the first night and we’d have been better without it.
It’s definitely worth getting up early to spot quetzals: they’re truly magical. But beware; it’s not a serene experience. Conveniently, the birds tend to hang out at 6am right by the road above Trogon Lodge, where they gulp down the wild avocados and then sit still while they wait to regurgitate the stones. This draws 50 or more bird watchers and their guides, with telescopes, tripods, 4x4s and - alas, on the two mornings we went, quite a bit of elbowing and shoving. And, when one favoured spot failed to yield quetzals and someone radioed to say they’d found one a little further up the road, the crowd didn’t just walk there, they revved up their 4x4s and edged along in a traffic jam. The whole thing felt like a media circus, and I kept expecting someone to shout ‘there’s Princess Di’. Thankfully, though, the quetzals are above it all (literally).

Stayed: January 2018
Thank UKmeded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We very much enjoyed our stay at Trogon Lodge and would recommend it highly. We were well looked after, with cheerful and helpful staff, good food, and all to be found in a pretty and comfortable setting. We enjoyed an excellent bird tour and managed to see quetzals in the early morning excursion.

Room Tip: The low numbered rooms near the centre are especially convenient.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaJurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Brian M,
Thank you for your visit to Trogon Lodge! It is wonderful news to hear how much you enjoyed it.
A true pleasure to have had the opportunity of hosting you.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Spent two nights in Jan, 2018. There is a reason why Trogon Lodge is so highly rated! It is a stunning property set back the upper San Gerardo de Dota Valley. I was given a cabin in the very back of the property, next to a running stream that lulled me to sleep. The bed was very comfortable and they brought a hot water bottle every morning. The grounds are well kept with many types of flowers, trout pools, some small (1-2 miles) hiking trails in the cloud forest and even a waterfall. Breakfast (included) and dinner as well as the bar are wonderful, much of the food grown/raised on the property. I also enjoyed the Quetzal morning watch. But not guaranteed to see the birds.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClintWorldWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Very attentive and friendly staff. The rooms are clean and spacious. There are a lot of spaces to relax and just stare into the forest to spot birds. Plenty to do for those who seek action, too. The trout was delicious.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank R470AOjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaJurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear R470AOjeff,
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. It is a true pleasure to know that you enjoyed the overall services provided.
San Gerardo de Dota is definitely a wonderful place to relax, connect with nature, and enjoy delicious food, specially the trout.
It was a great honor for us to be your hosts during the stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Gerardo de Dota
3.1 km away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
818 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante Suria
Hotel de Montana y Restaurante S...
#4 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
157 reviews
24 km away
Talari Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 km away
Hotel Quelitales
Hotel Quelitales
#1 of 5 in Cartago
279 reviews
24.9 km away
Orosi Lodge
Orosi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Orosi
424 reviews
36.5 km away
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Resorts Collection
Hacienda AltaGracia, Auberge Res...
#1 of 6 in San Isidro del General
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota

Address: Savegre, San Gerardo de Dota 10980-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Gerardo de Dota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Gerardo de Dota
Price Range: ₹ 9,961 - ₹ 10,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the mystic Valley of San Gerardo de Dota, surrounded by a collage of green and blue colored mountains, multi-shaded flowers and impressive oak trees, Trogon Lodge is the ideal spot to enjoy the heart of nature, in a peaceful environment, quiet and magical. The Lodge features 22 standard rooms and one standard superior room, surrounded by beautiful gardens, the Savegre River and the mountains. The Lodge offers restaurant, bar, trout ponds, and free WIFI access in public areas. Activities include insite canopy tour, nature trails for guided and selfguided walks, horseback riding, and birdwatching trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo De Dota Hotel San Gerardo De Dota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing