We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
528
168
25
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
528
168
25
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles gas heaters trout the river costa rica cloud forest early morning canopy tour zip lining beautiful place horseback riding lunch and dinner hiking trails humming birds common areas steep road the entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 730 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of an eco tour, and are so glad we came.
A bit weirdly for us as Brits, the valley’s river, oaks, weather, trout, and birds (with sparrow and blackbird lookalikes galore) make it feel more like Wales than somewhere tropical. That, and the UK hits from the 70s on the jukebox in the bar.
But it was the one place where we were able to do some real hiking and, once we got up into the cloudy heights of the forest with its mossy, epiphyte-laden trees, we knew we were somewhere wild and exotic.
And the lodge is lovely: I agree with all the positive comments others have made here. Two tips - bring a torch (handy if you’re staying in one of the higher cabins) and something warm to wear at night: our gas heater was smelly the first night and we’d have been better without it.
It’s definitely worth getting up early to spot quetzals: they’re truly magical. But beware; it’s not a serene experience. Conveniently, the birds tend to hang out at 6am right by the road above Trogon Lodge, where they gulp down the wild avocados and then sit still while they wait to regurgitate the stones. This draws 50 or more bird watchers and their guides, with telescopes, tripods, 4x4s and - alas, on the two mornings we went, quite a bit of elbowing and shoving. And, when one favoured spot failed to yield quetzals and someone radioed to say they’d found one a little further up the road, the crowd didn’t just walk there, they revved up their 4x4s and edged along in a traffic jam. The whole thing felt like a media circus, and I kept expecting someone to shout ‘there’s Princess Di’. Thankfully, though, the quetzals are above it all (literally).

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank UKmeded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We very much enjoyed our stay at Trogon Lodge and would recommend it highly. We were well looked after, with cheerful and helpful staff, good food, and all to be found in a pretty and comfortable setting. We enjoyed an excellent bird tour and managed to see quetzals in the early morning excursion.

Room Tip: The low numbered rooms near the centre are especially convenient.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaJurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Brian M,
Thank you for your visit to Trogon Lodge! It is wonderful news to hear how much you enjoyed it.
A true pleasure to have had the opportunity of hosting you.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Spent two nights in Jan, 2018. There is a reason why Trogon Lodge is so highly rated! It is a stunning property set back the upper San Gerardo de Dota Valley. I was given a cabin in the very back of the property, next to a running stream that lulled me to sleep. The bed was very comfortable and they brought a hot water bottle every morning. The grounds are well kept with many types of flowers, trout pools, some small (1-2 miles) hiking trails in the cloud forest and even a waterfall. Breakfast (included) and dinner as well as the bar are wonderful, much of the food grown/raised on the property. I also enjoyed the Quetzal morning watch. But not guaranteed to see the birds.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClintWorldWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Very attentive and friendly staff. The rooms are clean and spacious. There are a lot of spaces to relax and just stare into the forest to spot birds. Plenty to do for those who seek action, too. The trout was delicious.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank R470AOjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaJurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear R470AOjeff,
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. It is a true pleasure to know that you enjoyed the overall services provided.
San Gerardo de Dota is definitely a wonderful place to relax, connect with nature, and enjoy delicious food, specially the trout.
It was a great honor for us to be your hosts during the stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

We loved the green facility, the nearby trails to the cloudforest, the delicous food, the very friendly staff, the warm hottie and of course we found the Magnificent Quetzal on the early morning tour.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stef K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaJurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Dear Stef K,
It is always a pleasure to know that our guests got to see the Quetzal! We understand it is one of the main reasons to come here, and San Gerardo de Dota gladly hosts a very large population of Quetzals, which are most of the times seen. Wonderful news!
it is also wonderful to know you enjoyed the facilities, the food, and the service of our staff. I will make sure to convey this message on to them, so they know they are being complemented for a job well done!
Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to write.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews