We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (725)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveller rating
525
167
25
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
525
167
25
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles gas heaters trout the river costa rica cloud forest early morning canopy tour zip lining beautiful place bird watching horseback riding lunch and dinner hiking trails humming birds steep road common areas
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 726 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2017

My girlfriend and I are birders so we booked this lodge through My Costa Rica in hopes of seeing a Quetzal. While unpacking in our room a lodge employee came to our room and told us there was a quetzal in the trees along the river. We weren't at the lodge 10 minutes until we saw our first Quetzal. We saw a total of about 12 Quetzals on the lodge grounds during a stay, one male quetzal was 10 feet from us and we saw two in a avocado tree in front of our room. The lodge employee pointing birds to us was Caesar and he is a very nice guy. All the employees were very nice and all seemed to really love their job. The girl at the front desk made sure everything ran smooth and she knew about all the birds in the area.
We saw lots of birds on the lodge grounds and the grounds were stunning. It what I would imagine what the Garden of Eden might have looked like. The plants, shrubs, and flowers were simply beautiful. The Savagre River ran through property and it was crystal clear and cold. The Trogan Lodge has the most beautiful grounds I have ever seen. Rooms were very nice and no need for AC because the weather was so cool and cold at night. Food at the lodge was great and you could eat fresh caught rainbow trout every night is so desired. The chef and kitchen staff took great pride and preparing meals. Very nice.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good to me. Rooms are built into the mountain so one has to walk up to the rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twj2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaJurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear twj2017,
What a great review of your stay and experience and Trogon Lodge! I am absolutely thrilled to hear how many Quetzals you got to see right there at the Lodge grounds, and to learn that the staff was courteous and proactive in making sure you and your girlfriend enjoyed the most of this experience.
Thanks so much for visiting us and for the great recommendations.
Have a wonderful day ahead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We spent our anniversary there the first part of August. It was so nice and relaxing we just loved it there. Went on a tour and they had more things to do too. The food and the staff were great will go back in the dry season for sure. The Canopy rides looked great but were not running in the rainy season.If you want to relax this is it.

Room Tip: The road In is a little scary but lots of roads here are the sam Narrow.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank timcox52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaJurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear timcox52,
Happy anniversary! Delighted to hear you enjoyed it with us at Trogon Lodge, and that the services rendered were up to your expectations and enjoyment.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Muchas gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Our family loved staying at Trogon Lodge for two nights. Adrianna and her partner who led the Quetzal early morning birding adventure were both superb at their jobs and the entire staff was professional, personable, and responsive. Between hiking, birdwatching and horseback riding, we still found time to relax in the idyllic setting.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank trippytricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaJurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear trippytricia,
Thank you so much for a wonderful review of your stay at Trogon Lodge with your family. We are delighted to hear you all enjoy the setting and the activities.
Our staff will be delighted to know you enjoyed their personable service and be confident that comments like yours motivate everyone at the Lodge to keep on giving their best everyday.
Muchas gracias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

To be fair I don't think San Gerardo suited our family - kids of 14 and 11- nothing to do after an adventure packed 2 1/2 weeks in CR. Great for adults wanting to relax and unwind. As Brits we also didn't need the cool climate ! Trogon Lodge looks beautiful and the staff and food are great. However our room was the worst of our stay and I can't believe people haven't commented on this before. Far too small to accommodate a family and dark and cold inside. The heater looked dangerous and the gas smell was awful. Sharing a veranda with another room was odd and you could hear everything the neighbours said !

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Epmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaJurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Epmj,
Thank you for your visit and your very honest review about an experience that did not seem to suit your family, which I am very sorry for. AT Trogon Lodge, we welcome many families, with teenagers and young children, with excellent results. Moreover, we do understand that not everyplace is for everybody and that is fair to understand.
Trogon Lodge offers much to do for those for those who want to do some hiking, canopy tour, nature walks, birdwatching, and of course, unwinding and relaxing. It is important to know, when considering coming here, that the place is quiet and tranquil, and that all the activities that we do involve nature, nature walks and nature observation.
The Cloud Forest, or high land areas, are cooler that the usual hot and humid low land destinations. This weather allows for an observation of a very different plant and bird life from what you will see in other areas of Costa Rica, so its truly interesting for those who've already seen the lowlands and what to experience more of this incredibly diverse (Ecologically speaking) country. We get plenty of British travelers, and although people do mention the weather as something different from the usual Costa Rica, they are always very happy with the change.
Our rooms are spread in modules of 2 rooms per unit, as you saw. It is not a building where everybody is door to door, but where actually rooms are spread along the garden, offering much privacy than other type of developments. Yes, rooms do share a veranda outside and there are no distracting sounds like TV'S or music, or similar in the room, so that may produce an easiness to listen to other people.
We thank you for your sincere comments and we are very sorry to learn that Trogon Lodge was not the right experience for your family. We do appreciate your pointing out to all the other positive things about our place.
Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

This place is stunning. It's in the middle of the cloud forest and the water is the cleanest in the whole country here, as it is filtered directly from the local Rio Savegre.
The rooms have a rustic charm and as it can get chilly here after dark, the hotel provides each room with an electric heater and a hot water bottle per person! Nice touch.
The staff are all friendly and attentive. The restaurant is great - the best hotel food we've had on our trip in Costa Rica so far.
The bar area is lovely. A large space with wood panelled walls and a wood burning stove. Nice, chilled background music here too and a snooker table which makes it an ideal chill area. There's also zip lining available here, bird spotting, and hiking trails.
The hotel's only setback is the winding, steep roads you have to take to get here. There's also no wifi in the rooms but you can get it in the bar, reception and restaurant, so that isn't really an issue.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Aimee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EugeniaJurado, Director of Sales at Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Aimee P,
Thank you for your very kind review of your experience at Trogon Lodge. We are so delighted to hear how much you enjoyed all the services provided, from the food in the restaurant, to the rooms and activities.
Yes, the 7 km gravel road to San Gerardo from the Main entrance is to be driven carefully. Remember that you are coming 1,000 meters down the road to the Valley. It is very steep and narrow. Important to drive carefully, on day time, and using the strong shift of the vehicle. Views outside are lovely, with the incredible mountains and the Cloud Forest weather, but it is important to drive very carefully and slowly.
As for wifi, we currently have completed all the available bandwidth in the area, so we are not able to offer WIFI in the rooms, it would be a very bad coverage which would result in complaints and in satisfaction, so wed rather just offer the WIFI in public areas such as restaurant, reception and bar. We understand that these days everybody is used to being connected, but with the geography of this area, the many mountains and rugged terrain present, it is impossible to do more in this respect. It is a great opportunity to disconnect and plug in into the great outdoors and nature!.
Thank you very much for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews