We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Upper Hagg Cottage

Upper Hagg Cottage.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Upper Hagg Cottage.
View from the doorstep. Upper Hagg Cottage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Upper Hagg Cottage.
View from the doorstep.
Upper Hagg Cottage.
Main bedroom.
Main bedroom.
Main bedroom.
Lounge from bedroom 1
Wet-room 1 from bedroom 1
Lounge from main bedroom.
Upper floor lounge.
Upper floor lounge.
Lounge & bookcase.
Lounge desk & bookcase
Upper floor lounge and wood-burner stove.
Ground floor bedroom 2 sofa-bed
Ground floor wet-room 2
Induction hob in kitchen-diner.
Kitchen-diner.
Ground floor bedroom 2 sofa-bed.
Ground floor bedroom 2 sofa-bed.
Ground floor bedroom 2.
Rear terrace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Netherthong, Holmfirth, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Almuth T
1 review
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed 18 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Quirky little cottage, well equipped, great base for exploring Yorkshire with our two grandchildren.
They want to return with their parents!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2018
Thanks for your kind words Almuth. Upper Hagg cottage is an adventure in itself! A perfect base for exploration of all kinds, arts, nature, scenery and history. We'd be delighted to see the family again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian H
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Upper Hagg cottage is delightful, cosy and very well equipped.
The log burner and underfloor heating kept us warm in chilly weather!
Bathrooms clean and bedroom is extremely comfortable.
The cottage was ideal for an Easter break and some long walks in the countryside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2018
Thanks Adrian. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Traditional meets modern in the most wonderful way”
Reviewed 4 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Upper Hagg Cottage is where traditional rural Yorkshire life meets the 21st century seemlessly. The cottage has all the old features, stone walls, fireplaces, beams and rafters but with the comfort and style of 21st century living. We loved our stay here. The cottage kitchen is extremely well equipped and the welcome pack of bread, jam, milk and butter along with a vase of pretty fresh flowers was most appreciated after a long drive. Tea/coffee/oil/Washing up liquid/linens/towels etc all there. The beds were very comfy, our friends used the sofa bed and were surprised to find out on leaving that it was in fact a sofa bed it was so comfy! All the technology worked well. Check in was real easy with the key safe. Great communication with Drew, both before during and after our stay.

The weather wasn’t exactly playing ball so we spent quite a bit of time at the cottage enjoying the games, books, DVDs and wood burner (and studying the intricacies of the lighting set up!)! Highly recommend going to the National Coal Mining Museum near Wakefield - very interesting tour down a real former working mine guided by former miners.

We’d definitely come back to Upper Hagg! 10 out of 10

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2018
So glad you enjoyed our (magnificent - even if I so say myself) early 18thC/21stC eclectic mix. You have truly been outstanding guests and we hardly knew you'd been because you left the place so clean and tidy. Thank you. Please do come again. I'm so sorry we can't accommodate you in May; someone just beat you to it. I apologise profusely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah A
1 review
“First class self catering accommodation!”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at Upper Hagg Cottage this weekend for my husbands 40th birthday. Perfect setting for peace and relaxation! Literally everything you needed to make your stay comfortable. Hosts are fab, knowledge and helpful. I was particularly grateful for the milk so we could have a cuppa on arrival! Would highly recommend and we'd like to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thank you Hannah, we'd love to have you back too.

Drew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blondieee...
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic Quirky Home from Home”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed 31 August for 3 Nights and travelled with husband and son (age 12). Upper Hagg Cottage is in a lovely scenic area perfect for anyone wishing to have a walking get away holiday but we chose to have a relaxing chilled out break. Upper Hagg Cottage was very welcoming and cosy with little quirky features throughout. Everything you could possibly need was supplied and more, Drew and Babs have thought of everything to make your trip perfect. The fresh flowers on arrival was a lovely surprise along with bread, milk and butter which was very much appreciated. Loved the little outside area listening to all the countryside sounds whilst enjoying a relaxing glass of wine. We left feeling completely relaxed and we all loved it, would definately recommend and would love to visit again in the future. Many thanks for letting us stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thank you for your kind review. You're the kind of guests we love to have and you'd be most welcome back again.

Drew & Barb
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing