We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
10
30
16
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
30
16
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016

What more can you ask of a hotel in a place like Andong? What I mean by that is, this is not the stop where you seek a lux resort; likely it is a one night stop-by, either to check out the local flavor of the town, use it as a jump off point to tour some of the local attractions, or you are, like we were, there for the Mask Festival.

The location is great- right on a walking street, which leads to the local covered market and the retail shopping district. Perfect walk-around place, right from the hotel lobby if you want to do a little exploring easily. If you are there for the Mask Festival, it is a short 10/15 min walk to the festival grounds, very easy.

The room was clean and tidy, and offered toiletries and in room as well as free in lobby coffee, always a bonus for me ( big time coffee lover lol ). All in all, an excellent budget traveler's hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1dancing_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Good budget hotel - great location for cafes, restaurants and shopping. Go to Mammoth Bakery which is an excellent patisserie. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and bathroom was sizable. Some staff speak good English - they are very friendly and helpful. When I had to change my travel plans due to bad weather the staff assisted me greatly organising numerous phone calls without charge. Very good customer service. Close to the local station but some distance from the bus terminal which is on the outskirts of town so take a taxi if you have a bigger bag. Just 40 mins to walk to Wolyonggyong Bridge which is a wonderful walk to see the light show at night or the natural environment in the daytime (there is also a bus from the station). The tourist office is to the right of the station (on the left when you walk out of the station). You have to visit Hahoe Village and Doesan confucian academy (go by bus - you can use a T-Money card on local buses). Visit the local market just up the road - they have food stalls in the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front tend to attract some street noise including karaoke (this stops by midnight)
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Andong Hotel was the only option on our booking website but we were very happy with our accommodation.
Excellent location in the pedestrian zone, a 3 minute walk to the bus stop from where you can catch the bus to Hahoe Village and so many eating options in the area.
The receptionists don't speak much English but provide a very helpful bus timetable and try to give recommendations.
If they served breakfast, I'd give them five stars. You can always buy breakfast from Mammoth bakery or Home Plus (Tesco's).
Housekeeping was very thorough, free drinks in the fridge and yes, a hard bed - but we slept like a log after a hot day of sightseeing.
Some reviewers say it's a love hotel - I suspect it used to be one (garish decor, red lighting, no checking out - you just put your key in a basket in the lift) but when we stayed there, we just saw families and tourists, nothing seedy!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Eva J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015

I have stayed several times at the Andong Hotel, some under its old name Hotel California. It has paid parking nearby and the clerk stamps the ticket to cover the cost. Rooms are clean have large screen TV's and comfortable beds. Surrounding the hotel is a shopping and restaurant area with plenty of choices to include a 24 hour Lotteria burger place. The worse part is the hotel staff does not speak english more than basic things like "Parking?" but they try very hard to assist you to the best of their understanding of the issue. The rooms have computers with internet connections but I did not use it. Normally they are old computers and very slow.

All in all I recommend this hotel to anyone residing in the Andong area.

Room Tip: While there is no wifi there is a free computer on the internet in the room. Nearby areas may have free wifi as in many places in Korea.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SeoulFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

The hotel was in a great location. Big rooms and also very clean with toiletries included and also drinking water. I found the bed hard to sleep on (typical Korean hard bed) but that is subjective as it depends on if you can sleep on a hard bed.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JulesbSouthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews