We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time at Esmeralda”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Esmeralda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Esmeralda Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First time at Esmeralda”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Just returned from 6 days on the island Stayed at Esmeralda. We stayed in room 393 near the entrance. The room was nice; located close to our pool. Not sure it was worth more than $400. per night. The other 3 units were occupied, but we hardly saw them. We were the only ones to use the pool the entire time. The beach IS a very short walk away as advertised. They have security at the main road entrance in the evenings, but they did not even stop us. I was worried about crime reports but we were carefull and felt safe at all times walking the grounds. We drove to Grand Case for dinner and returnedaround10pm each night with no troubles. We also drove one road north to Boo Boo Jams for dinner and dancing on Sunday. It was a mixed crowd of native St. Maartens and tourists. Everyone was very friendly. The Internet service in the lobby is slow, but works. Our only negative came on Sunday when the water went out for about 8 hours. They said it was everywwhere, but Boo Boo Jam had water. Not a big deal.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    167
    52
    30
    11
See reviews for
49
276
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Desert
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I must have stayed at a different Esmeralda. My conclusion is that the place is okay, but not worth the a lot of money and not worth a lot of effort to get there. The rooms are indeed large (but sparely furnished), the pools are excellent (but no depth indicators), the employees try to help (but in French), the grounds are clean (but not more than that), and the beach is nice (but tight packed). The rooms have coffee makers (but no coffee). If you ask at the desk, the answer is there should be some for sale in the “pantry.” If there isn’t, and there wasn’t for a week, you can walk down to the Orient/American Village where you can buy it for twice the local market price.

Then there is the breakfast, which would be below par at a LaQuinta let alone a Drury’s. Every day the same apples and grapes in juice, canned OJ, and coffee, plus a basket of bread with individual jams that may or may not have been used. After three days, you are ready to buy the yoghurt.

The beach is operated by what I assume is an affiliate, since the loud spoken woman who runs the restaurant moves to the beach shop after breakfast. The beach is tight packed indeed. Beach chairs and umbrellas with a couple of feet clearance from one end of Orient Beach to the other. The rate is 15€ but is “included” in the room rate. Its fun to walk up and down the beach to compare the various offers. The beach boys have enough attitude to sink a battleship. The hotel restaurant is closed for lunch so you will probably end up eating on the beach. There are some small meals. A salad is 15€ (but halfs are available), mini pizzas are 8€, the specials usually range from 20€ to 40€. Generally speaking we found Orient Beach prices to be almost double the prices in Philipsburg, Marigot, or Grand Case.

Although the room card says the lobby is staffed 24/7, it really isn’t, its just the security guy in the evenings and early mornings.

Best to get a car before you go stir crazy. A cab to Marigot is $21 and to Pinel $20. Get a car and you can get away and enjoy Philipsburg, Marigot, Pinel, and Grand Case. Watch in the paper how many ships are in port. When it get to 6 or 7 the island goes into gridlock.

If you are on the East Coast and get away for two weeks a year, this place may be ok for one of them. But for my money I would either go upscale to a true luxury resort, or downscale to a spot on a deserted beach. I just thought that after spending a fair amount of money (Parisian prices was one phrase I heard) it was ho-hum.

Room Tip: The closer to the beach the better. Some very large accommodations available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sausca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Vermont
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

My husband and I (61 yrs) took my parents (87yrs) to the Esmeralda Resort for a week in January 2012. The resort was not a fancy, luxury resort but was an attractive, well laid out resort that suited us well. The restaurant is the Astrolabe and that's where the breakfast was served. Continental breakfast is part of the deal. You could order eggs, pancakes etc at an additional cost. At night you NEED to have reservations - any night. The dinners are pricey but elegantly presented and very good. The drinks are expensive at all the regular restaurants but sometimes cheaper at beach bar/restaurants. There are 65 units put in groups of four - all on ground floor. Each quad had it's on pool - which was wonderful. Nobody else was ever there when our family used it - which we did often! Orient Beach is an easy 10minute walk through the resort - my parents had no difficulty with it. The beach restaurant for Esmeralda is Cocoa and we really enjoyed its amenities. As a guest they provided you with nice lounges and umbrellas, places to sit in the shade, someone to take drink orders and a fun boutique where I probably spent too much money! All along the beach are good restaurants, bars and boutiques. The end of the beach is a nudist area and totally nude people do stay in that area but there are a lot of topless women all over the beach - and other beaches on the island. The grounds were well kept and attractive and always had somebody working on them. The rooms themselves were like hotel rooms. We had king size beds, one soft chair, a table and two straight chairs. The "kitchenette" was the lowest point. There was a sink, cupboards with a meager amount of dishes, a hotel refrigerator and NOTHING to cook on. No microwave, burner etc. There was a decent coffee pot. They do not provide coffee but the bathroom has everything you need. Including a hairdryer. Each unit had a private outside patio with a small table and two chairs which faced the pool and we used a lot. We also had lovely mountain views. I would easily recommend this resort to anyone , families, couples young and old.

Room Tip: Our units were in the 540s and were well placed for everything. They were also adjoining my parents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathyincornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Esmeralda was a great experience. The location is perfect...right on the beach. The room was beautiful, bright and very clean. The staff was extremely helpful. The beach is very quiet and away from all the "cruise" crowds.
We had had a bad experience at a nearby hotel and the staff at Esmeralda could not have been more accommodating.
This will be our hotel of choice from now on!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We had the greatest time in St Martin just last week. Esmeralda proved to be a fantastic place to enjoy the true beauty of Orient Beach. The rooms were imple but clean and on the quieter end of the beach. Coco Beach resteraunt and bar was an added plus. Sophie- the owner and David the bartender make you feel welcomed and they prepare great drinks and good food from pizza and salads to fresh caught fish and mussels.
The staff at Esmeralda and the Astrolabe( the restaurant at the resort ) were helpful and thoughtful. When the first room we were given had a problem the desk clerk-Leo-suggested a change immediately without us even asking and then he came over to check that we were happy. Yolene set us up with a tai driver who not only was waiting for us at the airport when we landed but took us one afternoon to Phillipsburg and came back right when he said he would. Next night ook us to Grand Case and the same thing - our resteraunt called him and he was there in 5 minutes. Speaking of resteraunts-leNettuna- was excellent choice for great Italian cooking with a beautiful setting on the harbor of Grand Case. Go for the sunset!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCToom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient Bay
0.5 km away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
495 reviews
4.7 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
3.7 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
La Playa Orient Bay
La Playa Orient Bay
#3 of 8 in Orient Bay
576 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,209 reviews
8.9 km away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esmeralda Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esmeralda Resort

Property: Esmeralda Resort
Address: Baie Orientale | BP 5141, Orient Bay 97071, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Orient Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Orient Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,817 - ₹ 27,400
Hotel Class:4 star — Esmeralda Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ESMERALDA RESORT, situated on the magnificent white sands of Orient Bay in French St. Martin offers just 65 rooms and suites spread among elegant tropical gardens in 17 villas. Esmeralda is the only four star hotel in St Martin on Orient Beach.Esmeralda's Coco Beach Bar offers beachfront lunch & cocktails. L'Astrolabe, the resort's fine dining restaurant offers French Creole and Continental cuisine. Guests receive dining privileges at 12 + restaurants in Orient Bay. Only minutes to more fine dining,shopping and entertainment. Rooms include a kitchenette, king bed, sitting area and patio. What makes this property so special is it's unique plantation style layout with only four rooms or suites per villa. For privacy, each villa has its own swimming pool and each accommodation has its own private entrance and terrace... Guests may reserve anything from a single superior or deluxe room or a generous sized suite or an entire 3 - 5 bedroom villa. Due to the way this resort in St Martin is situated on the property that is perpendicular to the beach there is limited availability in the two ocean front villas that include the Presidential Suites and deluxe oceanfront rooms. All superior and deluxe rooms include kitchenettes. Suites offer full kitchens and large living rooms. Guests enjoy the peaceful surroundings and a cordial, pampering yet unobtrusive on-site multi-lingual staff prepared to assist with any special needs. Esmeralda offers free use of beach chairs & umbrellas. Each accommodation has a fully equipped kitchenette (suites have fully equipped kitchens including dishwasher), large tile bath with hair dryer plus a 110 outlet for shavers only, color satellite TV, room safe, air conditioning with ceiling fan, daily maid service. All bedrooms have Color TV by satellite (8 channels and video system), telephone, private safe, A/C, ceiling fan, private, furnished terrace, kitchenette with micro wave, electric coffee pot, refrigerator and dishes. SUPERIOR, DELUXE AND OCEANFRONT ROOMS: King or two double beds, kitchenette. Maximum occupancy: 2 people. Superior rooms have garden view and are generally located further from the beach. Deluxe rooms are a bit larger located nearer the pool. Oceanfront rooms are located nearest the beach. SUPERIOR SUITES: Spacious living room and bedroom area with king size four poster bed and full size pull-out sofa bed plus a fully equipped kitchen. Maximum occupancy: 2 adults & 2 children. PRESIDENTIAL SUITES: Large dining and living room area with full size sofa bed, separate master bedroom with king size colonial bed, TV in living room and master bedroom, 1 1/2 baths, radio/cassette/CD player and fully equipped kitchen. Suite is oceanfront. Maximum occupancy: 4 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Esmeralda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esmeralda Hotel Orient Bay
Esmeralda Hotel Marigot
Esmeralda Resort Marigot
Esmeralda St Martin
Esmeralda Resort St Martin
Renaisance Esmeralda Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing