We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming cottage in an ideal location”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Front of the cottage
Living room with log fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sandsend, Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TractorMi...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Had a frantic weeks holiday in late September 15. We took Honey a 3 year old Labrador who loves the Beach. The cottage was in an ideal location for this with plenty of room to dry her of after a long walk.the cottage was also very worm, cosy & comfortable a log fire available and a well equipped kitchen although with a good restaurant and fish & chip shops in the area we had little used for it. We look forward to our next stay ☺

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lack of information
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew131
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is a beautiful cottage, ideally located for many attractions in the Whitby/North Yorkshire Area.
The heating was a little tricky to get used to, but once working was great, the log fire was also lovely once it was up and running although no kindling was provided.
The information folder was lacking in any useful information (it was actually empty) so we had little to go on to make a start with.
Parking was an issue. We had two cars, and whilst there was a space outside for one of them; and the booking said "parking 50 yards away" this was difficult to locate so we had to place the other car on a local car park which had to be paid for.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Hi I am glad you enjoyed the cottage, stored kindling and heating instructions etc should have been in the welcome folder so i will make sure that is re-filled. There is parking in front of the cottage for 2 cars so you shouldn't have needed to use any other car park? Hope to see you again sometime.
Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kylies30t...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully relaxed”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Gorgeous cottage-full of charm and character.
The cottage had everything in it we needed it was located in such a beautiful place. Ideal for a chilled out family break away.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan J
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful cottage”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was my third visit to Thordisa Cottage at Sandsend on the North Yorkshire Coast and each time we love it more. It was so clean and fresh and the decoration was newly and tastefully done. Although we mainly eat out in the evenings when in the area, we really do appreciate the lovely kitchen and all of its many amenities. There is a four slice toaster which - although only three of us went this time - it made breakfast quick and easy. I took my 81 year old mother and she had a bedroom with adjacent loo and lovely large shower. She only had to go up one winding staircase and managed it easily.
Obviously much work goes into the running, cleaning and letting of this cottage and care is taken to give a lovely, convenient atmosphere. Other friends of mine have been with me and we all love it. This time we took folding chairs with us to sit on the cottage frontage overlooking the beck. My friend and I enjoy feeding the ducks and observing the new broods of ducklings. Children would love it too and with its close proximity to the beach it is very convenient for swimmers, paddlers and surfers. Many thanks to all who either own or care for Thordisa. We will be back!!!!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin B
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful seaside cottage with loads of character clean and well equipped.”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I spent three days at Thordisa Cottage. It was as described in the advertisement.
Newly decorated and immaculately clean and tidy with a delightful wood burning stove well stocked with wood for the cool evenings. The cottage has two bathrooms one en-suite which looked as if they had been recently refurbished. The beds had good quality white cotton linen and very nice towels. The central heating worked well and the five burner double oven gas cooker was more than adequate for a cottage of this size. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to come again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and situation near the beach
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing