We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
1
0
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
0
2
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 9 October 2014 via mobile

If traveling to Haputale, ask yourself what is really important to experience. Luxurious stay or the area. Yes, Cuesta Inn may not be the newest place in town, but it is clean, the family and staff are attentive and friendly, and the food was delicious. Hands down one of the better rice & curry's I've had in Sri Lanka. Tip: ask to have your lunch by the living room window instead of in the dining room. When there's no mist, the view is spectacular. There's no wifi (not a problem), no fan or AC (generally not needed anyway) but there is hot water!

Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
Thank Omar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2008

I went with to Cuesta Inn (Haputale) with a guide and I wanted to spend 2 nights there. So, when we checked in, the “manager” (??) told me he will charge me "that price" (a good price) for both of us. So I decided to stay there. That night, we were having dinner, and this “manager” came and sat with us, he was quite drunk and he started to ask the guide many personal things about me, at the same time he was looking at me in a very insisting way and winking at me every 2 minutes… Very uncomfortable situation for me. We had to leave from the table in order to be quiet and we went to bed. From my room, I could hear the whole night noises and doors opening and closing (there was a prostitute for all the men of the guesthouse, the manager and his friends…).
The morning after, we were having breakfast and he asked us if we could pay for the night (even if we were supposed to stay one more night, we accept to pay and in the bill). He tried to charge us much more than the price we had agreed with him the day before, and also the tea pot apart from the breakfast (normally included in the breakfast price). After speaking a lot about that (and leaving ½ hour late because of that), he “accepted” to charge us the agreed rate.
In that moment, we should have decided to leave that guest house but it was a little bit complicated and we would have lost the morning looking for a new place (it was already late) so we decided to stay the following night also.
When we went out of the guest house to spend the day out, I had the feeling they will open my bag while we where out, so I left it in a way to be able to check that. When we came back, I could check they indeed HAD opened my bag. Nothing was missing (because there were no valuables inside) but they did open it…
That second night was a little bit quieter than the previous one (manager not so drunk…) but I think there was also a prostitute, in the room next to mine.
The morning after, he prepared the bill and again, he wanted to charge us more again. Again, we had to speak and loose time for that and we reach a kind of “price agreement” with him… but of course nothing to do with the agreement of the day we arrived.
Then, while I was alone in the dinning room, waiting for my guide to check out, the last thing that this man did was to show me a piece of… glass???... telling me it was a white sapphire and that he could sell it to me for ONLY 75.000Rs (750 USD)!!!!!..... We felt very relieved when we finally left Cuesta Inn…

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank EmiBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews