We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
156
24
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
24
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low tide ocean view villa other guests long table dive master his wife reef fish japanese dishes floor to ceiling windows convivial atmosphere dinner table dive sites outdoor shower private beach haven t dietary restrictions underwater world
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Cha Cha Nature Resort was incredible! Attention to all details are carefully arranged and thought of. Our room had a view to die for, the food was gourmet each meal, the staff responded and anticipated each need, the whole setting was well orchestrated by the charming owners, Raf and Reiko. Our experience of snorkeling each morning around the beautiful reef started our daily adventure. Agnes even serenaded us the last night. We are so grateful these 5 days are part of our memory of Bunaken. Thanks Raf and Reiko for creating a piece of paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrammyfromIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Simply put we had an amazing stay at cha cha resort! We booked a 5 night stay at the resort and we enjoyed all of it. The rooms is great and the staff was wonderful. Raph and his wife own the resort and are very kind and helpful to help you in any way possible. We had a padi open water course at another resort which was 30 minutes walking. Raph arranged transport to take us from and to the resort. Quite simply we had an amazing time and would love to come back!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yurrian v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Once you have been to Bunaken Cha Cha, there are few places that come close. On the occasion of our 30th anniversary, we decided to see for ourselves what all the fuss was about. Surely a resort is a resort.....
Raf and Reiko have carved out a place of rest and relaxation that is world class. On an island that is a long way from Cape Town. An island that will stay with us forever.
On arrival, we were welcomed not just by strong young porters, splashing out to assist the captain, but a family of hounds waiting patiently on the shore, to see who their favourite guest would be. An immediate cocktail and welcome by Raf, then up some stairs and to our room. It was delightfully decorated with flowers and leaves welcoming us, I had a very teary eyed companion, as it was just so beautiful. Our rooms were always kept spotless. The staff unobtrusive, meticulous and honest.
As our visit was during the quiet season, we were often alone at the resort and spent many hours relaxing in our own piece of paradise. "Brexit" the youngest dog keeping us company. The communal dinners are a great institution, as Raf and Reiko are amazing hosts. We met and shared stories with interesting people from around the world. The food was wow! Reiko's team has the ability to combine flavours that left us asking for more (always leave space for desert and always pop down to the communal area by 3-30 in the afternoon, for something baked)......
Our snorkeling was the best ever. On the house reef,which is quite incredible - our own aquarium, we were privileged to be visited by a pair of spotted eagle rays, coming up from the deep. On an excursion with Mul (what a delight to be shown things that we would have missed), we saw the biggest lobster I've ever seen and banded sea snakes. Sometimes, I believe, the locals have had enough of the tourists... beware of the Titan Triggerfish if it's protecting its young. It was ferocious and did not give up until we had gone far away.
I am still amazed by the steep drop-offs, beautiful corals, fish, fish and more fish, of so many species and varieties. The treat of hot sweet tea, bananas and biscuits after 2 hours in the water, will be remembered for a long time.
Eventually holidays draw to a close and as we took our bags down to the lounge "Brexit" gave the 1st howl of our visit. I knew exactly how he felt, I was not ready to leave.
If you think you can leave unaffected by the staff at Cha Cha who look after you for a week, think again. When we left, the staff lined up on the veranda to waive goodbye. They were still waiving when we were almost out of sight. Yes we were crying half the way back to Manado.
Thank you Raf and Reiko for looking after that small piece of paradise. Your attention to detail is quite incredible, thanks for coming to find us in the storm and sitting with us until it was over. It's defitely an "au revoir", see you soon.

Room Tip: If you don't do stairs then the room above the beach is best. For wooden chalets, there are other options.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kensM6132RV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

Extremely well-run, comfortable, intimate resort with a vibrant house reef (saw a turtle on first day’s snorkelling), slim strip of beach and lush landscaping up a hillside. Loved the bright, spacious Ocean Beach Villa with its floor-to-ceiling windows framing 180-degree sea view. Always-smiling, well-trained staff. “Fusion” menu catering to Western palates, with beer, cider, wines for purchase. Wifi worked fine; hot showers; no aircon at night but fans sufficed.

We did a half-day boat excursion with 2 fellow guests, saw a huge pod of spinner dolphins, another gorgeous turtle, banded sea krait, multi-hued corals, many varieties of fish and much else. Snorkelling guide Mul was great, pointing things out, making sure us old fogies were ok. Also walked to a nearby village, local folks very friendly.

The beach may be bigger on Siladen and prices lower on the mainland, but the main reason I’d recommend Cha Cha are Raf & Reiko, its helpful & gregarious owners, who built it from scratch 18 years ago and regale guests with stories and humour during the convivial communal meals. We felt like we were staying with friends in their home (with 4 well-behaved dogs) rather than a hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean Beach Villa is the priciest room but nearest the beach and the dining area/lounge in the main building if you can’t do a lot of steps
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lantauloafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

We recently spent 5 nights at Bunaken Cha cha, and our only complaint is that we did not want to leave! The area is spectacular and the snorkeling is sublime – definitely the best we’ve ever experienced in the world – crystal clear waters, beautiful coral, loads of fish – we saw many turtles, squids, water snakes. There are many dive and snorkel sites, you could spend weeks here and not get bored.

The owners Raf and Reiko are wonderful – very warm and welcoming and we felt at home with them right away. It’s a small resort and they go out of their way to take care of all the guests. It was my birthday one day, and to my surprise, they had a very special dinner for us, opening 2 great bottles of Italian wine and a delicious chocolate cake! By then, we had already spent several days with them, so the birthday celebration was very warm and special, like being with long time friends.

The food was wonderful, and we are very picky eaters! There was enough variety and everything was really delicious. When we first arrived, Raf asked if we had any dietary restrictions and they do their best to accommodate you. We stayed in the new ocean villa, built just last year, and it was very beautiful – stark, clean, modern, spacious and comfortable with lovely views of the water. We chose this room because the resort is built on a hill, and this is the lowest one with the least amount of stairs. There are some rooms with steep stairs up the hill, so if stairs are a concern, you should communicate this with Raf and book the right room for you.

We went to this resort because of the great reviews we read about the house reef – we are always looking for places with great snorkeling right off the beach. The house reef here was good, but we ended up going out on the snorkel boat excursions for several reasons – mainly because the house reef has quite a strong current, and if you drift dive with the current, it’s difficult to swim back against the current – if you go out on a boat, then you just drift with the current and the boat comes and picks you up. Also, as good as the house reef was, we found out that there are even better reefs within 10-15 minute boat rides away.

We are looking forward to being back! A very big thank you to Raf and Reiko!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews