We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic diving with a great support team.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Froggies Divers Bunaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2017

A small intimate resort with wonderful staff who looked after us very well. Eric was a wonderful dive guide, finding interesting creatures for us but allowing us to chase our own finds too. He was very good at watching our air and bottom time and we felt very safe with him. The individual chalet style rooms are set on a hill with fantastic views of Bunaken bay in lush gardens. We found the balcony was a relaxing place to sit with a coffee after a day's diving looking out over the sea and across to Sulawesi.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view but then the number of steps to climb increases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackbear2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Froggies_Divers, Manager at Froggies Divers Bunaken, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Don

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate your feedback and we are so glad that you had a great time here at Froggies Divers Bunaken.

We're proud of the friendly and professional guides we have here, and Eric will be glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with him.

We do hope to welcome you again soon!

Best wishes and happy diving from the Froggies Divers Bunaken team!

Chi and Spencer
Resort Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

This place is awesome! It rocks because of the good people who make it run and because of the brilliant people who run it. The kind and caring souls who make the resort run are locals, and they want to share with you the spectaculars of their tiny island both above and below the surface. They are going to take you to the best places in the park! No crowds. Short boat rides. Talented and professional dive guides. Amazing crew both on the boats and at the quiet and cozy resort. The diving is first class--hands down some of the best drift diving in the world. Exceptional visibility, diverse marine life, healthy corrals, warm water temperatures, and fantastic conditions make Bunaken an easy choice for a remarkable dive site, but Froggies does something the other resorts don’t. Froggies doesn’t try too hard to be too cool. It’s reasonably priced, quiet, immaculate (they do your laundry!), warm, and the resort managers eat, interact, and mingle with the guests, which creates a friendly environment, one in which passionate divers from over the globe make long and lasting friendships and share unique and significant memories. The staff loves music, and it is not uncommon to experience an impromptu concert during and after dinner and serenades throughout the day. The people who run the place are not only passionate about diving and conservation, they are also committed to making your experience on the island meaningful and memorable. They are brilliant divers. Kind, funny, compassionate, ethical, and incredible hosts! I’ve been to Froggies twice. In fact, I completed my PADI Dive Master certification with them because of who they are and where they are located. I spent a month on the island this summer, and I can’t wait to get back there. I know I will be back soon. If you’re headed to Bunaken, check out this operation. If you do, chances are you’ll be back too.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Froggies_Divers, Manager at Froggies Divers Bunaken, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Charlie

We can't thank you enough for kind words and your enormous contribution to the spirit of Froggies during the month of your stay.
We had such a brilliant and rewarding time teaching your Divemaster course. You honestly amazed us with your committed and focused attitude and the way you made such an honest and strong mentor for the student divers we shared. We know that you will make a truly brilliant instructor should you choose to take that path, and hope that you can experience the same pride in your own students as we do in you.

Charlie, it was pure pleasure to have you with us and we can't wait for you to come back! We've got a bottle of Bintang with your name on it :-)

All the best from everyone at Froggies- the staff miss you dearly, you know!

Chi & Spencer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

The good things:
1. Very nice and friendly staff
2. I got a very nice view
3. They cook us very nice dinner
4. They sell beer

The bad things:
1. I think that this resort is quite old, so you can see that most of the bungalows are run down.
2. Their water pressure to take shower is very low.
3. Nothing to do at night

Please note that we did not dive with the resort, so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Froggies_Divers, Manager at Froggies Divers Bunaken, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Leonard

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

Firstly, we would like to apologise to you that during your 2-night stay it was a rare occasion that we were not at the resort.

We are glad that you received excellent service- Froggies staff do work very hard to ensure that you enjoy your stay. It is a shame that you couldn't dive with us, as the diving does add to a good experience and gives you the chance to spend more time with our guides and crew. Thank you also for your compliments on our food- we will be sure to pass them over to our chef.

With regards to the resort facilities- Froggies Divers Bunaken is almost 20 years old, and in fact was the first resort on Bunaken island. There are many aspects that are original and traditional Indonesian-style, however we are currently going through a renovation of our bungalows and overall resort. It is unfortunate that your bungalow was not our newest, and we apologise for that. In terms of activities, Bunaken is still very much a diver's island. There are no bars or clubs here, and although we serve wine and beer, we also do not have a cocktail bar in the resort, however guests are very welcome to bring their own liquor. Our sincere apologies if the range of activities you expected were not available here.

Despite your mixed feelings review, we hope you have good memories of Bunaken and two good night's sleep here at Froggies Divers Bunaken. We do hope that you can return and that next time we can surpass your expectations.

Kind regards from us and the rest of the staff here at Froggies-

Chi & Spencer
Resort Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We stayed at Froggies Bunaken for a week and after that another week at Froggies Lembeh. Everything went really smoothly, we were transferred door-to-door from Bunaken resort to Lembeh resort and our own dive gear was transferred in boxes for us.

The resort in Bunaken has great big dining and meeting lounge, where it's great to hang out after the dives or before dinner. There is no swimming pool or beach for swimming at the resort, but you can relax in the lounge area. There are many books available to search for what you took pictures of, and the management is also very helpful in identifying those.

Food was great and there was good variety of fish, meat and vegetables. The staff was great and especially the local staff loved to sing and play during dinner time.

Our dive guide, Iwan, was absolutely amazing in finding big, small and macro for us to see. I lost count on how many turtles we saw, but surely the pygmy seahorse was one of the highlights of all. Unlimited dive time is something we appreciate, and Froggies provides that.

Our Superior bungalow was on top of the stairs (+80 stairs), and although it is already a 20-year old resort, it was very clean and everything worked well.

If you plan to dive both in Bunaken and Lembeh we can definitely recommend Froggies.

Room Tip: Superior bungalows are big but there are quite many steps to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Froggies_Divers, Manager at Froggies Divers Bunaken, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Miia and Sammi

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Froggies Divers Bunaken.

We're so glad that you enjoyed your time here and had some brilliant diving! The life here is just spectacular and it's lucky that we have so many reef and fish identification books or otherwise we would never remember the names of all that we see on our dives! The pygmy seahorse is truly one of the highlights here, especially as it was even discovered by one of the local guides- they have eyes like eagles :-)

We had a lot of fun with you both and very much hope that you will come back!

Kindest regards and best wishes from the whole team-

Chi & Spencer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

My wife and I spent two weeks at froggies and took some courses and fun dives.
Chi and Spencer really have passion as instructors, we could learn a lot during the courses and also have a lot of fun.
Eric, our guide is extremely helpful and professional,always could found the creatures we never seen. The diving sites are amazing.
All staffs are friendly, and we also made new friends with other customers. This is a place let you feel as a big family, I even got a birthday surprise with cake and music.

The only shortcoming is our vacation is too short, wish to stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wu_Yihui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Froggies_Divers, Manager at Froggies Divers Bunaken, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Wu and Jenny

Thank you for your wonderful review. Your feedback means so much to the Froggies staff, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Froggies Divers Bunaken.
We had a lot of fun teaching you both, and hope we can dive again together in the future. Wishing you more amazing adventures to come!

Please keep in touch!

Best wishes and happy diving from all the Froggies Family :-)

Chi and Spencer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunaken Island hotels
0.2 km away
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
#1 of 16 in Bunaken Island
276 reviews
1.4 km away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
181 reviews
2.8 km away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
#3 of 16 in Bunaken Island
359 reviews
2.4 km away
Jonaths Cottage
Jonaths Cottage
#16 of 16 in Bunaken Island
16 reviews
2.7 km away
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Raja Laut Dive Resort
#4 of 16 in Bunaken Island
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Froggies Divers Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Froggies Divers Bunaken

Address: Liang Beach, Bunaken Island, Manado, Bunaken Island 95555, Indonesia (Formerly Froggies Divers)
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range: ₹ 2,276 - ₹ 3,793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Froggies Divers is a small dive resorts and eco-friendly PADI operation on Bunaken and Lembeh Island.We try to make it a home away from home and many of our guests also become friends. Our main concern is to offer a very personal service and exceptional diving. The groups are small, no more than 4 guests per guide . We take good care not only of our divers but also of preserving marine life. All our boats are equipped with Oxygen, First Aid and safety standard procedure.With the help of our experienced crew and our Indonesian English speaking dive guides we try to make the operation run as smoothly as possible.In order to show you all the riches of our underwater world we choose long, slow and relaxed dives; no need to go very deep, most of the beauties are well above the 30m, and we like to take long long safety stops, while admiring the upper part of the reef. Your dive time is limited by your air consumption, you will be underwater for at least from 60 - 75 minutes on most of your dives. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing