We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & wonderful diving”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Froggies Divers Bunaken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed at Froggies Divers for 5 nights in April, 2012. The owner of the Dive Resort was kind enough to arrange for our hotel in Manado for 1 night as our plane arrived very late at night. He also arranged for us to be picked up by a cab in the early morning, driven to the harbor, and brought over to the island in time for 2 daytime dives that very day. The timing was excellent, and it was easy. Everybody was very helpful, and it all felt right. Our bungalow was absolutely fine: the queen size bed was firm, there was mosquito netting that we didn't really need to use at all, there was a rotating fan on the wall, and our bathroom was open and nice. There is even FREE laundry which totally blew our minds!!!!!!!! All of the food is served buffet style. I'm giving the hotel 4 stars because I think there could be a better variety of food, and much of it was fried (which is not good for me; bad stomach). However, the really IMPORTANT things about Froggies were excellent: our dive guide, Samuel, was fabulous. He was great! Our bottom times were outstanding, sometimes 90 minutes, and he pointed out critters to us continually. He's a wonderful divemaster, as are the other divemasters. The diving is mostly wall diving, and those walls are packed with corals, tunicates, fishes, and many HUGE turtles. The viz was very good when we were there, and the water was very calm. The dive boats had plenty of room, and all of the dive sites were quite close to the island. Many people might suggest that you dive Bunaken but stay in Manado. This is a huge mistake, in my opinion. GO to Bunaken and stay there! It will not only save you a bundle of time but it's absolutely beautiful on the island, and it's where you want to be. Another very cool thing was that it was my birthday while I was there. The owner went to great lengths to make it a very special day for me: he ordered a DELICIOUS chocolate-mocha cake from a wonderful bakery in Manado, had it brought over by boat!!!!! and surprised me at dinner with it. The divemasters (and a few guests) formed a band and sang me happy birthday along with the rest of the interesting and wonderful guests. It was a wonderful birthday gift, and one I will remember forever :-) Getting that cake delivered by boat, from that town was no easy thing. Froggies does go the extra mile--- both with helping in making the arrangements and following through. You can rely on them. That's a big thing! I would highly recommend Froggies Divers to anybody who wants to dive Bunaken. It has a very comfortable set-up at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: I think that all the rooms are good. They are little bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScubaSue49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed in Froggies for two days with my friend last march. Did two dives around the area and really enjoyed it. Your gear is ready on the boat in the morning. Only thing you have to do is wake up, have breakfast jump on the boat and in the water. Benny does a really good job in making you feel welcome at his place and explains everything into detail. The resort itself has nice traditional rooms which are good price quality. You get what you pay for at Froggies. The area itself is really nice and you can walk around on the island when you are not diving. The food is mostly local food and it is served in buffet style. No complaints at all about the food!

Overall Froggies is an affordable place to dive and stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaliReefDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Froggies for 4 nights, 8 dives in February 2012. From the first email till the drop-off at our next hotel, this was a great experience! This is definitely a place to consider when you're diving at Bunaken. My girl called it VIP-diving, as the only thing u almost literally have to do yourself here is breathe :)

Booking/Price
We had trouble contacting places by phone on Bunaken just before our arrival, due to bad weather the telephone lines were dead. So we mailed several resorts - living colors, village bunaken, cha cha etc. Of these places Froggies was the quickest to reac. We got a VERY complete mail with detailed description of everything, bungalow choices, diving, packages etc etc. We chose a 4 night 6 dive package with the premium bungalow (Barracuda or Eagle Ray) for € 305 per person (so that's € 47.50 per night for the double room and € 35 per dive per person) and one extra dive (€35 pp.) and one extra night dive (€25 pp.) . Equipment (15€ pppd.) Pickup €35 pp (from+to airport, car and boat). This included 3 meals a day plus afternoon snack.

Imo great value for money, this diving rate is fairly standard across Bunaken. We didn't bother to negotiate about the price (which we usually do - Can't help it, we're Dutch;) ). But as it was low season it was probably possible to get something of this price.

Stay
What makes this place great is firstmost the staff and especially manager Benny. Right of the bat you feel very welcome, and you notice that Benny and the crew do their utmost to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Benny has a knack for detail, from the extra towels in the bungalow, to the umbrella's for the rain, everything is arranged to perfection. We were also very content with our bungalow (Barracuda) which is one of the two new bungalows. very comfy bed, spacious, a nice porch, a couch and a lovely Bali style bathroom. Dinner was also very nice, the chef cooks delicious & varied meals, which you eat together in the dining area (with view over the bay).

We apreciated the free WiFi and the 'magic basket' is really something else; you throw in your smelly dirty clothes in the morning, and presto! , you have nice clean, ironed clothes (with a gift wrap ribbon :) ) in the afternoon. I tried it at home, but somehow our laundry basket just doesn't get it.

Diving
And of course the diving was EXCELLENT. Our dive guide Steven must have 3 pairs of eyes, this guy notices everything, from tiny orang utang crabs to hiding leaf scorpion fishes. The amount of species and the coral walls are very spectacular.

The guys really take their time for you, my girl had some initial fears to dive again(+ hyperventilation, it had been 2 years). so we started slowly and they really made her at ease. Also all your gear is carried and set up for you, so it's just a matter of putting your gear on and dive. The gear is also in excellent condition. We ended up doing 8 dives incl 1 night dive - which included a view of mating mandarin fish (cool!). They also do PADI courses by the way. Steven took us for a walk around the island and to his village, which was really cool as well.

Conclusion
We had a great stay, definitely the highlight (together with Toraja) of our Sulawesi trip. I would recommend it to anyone who loves diving, good food and warm people!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ThePASSenger96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Diving,eating and sleeping....This is what you ll do there!!!
Diving: good equipment,professional staff,small group (we were 2 divers per staff),good understanding about the dive condition (current,tides....).
Eating:very good food.
sleeping: very nice and quiet bungalows
The manager,Benny,is very helpfull and all the staff are very nice!!!
So this is a great place if you are loking for this kind of holliday!!!
Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olivier l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My wife and I were visiting Froggies from 20 till 27 december 2011. We were in that moment the only guests, and we were wondering about that. The Bungalow (Barracuda) had a wonderfull view over the Sea. We had no Christmas celebrations but our cook Betsy made every day Christmas lunches and dinners for us. The food was amasing.
The Manager Benny is a very nice guy but he is a man of no many words. (I am kidding). Benny knows what his job is and that is managing the people (not easy) and make his quests
feeling at home. He was bringing us to the most beautifull Undersea gardens we ever saw.
Ther eis only one blame and that is the Indonisien Gouverment who is doing nothing to all the pulosion what is comming from Manado. Our opinion is: stop throuing the dirt into the water otherwise there are no resorts anymore in that aria in the future.

Room Tip: The most beautifull view is from the Bungalows upstrears, but you have many steps to go. Only for pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunaken Island hotels
1.4 km away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
181 reviews
2.8 km away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
2 km away
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
#3 of 16 in Bunaken Island
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Jonaths Cottage
Jonaths Cottage
#16 of 16 in Bunaken Island
16 reviews
2.7 km away
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Raja Laut Dive Resort
#4 of 16 in Bunaken Island
224 reviews
0.2 km away
Happy Gecko Resort Bunaken (Cicak Senang)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Froggies Divers Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Froggies Divers Bunaken

Address: Liang Beach, Bunaken Island, Manado, Bunaken Island 95555, Indonesia (Formerly Froggies Divers)
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range: ₹ 2,277 - ₹ 3,795 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Froggies Divers is a small dive resorts and eco-friendly PADI operation on Bunaken and Lembeh Island.We try to make it a home away from home and many of our guests also become friends. Our main concern is to offer a very personal service and exceptional diving. The groups are small, no more than 4 guests per guide . We take good care not only of our divers but also of preserving marine life. All our boats are equipped with Oxygen, First Aid and safety standard procedure.With the help of our experienced crew and our Indonesian English speaking dive guides we try to make the operation run as smoothly as possible.In order to show you all the riches of our underwater world we choose long, slow and relaxed dives; no need to go very deep, most of the beauties are well above the 30m, and we like to take long long safety stops, while admiring the upper part of the reef. Your dive time is limited by your air consumption, you will be underwater for at least from 60 - 75 minutes on most of your dives. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing