We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unforgettable pilgrimage !!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sri Mookambika Temple

Sri Mookambika Temple
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Kollur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Unforgettable pilgrimage !!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

You will feel much relief once you reach here in the Goddess mookambika devi's hand. You will forget your sorrows and illness, atleast till the time you are in the temple. The atmosphere is perfectly made for worshiping Goddess mookambika, who is regarded as manifestation of Shakti, Saraswathi and Mahalakshmi.

Mookambika temple is around 150 km from Mangalore city. One they way or back one can visit famous Udupi temple also. The Murudeswara siva temple is also near to kollur at around 1 and half hours ride from there.

Mookambika temple situated at the bottom of Kodachadri mountain. It is belived that the original position of goddess was on the top of this peak, because for the easiness of ordinary people to visit and wokship her diety , saint Adi Shankaracharya reestablished the temple at kollur.

In my opinion, one should need to be presented during all the poojas, like during morning, afternnoon and night time to see different face changes of mookambika devi.

It's adviceble to spend couple of days in kollur to visit the temple and kodachandri hill. Several jeeps are operating from temple premises to kodachadri hills every hour. It's a really adventours ride to kodachadri peak, one with heart or related problems should avoid the trip. It's off course a religeous trip, but keep a good camera with you to capture life time pictures. Kodachadri is an adventurous place for poeple interested in trekking.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank Sree_adr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    94
    16
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Divine and Heavenly feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Temple has got rich heritage of the past. Lord Sri Mookambika looks quite divine and the temple is well maintained and untouched by the more commercialization. The poojas and cermonies are done according to very old tradition done many many years back. It is worth the visit to the temple to the divine blessings.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank psunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Renowned Great Temple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I visit Mookambika Temple every year - A matchless Great place of worship - offer you a sense of relief from our sorrows - Its a MUST to take "KASHAYAM" in the evening around 0845 to 0900 pm - distributed at the temple -

One must take dip at the "SOUPARNIKA" RIVER - its a custom there

We stay at " Beena residency" - offers value for your money and is only 3 minutes away from the temple. Serves vegetarian food..

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank MPGNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“THE BEST PLACE FOR A HOLY TRIP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

The temple and the premises are very neat and well maintained,there are small vegeterian eat out,every day morning there is a trip to Kodajathri,it is a very good experience,you should move to this plave only in a jeep,it seems that you are touching the sky.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank MANOBHAVAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mysore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I had a very good experience, I went with my family and children. I went to mookambika temple in the month of march. it was not crowded so I could go inside my temple with out any trouble. I went to temple for my daughter, since we had some prayer to go with her. It was kept clean but only one concern is the surroundings should also be kept clean.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank speciality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sri Mookambika Temple also viewed

 
Shimoga, Karnataka
Kollur, Karnataka
 

Been to Sri Mookambika Temple? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing