We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely views!

Nice quite small castle with very interesting history and good views down to Turnov area. They have... read more

Reviewed 8 September 2018
Ispe111
,
Tampere, Finland
Nice castle

There is not much left of it. Still it is worth to visit and the nature around is breathtaking... read more

Reviewed 1 October 2017
Petr H
via mobile
Read all 68 reviews
  
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
3
6
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
6
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park small castle woods path century chapel hill
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Nice quite small castle with very interesting history and good views down to Turnov area. They have small fee but it's worth of it. Outside The Castle there is small outdoor restaurant which offers food and drinks on reasonable price.. We had pancakes and they were really tasty!

Thank Ispe111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

There is not much left of it. Still it is worth to visit and the nature around is breathtaking. Also visit the rock formations and "zámek Hrubá skála"

Thank Petr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

It is not very easy to find the way to the spot since it is poorly marked if you arrive from Turnov. You should take the Soboticka st. and carefully watch out once you've passed the train rails. At some (alomst invisibly marked) point, you need to turn left and ride a winded road up the hill. Once you've arrived at the car park, you need to closely watch the path markings. If you do not and simply follow the beaten track, it will take almost one hour for you to get to the castle. The actual "short version" path turns right after several minutes walk (into the woods, up a steep hill) and is not well marked thus, you can easily overlook it and just keep going up the asphalt road. The scenery around is very nice, but it requires some effort to reach the Valdstejn castle.
The castle itself is quite small (actually one small historical building + a chapel + some ruins with nice views from them), therefore, if you feel like comparing this one to other famous castles in the Cesky Raj area in terms of the sightseeing and historical value, you might feel somewhat disappointed. Castle Valdstejn is predominantly a romantic getaway spot that you reach, having climed up a hill and taken a nice stroll through the surrounding woods.

1  Thank Vannegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

A castle was founded on a flat plateaux of the rocks, it was a defensive castle. Only
a part of a ground floor of the castle was preserved up to this time. There is a very nice
view from teracce. Very nice chapel of St.John of Nepomuk.
From a car park it is about 500 m to walk up to hill.

Thank ludek2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Not realy a castle. Some costumes presented. The guided tour is not in english. The view from there is not better than a view from a near by road.

1  Thank liork570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Marvelous scenarery, the prefect on day escape! We went with a baby, but here is a tip for all the enthusiasts that would like to go with their kid: If u have a stroller - be warned that you will need to take the bycicle path (something like 3km each way), while as if you have a carrier, do take it with you. The walking path is steep at some places, but very manageable (total of 0.5km). There is a nice bar/restaurant on top, where you can rest and recharge your batteries.

Thank Mermaide217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Sensational views, nice area, well maintained buildings. We visited at a weekend and there was some wood-sword fighting for the children going on which our son really enjoyed.

Thank M6W6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We were really looking forward to the visit to the castle, the web site looks really good and there is no mention of what we found when we parked and walked to the castle.
When we arrived at the bridge to the entrance extensive works were taking place to the walkway, all the cobblestones were being refitted, not a problem in itself though no consideration was being implemented for visitors.
We got our tickets from the ticket office but when we went to the castle we could not go inside, a sign seem to suggest entrance only with a guide, though there were workmen all over fitting locks to doors and what we did glimpse through the door looked like a total mess in the main room, Went to go up the stairs when someone said something which when we turned round he just shrugged his shoulders, we soon found out that the doors off the stairs were locked. Went for a walk round the church which was nothing like the web site photographs, in poor condition with scaffolding on part of it. Went back to the ticket office, suddenly a language problem and we were referred to two students who appeared to be carrying out fieldwork. We wanted to know whether or not we could visit the castle, seemed that we could not without a guide, was there a guide, did not know.
This monument is owned by the town of Turnov, what we encountered was not just disappointing it was deceptive. We had 12 really good days in Poland and Czechia, unfortunately this was not one of them. If someone from Turnov wants to contact me via TA I would be more than pleased to respond. In the meantime you need to put something on your website about the current situation.

1  Thank BandKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Definitely worth visiting - choose the time when some festivities are taking place, it is usually plenty of fun! Castle itself is very picturesque, not even mentioning the stunning views!!!

Thank JanaK2260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

This Hrad claims to be the most romantic in Cesky Raj. But honestly I was extremely underwhelmed. Not much to admire and learn about on the interior. And the exterior views were poor compared to other sights in the area. I don't mind a hike, but when you get to the top and you find there are dozens of folks who drove to the top on another road and didn't pay to park, it's a bit disconcerting. I'll be back to Cesky Raj soon enough with friends. This Hrad will not be on the must see list.

1  Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews