We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for a large party of people”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glyngynwydd

Our Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Cottages
Cottages 1, 2, 3 Cottages 4 & 5
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Our Cottages
Cottages 1, 2, 3
Cottages 4 & 5
The Stables - communal room
Cottage 1
Ty Iasf bedroom 1
Ty Iasf bedroom 2
Ty Iasf bedroom 2
Cottage 2
Ty Canol Bach
Ty Canol Bach
Cottage 3
Ty Canol Mawr Bedroom 1
Ty Canol Mawr bedroom 2
Cottage 4
Ty Cornel family bedroom
Ty Cornel family bedroom
Cottage 5
Ty Uchaf bedroom 1
Ty Uchaf bedroom 2
Ty Uchaf bedroom 2
Cottage 1 Ty Iasf 
living area
Cottage 1
Ty Iasf
Cottage 2 
Ty Canol Bach
Cottage 3
Ty Canol Mawr sitting-room
Cottage 4 Ty Cornel
Cottage 5 
Ty uchaf
Cottage 5 
Ty Uchaf
Cottage 4 Ty Cornel
One of the 5 bathrooms
Pets welcome. We charge £5 per dog per night, to be paid on arrival.
The Stables - communal room
The Stables
The Stables
Dining in the communal room
Dining in the communal room
Seating in the communal room
Seating in the communal room
The Stables
The Stables
Tesco's delivers
The cottages
Cottage 5
The view
toasting marshmallows
The football field
Clywedog Reservoir 20 mins from us
fresh eggs daily
View from across the valley
the woods
Running furniture painting classes
From Junk n Disorderly
Running chocolate courses
and cheese making courses
both from Artisan Country Crafts
Elan Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Llanidloes, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mr_Spock5...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Ideal for a large party of people”
Reviewed 5 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife was invited to our daughter's hen party at Glyngynwydd. She had an amazing weekend with around 20 guests. Being one of the first there, she was met by the owner (Carla?) who had accepted their large Tesco food order and stored it in the fridges of the cottages and the large stable communal area. The cottages are very clean and well equipped with everything you could possibly need including towels and linen. There is a large communal area, formerly the stables, which is very useful when a large group get together. The buildings are surrounded by 11 acres of land, all of which they were invited to explore. They were greeted in the morning by ducks and hens who gave plenty of entertainment for the guests who sat eating their breakfast outside. A small stream runs outside the front of the cottages with seating area for warm weather. All in all, if you want self catering in this area for a large number of people this would be very difficult to beat. They have recently converted their barn to a wedding barn which was used on this occasion for Belgian chocolate making. A fab activity which she will also write a review for. She would love to return to explore more of the grounds. A wonderful time was had by all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
We're so glad you enjoyed it - hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Many thanks - and thank you for arranging the weather!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gemhender...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Superb family accommodation in beautiful suroundings”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

With 5 families, inc 13 adults, 7 children and 2 dogs we needed a venue for a family birthday and these cottages fitted the bill. The set up was great with each family having a cottage to retire to and the big barn for food and fun. The children had so much fun, chasing chickens and feeding lambs. We were happy for them to explore the land and loved them being able to get a taste of the country. The local area was stunning with mountains, red kites, waterfalls, steam trains and the beach 30 mins away, there's something for everyone. Carla was wonderful, always friendly and on hand for help. We can recommend these cottages for celebrations and family gatherings.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
Many thanks - hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayra123
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect place to escape the hustle & bustle & get some yoga done.”
Reviewed 18 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I booked out all 5 cottages for a yoga and martial arts retreat in Nov 2016. There were 11 of us who drove up from London. The location was fine, the shops were a 5 min drive away in case you run out of milk or bread. The air was crisp and fresh. The family was so endearing and helpful! The fire at night was so cosy in the stables. The barn definitely had loads of space for our activities. The only thing about the barn was that it was a bit cold when our bodies were cooling down, so make sure the heaters are turned on + you bring an extra layer of clothes for Savasana if you go during cold months.

The family, the animals, the location, and everything else was worth the money & the drive. Carla, Adam and family and Guinness, I will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2016
Many thanks - new blow heaters now in place!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place - perfect birthday!”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the cottages for a 25th birthday in January. There were 19 of us so we booked out all of the cottages. I found it to be very good value for money at just under 900 for the whole thing... Just over 40 each for a two night stay.... You can't stay in a hostel for that price!!

When we approached the cottages I was astounded by the beauty of the place, with period cottages and even a stream flowing through the location. Lots of farm animals, wood burning fires and the cottages have everything you can possibly need. The beds in each of the cottages are honestly one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, everyone in the group commented on how great they were.

The communal stable is great for big groups, we played lots of board games, enjoyed some drinks and stayed cosy in front of the fire. I was able to cook a meal for everyone on the Saturday night and the communal stable facilitated this perfectly.

I was initially worried that we would disturb the owners with our noise, because 20, 25 year old after a drink can be a bit rowdy, but the sound of the stream drowned off the noise and they were very hospitable hosts - they just let you get on with it but you know they are there if you need anything.

We enjoyed a walk in their woods and fed the ducks, and pigs. We are hoping to book another visit in the summer so that we can enjoy the grounds a bit more and get some BBQs going! Would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing