We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful place - perfect birthday!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glyngynwydd

Our Cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our Cottages
Cottages 1, 2, 3 Cottages 4 & 5
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Our Cottages
Cottages 1, 2, 3
Cottages 4 & 5
The Stables - communal room
Cottage 1
Ty Iasf bedroom 1
Ty Iasf bedroom 2
Ty Iasf bedroom 2
Cottage 2
Ty Canol Bach
Ty Canol Bach
Cottage 3
Ty Canol Mawr Bedroom 1
Ty Canol Mawr bedroom 2
Cottage 4
Ty Cornel family bedroom
Ty Cornel family bedroom
Cottage 5
Ty Uchaf bedroom 1
Ty Uchaf bedroom 2
Ty Uchaf bedroom 2
Cottage 1 Ty Iasf 
living area
Cottage 1
Ty Iasf
Cottage 2 
Ty Canol Bach
Cottage 3
Ty Canol Mawr sitting-room
Cottage 4 Ty Cornel
Cottage 5 
Ty uchaf
Cottage 5 
Ty Uchaf
Cottage 4 Ty Cornel
One of the 5 bathrooms
Pets welcome. We charge £5 per dog per night, to be paid on arrival.
The Stables - communal room
The Stables
The Stables
Dining in the communal room
Dining in the communal room
Seating in the communal room
Seating in the communal room
The Stables
The Stables
Tesco's delivers
The cottages
Cottage 5
The view
toasting marshmallows
The football field
Clywedog Reservoir 20 mins from us
fresh eggs daily
View from across the valley
the woods
Running furniture painting classes
From Junk n Disorderly
Running chocolate courses
and cheese making courses
both from Artisan Country Crafts
Elan Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Llanidloes, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah B
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful place - perfect birthday!”
Reviewed 15 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the cottages for a 25th birthday in January. There were 19 of us so we booked out all of the cottages. I found it to be very good value for money at just under 900 for the whole thing... Just over 40 each for a two night stay.... You can't stay in a hostel for that price!!

When we approached the cottages I was astounded by the beauty of the place, with period cottages and even a stream flowing through the location. Lots of farm animals, wood burning fires and the cottages have everything you can possibly need. The beds in each of the cottages are honestly one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, everyone in the group commented on how great they were.

The communal stable is great for big groups, we played lots of board games, enjoyed some drinks and stayed cosy in front of the fire. I was able to cook a meal for everyone on the Saturday night and the communal stable facilitated this perfectly.

I was initially worried that we would disturb the owners with our noise, because 20, 25 year old after a drink can be a bit rowdy, but the sound of the stream drowned off the noise and they were very hospitable hosts - they just let you get on with it but you know they are there if you need anything.

We enjoyed a walk in their woods and fed the ducks, and pigs. We are hoping to book another visit in the summer so that we can enjoy the grounds a bit more and get some BBQs going! Would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilio M
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rain or shine - Glyngynwydd cottages and the surrounding area leave an impression to remember!”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed at the Glyngynwydd cottages from 6-9th November, and arrived on mass (18 of us!) on Friday evening.

The cottages are located right in the heart of amazing Welsh countryside. The owners (Carla and Adam), were so friendly and welcoming to the cottages upon our arrival and showed us around our stunning cottages. They were so helpful throughout our weekend, offering their services and attention for anything that we needed.

We spent our weekend Canoeing, in local pubs and relaxing as a group in Glyngynwydd's communal barn, it was fantastic! I would highly recommend Canoeing for any outdoorsy groups (we booked through Staylittle Outdoor Centre). The reservoir is a stunning drive from the cottages and will be sure to cure a hangover!

All in all a memorable weekend away with a great group of friends - but made even more special by the accommodation and hosts that put us up for the weekend - 10/10!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2015
Thanks Emilio - we hope you all had a good trip back and we'll see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fidget201...
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing lovely owners and a beautiful place for family and dogs”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here in June we rented at the cottages as a bug family group booking, the owners were lovely nothing was to much trouble you weren't treated as guest you were made to feel like friends.
The accommodation was amazing very clean and tidy the beds were very comfortable the kitchens were like home from home they supplied tea and coffee for you.
The grounds were brilliant a lovely stream outside the cottages a lovely walk up to tyre swing and rope swing and a ladder going up to an amazing tree you can climb.
You can even have your own camp fire in one of the fields.
We will be booking again that's for sure highly recommend

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA H
Cromford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Ticked all the boxes for family party”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Brilliant accommodation, cosy,comfy, has everything you need for a break away. Children friendly - Pet friendly - Lovely Barn for parties and very well equipped for families / groups alike. Take your walking boots to enjoy the lovely area on foot!
Would certainly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannahdry...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb location, comfortable accomodation, warm and friendly hosts.”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for Christmas 2014, and booked 4 cottages and the barn. We had a fantastic holiday. Carla, Adam and family were so helpful and friendly. The cottages had everything we needed, were warm, cozy and nicely decorated. The barn made an excellent venue for our family to gather together for food, with tables large enough to cater for our group and an area suitable for games. The setting is beautiful our children explored and played outside in the gardens, played football and swung on rope swings. We were able to walk from the accomodation up into the surrounding hills all very picturesque. An excellent holiday would love to visit again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing