We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
3
3
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
3
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2017

For the best viewing of wildlife on the Rio Frio and Cano Negro reserve near Los Chiles, you must get an early start. That means spending the night in Los Chiles and we found the best place with the best people running it. Hotel Castillo Azul is left on the main highway leading into town. The rooms are large, shiny clean, with AC, large TV, secure parking and the nicest, most helpful hosts. Martin took us to the pier the evening before so we could arrange an early ride. The prices are just great and the best part, you get a good night's sleep and are right there ready for the fantastic boat ride. Ask Robert and Martin for directions to the pharmacia in town and the little breakfast place!

Room Tip: enter through the arch and drive to the end , toot horn as sign says - we stayed at the very last room in the back. so quiet!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bafheartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Martin and Robert and family are great people! A wild animal sanctuary complete with Carlos the pet Cayman! Tilapia farm, geese, Carlos, guinea's, chickens, little dogs whose bark is bigger than no bite, a Caron (sp) bird trained to not fish the Tilapia without permission white bird very beautiful and lots of flora and fauna! These are lovely people who jump to serve the very roughed outdoorsman! Don't expect frills just the best bang for your buck as Robert I L states in a clean room with TV and Air Conditioning. Super affordable too.

Room Tip: Just ask Robert.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We stumbled across this place because we needed a place to stay after arriving late at night. We were planning to take a trip into Nicaragua, but ended up having a great excursion into the Cano Negro on the owner's boat. While the accomodations are not luxurious, more like very simple, the rooms are extremely inexpensive. These are not resort digs, but like an old motor lodge. However they were clean and the people are friendly. They were more than willing to help us plan our trip to Nicaragua, but after speaking with Martin, we decided to take a fantastic day trip up the Rio Frio into the Cano Negro. The sight seeing was amazing. We were given an up close and personal view of the wildlife by our guide, Julio. My daughter, who had just spent a month studying in the Osa Peninsula, was able to see three varieties of monkeys from a much shorter distance than she experienced in her field studies. While I can't tell you the rooms were great, I can say the people were fantastic and the experience unparalleled. So, if you want a cheap place to stay, wish to meet some interesting people and would like a fantastic wildlife viewing experience, see Martin and Robert.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sal92590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

The hotel is very good for the money, it hadv A C hot water cable TV led TVs, real quiet place to stay it is on a big farm. the fish dinner is the best its a must was very fresh they have a fish farm. Everone was very helpful whey gave me a lot of usefull info for my trip to nicaragura, on what to do and were to stay,

Room Tip: Must have hot water and AC
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robert l L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

i've been to costa rica 30+ times for the last 10 years and this is easily the best deal i've found here. for a mere $23 per night i got a room with hot water, a/c, satelitte cable tv, and wifi (which didn't reach inside the room, but they told me it didn't). in 10 years i've never found this in a place under $50 per night let alone $30 per night. i normally stay at my friend's house in los chiles central but they had too many guests and no a.c. there and i knew how bad the mosquitos are down by the river at hotel wilson so i figured i'd try this place. instead of 4 nights there i ended up staying all 9 nights there since it was such a good value. mosquitos were much less there as its not as near to the river, and it was completely quite there when the sun was down. yes, they do have some geese and farm animals there as it is basically a hotel on a farm but i found that to be more comical and charming than anything. i mean, if you don't like nature and farms, don't go to zona norte and los chiles!

the owner and his assistant Martin & Robert could be considered by some to be abrasive but they were extremely attentive, courteous, genuine, and entertaining. they ended up inviting us over for dinner and drinks every night and were excellent company and conversationalists. plus, Martin and his wife Vicky are outstanding chefs. when i come back to visit my friend in los chiles i won't even want to stay in his house i'd rather pay the $25 here for the a/c, king sized bed, hot water shower, wifi, satellite tv and incredible cooking by Martin and his family.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank nikolimartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews