We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
216
51
12
12
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
51
12
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach mats excellent hosts perfect location small hotel make you feel at home air con fell in love aegina port shops and restaurants beautiful beach maria fridge umbrellas island athens balcony greece
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018

My wife and I returned to Agia Marina for the first time in 36 years and decided to book a hotel this time as opposed to taking a tent and camping on the beach as we did in 1982! The Rachel was booked based on the reviews here and we agree with virtually all of the previous guests who emphasised that it's the owners, Giannis & Angelica who are the stars of the show. Both speak very good English and nothing was too much trouble. We had asked for a sea view and got Room 11 - the 'Mermaid Room' - with a balcony overlooking the sea. We could actually see the area we had pitched our tent all those years before when we were just a couple of kids. We spent many an evening having a nightcap out there listening to the waves and sipping a Barcardi & Coke.

The room was pretty small but that didn't bother us. There was enough storage and above all it was clean with regularly changed sheets. The bathroom was cramped and the shower hot but hand-held. Hey, this is a one star hotel not an Intercontinental so let's get real. The air con unit was excellent - we've actually stayed in higher ranked hotels with much worse air con. The in-room fridge was full sized and actually worked well - again that's something others can learn from.

Greeks still can't do plumbing so used toilet paper cannot be flushed but that's Greece for you and hardly the owners' fault. We were woken up early some mornings due to some rather inconsiderate Romanian guests who were pilgrims to the Aghios Nektarios monastery. Loud scraping of furniture on the floor and loud talking in the hallway whilst banging doors- all at 6am. Very annoying but again, not the owners' fault. Perhaps they could put a note in the rooms asking guests to be considerate of others but I couldn't knock a star off for something that's largely outside their control.

Breakfast was included and more than adequate. Choice of toast, cereals or the usual Mediterranean cooked meats, eggs and cheese.

My wife fell in love with Angelica's boutique which is also on the premises and thought that her collections were the best she had seen on the island. Angelica certainly has taste!

Would we go back? Absolutely. We probably won't leave it another 36 years though, but would definitely book the Rachel again.

Room Tip: We would avoid a room facing the road. Room 11 is excellent for sea views but probably won't be guaranteed.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Is a wonderful place thinking how much I paid!
Have a great location. Is in the town!
The owner is really careful about your stay there!
The rooms are big and clean!
And also come with a awesome breakfast all included!
100% recomendable!
Thanks u so much for the great night there!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Felipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018

We left the port and literally stumbled upon our hotel (it's a small area). Check in was friendly and quick. We went to our room - small bathroom, especially as there were three of us squeezed into the room but we had a substantial balcony which was cute. Beds were clean and comfortable. We quite literally ran to the beach - a minute or two walk from the hotel. The hotel provides beach mats to take with us free of charge, although no beach towels - we purchased these separately. You have quite a few food options nearby, it is a very safe area to walk around and even bumped into our hotel manager in a restaurant one evening, everyone seems to know one another and adds to the friendly atmosphere. This is a one star hotel, it offers a breakfast - while it is basic, it is enough to line your stomach to get you going. The hotel gets great reviews, in my opinion, because of the staff/owners, they really do go out of their way to make you feel at home and looked after - we were even driven somewhere nearby one day to save us the walk in the heat. It could of course be improved/updated (shower/bathroom) but I would stay here again even if it remained just as it was during my last stay - sufficient for a couple of days away from Athens.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank citygirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

A Big Thankyou to Giannis & Angelica for helping to make our holiday a very happy one. We came to celebrate our 25th Anniversary & arrived to find a lovely hand written letter & bottle of wine on our arrival. Very kind & warm welcome. Lovely friendly hotel which is kept very clean & run like clockwork. Perfect location, a minute to the beach or to local restaurants & shops. We had a room upstairs with a sea view, which I had requested but as we booked late was told it could not be guaranteed, although we were very happy to find they had granted our wish on arrival. Lovely room, large balcony/ outside space & with everything we needed including air-con & Very comfortable beds. Angelica has obviously put her flair for design into the rooms with pretty & unique finishing touches, with the window drapes, picture, light shades & furnishings. The cleaner was also amazing & cleaned the room thoroughly & left fresh bed linen & towels every day. Very nice breakfast buffet with plenty of options. Would highly recommend this hotel. Thankyou again Giannis & Angelica, we really appreciate all your efforts. We enjoyed our stay with you so much & you will definitely be 1st on our list when we visit Agia Marina next time. Louisa & Clay xx

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loucontagious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We last went to Aegina 2 years ago and stayed at a really great hotel, only 2 stars and on a B and B basis. We were lucky and stayed in the same room. For such a little hotel, only 18rooms, it has everything a 3star has....kettle, bug plug, bring your own inserts, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, fridge and a balcony with every room. Your towels etc are changed every day and it is in easy reach of the beach and also the ferry. In the area there are some great little places to eat quite cheaply. Look up Achillion and Cafe Marina and palaces we didn't like such as Faros

Room Tip: Room 13, lucky for some, not quite a beach view but we like it (3 times)
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews