We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
13
25
17
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
25
17
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stunning views converted monastery place kloster alps seminar bells meat choices town base buffet
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

The room was small, perfectly formed and comfortable. No TV or AC. The first I didn't miss as the views from this place are stunning. The AC would have been nice as it was very warm in the room.
I've never stayed anywhere as quiet as this though. You could hear silence.
Some lovely local beer and simple food made this a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

Had a 3 day workshop in the Kloster including meals. Rooms are rather simple and no tv but everything else you need. Very nice surrounding and views to the alps. Good for the soul and could imagine to stay there for private trip too. The kitchen is pretty simple but healthy and limited choices: meat, vegetarian, or fish.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank Rauli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

This place has stunning views. You feel transported to other times. Beautiful settings and grounds. The rooms are basic but I guess they suit the place. Breakfast is austere but healthy.
The only thing is.. staff could be a bit more helpful. We could not find the breakfast room , there are no signs to say where it is. Rather than just pointing with the finger from the chair it would have been nice if receptionist had got out of her chair and come with us. It seems to be a big deal for them to make the minimun effort. In my opinion, better customer service is the only thing this place lacks.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mypyreneeshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Yes, a converted monastery (cloister), all with basic amenities and fascinating vegetable gardens, sufficient food (quantity and selection, veggies and meat) + I experienced good service. Would ask the grazing cows to remove their bells at night, though. Rooms clean and basic. Conference facilities adequate. Did not experience problems with air conditioning, but wafts of cow dung through windows of main hall - not a hindrance, we were after all in the country. I would highly recommend this venue for conferences and travelers wanting a base while exploring the east of Zurich. G

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerhardus2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

If you ever wanted to have accommodation in a monastery, this is it. On top of the Albis mountain range above Zurich lake, amidst green fields, there is a beautiful, restful and magnificently restored monastery. Simple but great accommodation and food. Have lunch or coffee in the rose garden and enjoy fresh air

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Joachim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kloster K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Kloster Kappel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We would be pleased to see you again on another occasion in Kappel :-)
Kind regards,
Your Kloster Kappel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews