We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great country home in a beautiful and peaceful...”
other traveller has booked this property
External view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External view
Exterior Front door and terrace. Exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
External view
Exterior Front door and terrace.
Exterior
Moulin Exterior (main house)
Kitchen dining area
Kitchen
Kigchen Dining area
Sitting room
Main Bedroom
Main Bathroom
Courtyard area
Stream
Barn exterior entrance into the property
garden
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cazillac, Lot, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
AdamSzeke...
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
“Great country home in a beautiful and peaceful environment in the Dordogne region!”
Reviewed 2 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Kind owner, professional and helpful management, tastefully decorated and well maintained, spacious apartement, ideal for families and those looking for a peaceful spot in a region full of attractions.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2018
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted that you and your two children found Rouge comfortable, well equipped and spacious. We also loved that you enjoyed touring the area either on the bicycles and by car, finding and exploring villages like Collonges la Rouge, Martel, Turenne, Rocamadour and the Dordogne all within easy reach from the Moulin de Mskecoste. We hope that you will be back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deelite M
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“The great escape”
Reviewed 13 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

I escaped to Moulin de Malecoste for a long weekend, and it was so much more than I could have hoped for. The Moulin, situated in the serene country side of Cazillac, provided for my every need. I stayed in Bleu, a charming, comfortable converted barn, with all the necessary amenities laid out tastefully. The lovely hosts ensure you get the most out of your trip by providing local tips on the area, markets, places to see, things to do, etc. I wish I had booked for longer. It really was the break I needed, and will definitely be back in the near future! Thank you Heather and Moulin de Malecoste

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2018
Fantastic that you could spend a few days with us at the Moulin. Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the accommodation in Bleu as well as the re and places that we visited during your stay. I think that the highlight of the trip was the Gourmet evening at Cazillac with the live musi, dancing and tasting of the delicious regional foods being sold at the various stalls.
Come back to visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidandb...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 18 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This was our fourth time in Rouge. We love both the house and the area, which is rural, quiet and unspoilt. We have found lots of lovely walks within short car rides of the house and there are pretty villages and towns within easy reach.

The house is beautifully furnished and is maintained by Fiona of whom nothing is too much trouble. She is always available, always cheerful and unfailingly positive. The kitchen is convenient to use and is well - stocked with glassware, crockery and utensils. The garden is large, pretty and well-maintained with a stream and two mill ponds around it and beside the house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2018
David and Barbara,
Thank you firstly for booking with us so often as well as your wonderful review.. we are delighted that you love the accommodation and facilities in "Rouge" and It is remarkable that even after coming to the areas so often that you still find the surrounding villages interesting and of historical value. and find new areas to explore. We appreciate that you enjoy the many walks close to the Moulin as well as the enjoying being at home in the quiet tranquillity of the garden. Thank you and Happy travels for the second half of 2018.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidandb...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A brilliant house sent in a tranquil rural area”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The accommodation is set within an old barn surrounded by beautiful gardens and adjacent to a mill stream and mill race. The rooms are elegantly furnished and very well coordinated and the kitchen is well-equipped. There are plenty of fans supplied for the very hot weather and the house is managed by a really efficient, cheerful and helpful person. Being old, the downstairs interior of the barn remains cool even on hot days.

The surrounding area is rural, undulating and very pretty with a number of really attractive villages, towns and a good restaurants within easy reach. The roads are quiet and there are many walks in the area, both easy and more taxing. The house is within very easy reach of Brive airport.

There is great attention to detail in both the house and garden and both are kept in immaculate condition.

If you're looking for peace and tranquility, this is the place for you.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Firstly thank you for booking "Rouge" at the Moulin de Malecoste, we are happy that you enjoyed your holiday once agian and that you spent time in the garden enjoying the nature and peacefulness of the property as well as exploring the surrounding area. As this is your third visit to the Moulin, you obviously enjoy the local restaurants, markets and various villages and the many sights the area has to offer.
We really pride ourselves on the attention to details and thank you for mentioning this. We want our guests to feel at home as soon as they arrive and we are glad that we achieved this. Please come again soon!"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selena G
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect country hideaway”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Another relaxing and first class stay at the Moulin. The facilities were amazing, with so much attention to detail. We explored the idyllic countryside, lazed around in the garden, and had activity days out with the kids. Another utterly perfect holiday!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing