We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
34
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pentland hills without being intrusive working sheep farm double height minute drive beaten track susan edinburgh hosts luxury
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018

The Westside Woodshed is a stunning cottage for two with Scandinavian inspired luxury interiors just outside Edinburgh.
The super stylish Woodshed is the perfect bolthole for two and we loved it. Located on a working sheep farm in the shadow of the Pentland hills, set amongst the trees, it’s hard to believe you are so close to Edinburgh. Inside, the timber clad cottage boasts lots of stylish Scandi themed wood and minimalist décor, with whitewashed wood, clean lines, and an airy open plan double-height lounge, dinning and kitchen area. Great facilities including an amazing rain shower and a brilliant location made for a wonderful break with my wife . The Westside Woodshed is the perfect place to recharge your batteries. We will be back

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonLooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Eastside cottages is the perfect location for a country retreat for couples of families. The cottages are beautiful and the views across the Pentlands are absolutely stunning. You have the freedom to roam as you please. Perfect for long walks and bike rides but also close to Edinburgh city centre. Brilliant place to stay!

Room Tip: The new Westside Woodshed cottage is beautiful!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hannahmtulloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

My wife and I wanted to do something special for our 4-year old's birthday. He loves nature. We stayed in one of the cottages during a crazy snow. It was Narnia! Breathtaking. Cant wait to return. Wow

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

Enjoy a wonderful weeks stay here, very peaceful, with perfect living quarters that had all you could require and that little extra of warm scones on arrival. Susan made us very welcome, without being intrusive. Our daily visits from the goats gave us much to smile about. Even though this was of the beaten track you were actually very close to many amenities in the area, so had the best of both worlds. Would definately stay again. Many thanks.

Room Tip: the stables ideal for 2
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in The Stable. Susan made us feel very welcome, even providing some scones and tea on our arrival.

The Stable sleeps two but is very spacious. The living area includes the cupboards that the double bed folds away into (I was a little concerned the bed wouldn't be that comfortable but I couldn't have been more wrong!) Even with it down there's ample living space which includes a dining table for 4. We took board games but one playing cards and chess were provided. The living room has a wood burning stove (wood, matches, paper provided) which was just wonderful! Everything was very clean, all the linen, towels, bedding etc was really high quality.

The kitchen was incredibly well stocked, even down to herbs and spices. Dishwasher (powder included), fridge, freezer, washer (washing tablets provided) and dryer (dryer sheets provided), microwave etc. The kitchen door opens onto a private garden that looked beautiful with all the snowdrops. We had a pheasant that visited us most days as well as one of the farms dogs. A spacious tiled hallway meant muddy boots could be safely tucked away! The bathroom was lovely with a really deep bath!

We enjoyed walking in the surrounding countryside and relaxing by the fire reading one of the many books that we found on the shelves. We also found the wifi to be perfectly adequate in the Stable. A TV and DVD player is also there.

We did go to Edinburgh for a day. Driving to Straiton park and ride (about 20m drive). £4 return for a bus ticket, £1.60 single. You have to have the correct change through. Penicuik is about a 10m drive, there is a Tesco and some pubs there.

If you're coming here keep in mind it is a farm. If you don't like animals, or the countryside or being somewhere with no phone reception (bliss!) it's not for you. It's a mile down a farm track, bumpy with some pot holes, which can seem a bit daunting if you're not in a 4x4. It's worth it though to get a chance to hide away in this beautiful relaxing bubble!! We didn't want to leave! We will definitely be coming back!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Inspiration110774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews